Linux-mm Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
* [patch 040/158] asm-generic/tlb: stub out pmd_free_tlb() if nopmd
@ 2019-12-01  1:51 akpm
  0 siblings, 0 replies; only message in thread
From: akpm @ 2019-12-01  1:51 UTC (permalink / raw)
  To: akpm, aneesh.kumar, arnd, kirill.shutemov, linux-mm, mm-commits,
	npiggin, peterz, torvalds, vgupta, Vineet.Gupta1, will

From: Vineet Gupta <Vineet.Gupta1@synopsys.com>
Subject: asm-generic/tlb: stub out pmd_free_tlb() if nopmd

This came up when removing __ARCH_HAS_5LEVEL_HACK for ARC as code bloat.
With this patch we see the following code reduction.

| bloat-o-meter2 vmlinux-E-elide-p?d_clear_bad vmlinux-F-elide-pmd_free_tlb
| add/remove: 0/0 grow/shrink: 0/1 up/down: 0/-112 (-112)
| function                                     old     new   delta
| free_pgd_range                               422     310    -112
| Total: Before=4137042, After=4136930, chg -1.000000%

Note that pmd folding can be tricky: In 2-level setup (where pmd is
conceptually folded) most pmd routines are valid and refer to upper levels.
In this patch we can, but see next patch for example where we can't

Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20191016162400.14796-5-vgupta@synopsys.com
Signed-off-by: Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com>
Acked-by: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>
Cc: "Aneesh Kumar K . V" <aneesh.kumar@linux.ibm.com>
Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Nick Piggin <npiggin@gmail.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
---

 include/asm-generic/pgtable-nopmd.h |    2 +-
 1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)

--- a/include/asm-generic/pgtable-nopmd.h~asm-generic-tlb-stub-out-pmd_free_tlb-if-nopmd
+++ a/include/asm-generic/pgtable-nopmd.h
@@ -60,7 +60,7 @@ static inline pmd_t * pmd_offset(pud_t *
 static inline void pmd_free(struct mm_struct *mm, pmd_t *pmd)
 {
 }
-#define __pmd_free_tlb(tlb, x, a)		do { } while (0)
+#define pmd_free_tlb(tlb, x, a)		do { } while (0)
 
 #undef  pmd_addr_end
 #define pmd_addr_end(addr, end)			(end)
_


^ permalink raw reply	[flat|nested] only message in thread

only message in thread, back to index

Thread overview: (only message) (download: mbox.gz / follow: Atom feed)
-- links below jump to the message on this page --
2019-12-01  1:51 [patch 040/158] asm-generic/tlb: stub out pmd_free_tlb() if nopmd akpm

Linux-mm Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-mm/0 linux-mm/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-mm linux-mm/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-mm \
		linux-mm@kvack.org
	public-inbox-index linux-mm

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kvack.linux-mm


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git