Linux-mm Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
* [patch 055/158] x86: mm: add p?d_leaf() definitions
@ 2019-12-01  1:52 akpm
  0 siblings, 0 replies; only message in thread
From: akpm @ 2019-12-01  1:52 UTC (permalink / raw)
  To: akpm, alex, aou, ard.biesheuvel, arnd, aryabinin, benh,
	borntraeger, bp, catalin.marinas, dave.hansen, dave.jiang, davem,
	dvyukov, glider, gor, heiko.carstens, hpa, james.morse, jhogan,
	kan.liang, linux-mm, linux, luto, mark.rutland, mawilcox, mingo,
	mm-commits, mpe, n-horiguchi, palmer, paul.burton, paul.walmsley,
	paulus, peterz, ralf, shashim, steven.price, tglx, torvalds,
	vgupta, will, zong.li

From: Steven Price <steven.price@arm.com>
Subject: x86: mm: add p?d_leaf() definitions

walk_page_range() is going to be allowed to walk page tables other than
those of user space. For this it needs to know when it has reached a
'leaf' entry in the page tables. This information is provided by the
p?d_leaf() functions/macros.

For x86 we already have p?d_large() functions, so simply add macros to
provide the generic p?d_leaf() names for the generic code.

Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20191028135910.33253-11-steven.price@arm.com
Signed-off-by: Steven Price <steven.price@arm.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Albert Ou <aou@eecs.berkeley.edu>
Cc: Alexander Potapenko <glider@google.com>
Cc: Alexandre Ghiti <alex@ghiti.fr>
Cc: Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@virtuozzo.com>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>
Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
Cc: Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@de.ibm.com>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Dave Jiang <dave.jiang@intel.com>
Cc: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
Cc: Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@google.com>
Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
Cc: James Hogan <jhogan@kernel.org>
Cc: James Morse <james.morse@arm.com>
Cc: "Liang, Kan" <kan.liang@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
Cc: Matthew Wilcox <mawilcox@microsoft.com>
Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>
Cc: Naoya Horiguchi <n-horiguchi@ah.jp.nec.com>
Cc: Palmer Dabbelt <palmer@sifive.com>
Cc: Paul Burton <paul.burton@mips.com>
Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
Cc: Paul Walmsley <paul.walmsley@sifive.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>
Cc: Shiraz Hashim <shashim@codeaurora.org>
Cc: Vasily Gorbik <gor@linux.ibm.com>
Cc: Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com>
Cc: Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>
Cc: Zong Li <zong.li@sifive.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
---

 arch/x86/include/asm/pgtable.h |    5 +++++
 1 file changed, 5 insertions(+)

--- a/arch/x86/include/asm/pgtable.h~x86-mm-add-pd_leaf-definitions
+++ a/arch/x86/include/asm/pgtable.h
@@ -239,6 +239,7 @@ static inline unsigned long pgd_pfn(pgd_
 	return (pgd_val(pgd) & PTE_PFN_MASK) >> PAGE_SHIFT;
 }
 
+#define p4d_leaf	p4d_large
 static inline int p4d_large(p4d_t p4d)
 {
 	/* No 512 GiB pages yet */
@@ -247,6 +248,7 @@ static inline int p4d_large(p4d_t p4d)
 
 #define pte_page(pte)	pfn_to_page(pte_pfn(pte))
 
+#define pmd_leaf	pmd_large
 static inline int pmd_large(pmd_t pte)
 {
 	return pmd_flags(pte) & _PAGE_PSE;
@@ -874,6 +876,7 @@ static inline pmd_t *pmd_offset(pud_t *p
 	return (pmd_t *)pud_page_vaddr(*pud) + pmd_index(address);
 }
 
+#define pud_leaf	pud_large
 static inline int pud_large(pud_t pud)
 {
 	return (pud_val(pud) & (_PAGE_PSE | _PAGE_PRESENT)) ==
@@ -885,6 +888,7 @@ static inline int pud_bad(pud_t pud)
 	return (pud_flags(pud) & ~(_KERNPG_TABLE | _PAGE_USER)) != 0;
 }
 #else
+#define pud_leaf	pud_large
 static inline int pud_large(pud_t pud)
 {
 	return 0;
@@ -1233,6 +1237,7 @@ static inline bool pgdp_maps_userspace(v
 	return (((ptr & ~PAGE_MASK) / sizeof(pgd_t)) < PGD_KERNEL_START);
 }
 
+#define pgd_leaf	pgd_large
 static inline int pgd_large(pgd_t pgd) { return 0; }
 
 #ifdef CONFIG_PAGE_TABLE_ISOLATION
_


^ permalink raw reply	[flat|nested] only message in thread

only message in thread, back to index

Thread overview: (only message) (download: mbox.gz / follow: Atom feed)
-- links below jump to the message on this page --
2019-12-01  1:52 [patch 055/158] x86: mm: add p?d_leaf() definitions akpm

Linux-mm Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-mm/0 linux-mm/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-mm linux-mm/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-mm \
		linux-mm@kvack.org
	public-inbox-index linux-mm

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kvack.linux-mm


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git