Linux-mm Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
* [patch 062/158] x86: mm: convert ptdump_walk_pgd_level_debugfs() to take an mm_struct
@ 2019-12-01  1:52 akpm
  0 siblings, 0 replies; only message in thread
From: akpm @ 2019-12-01  1:52 UTC (permalink / raw)
  To: akpm, alex, aou, ard.biesheuvel, arnd, aryabinin, benh,
	borntraeger, bp, catalin.marinas, dave.hansen, dave.jiang, davem,
	dvyukov, glider, gor, heiko.carstens, hpa, james.morse, jhogan,
	kan.liang, linux-mm, linux, luto, mark.rutland, mawilcox, mingo,
	mm-commits, mpe, n-horiguchi, palmer, paul.burton, paul.walmsley,
	paulus, peterz, ralf, shashim, steven.price, tglx, torvalds,
	vgupta, will, zong.li

From: Steven Price <steven.price@arm.com>
Subject: x86: mm: convert ptdump_walk_pgd_level_debugfs() to take an mm_struct

To enable x86 to use the generic walk_page_range() function, the callers
of ptdump_walk_pgd_level_debugfs() need to pass in the mm_struct.

This means that ptdump_walk_pgd_level_core() is now always passed a valid
pgd, so drop the support for pgd==NULL.

Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20191028135910.33253-18-steven.price@arm.com
Signed-off-by: Steven Price <steven.price@arm.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Albert Ou <aou@eecs.berkeley.edu>
Cc: Alexander Potapenko <glider@google.com>
Cc: Alexandre Ghiti <alex@ghiti.fr>
Cc: Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@virtuozzo.com>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>
Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
Cc: Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@de.ibm.com>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Dave Jiang <dave.jiang@intel.com>
Cc: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
Cc: Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@google.com>
Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
Cc: James Hogan <jhogan@kernel.org>
Cc: James Morse <james.morse@arm.com>
Cc: "Liang, Kan" <kan.liang@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
Cc: Matthew Wilcox <mawilcox@microsoft.com>
Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>
Cc: Naoya Horiguchi <n-horiguchi@ah.jp.nec.com>
Cc: Palmer Dabbelt <palmer@sifive.com>
Cc: Paul Burton <paul.burton@mips.com>
Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
Cc: Paul Walmsley <paul.walmsley@sifive.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>
Cc: Shiraz Hashim <shashim@codeaurora.org>
Cc: Vasily Gorbik <gor@linux.ibm.com>
Cc: Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com>
Cc: Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>
Cc: Zong Li <zong.li@sifive.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
---

 arch/x86/include/asm/pgtable.h |    3 ++-
 arch/x86/mm/debug_pagetables.c |    8 ++++----
 arch/x86/mm/dump_pagetables.c  |   14 ++++++--------
 3 files changed, 12 insertions(+), 13 deletions(-)

--- a/arch/x86/include/asm/pgtable.h~x86-mm-convert-ptdump_walk_pgd_level_debugfs-to-take-an-mm_struct
+++ a/arch/x86/include/asm/pgtable.h
@@ -30,7 +30,8 @@ extern pgd_t early_top_pgt[PTRS_PER_PGD]
 int __init __early_make_pgtable(unsigned long address, pmdval_t pmd);
 
 void ptdump_walk_pgd_level(struct seq_file *m, struct mm_struct *mm);
-void ptdump_walk_pgd_level_debugfs(struct seq_file *m, pgd_t *pgd, bool user);
+void ptdump_walk_pgd_level_debugfs(struct seq_file *m, struct mm_struct *mm,
+				   bool user);
 void ptdump_walk_pgd_level_checkwx(void);
 void ptdump_walk_user_pgd_level_checkwx(void);
 
--- a/arch/x86/mm/debug_pagetables.c~x86-mm-convert-ptdump_walk_pgd_level_debugfs-to-take-an-mm_struct
+++ a/arch/x86/mm/debug_pagetables.c
@@ -7,7 +7,7 @@
 
 static int ptdump_show(struct seq_file *m, void *v)
 {
-	ptdump_walk_pgd_level_debugfs(m, NULL, false);
+	ptdump_walk_pgd_level_debugfs(m, &init_mm, false);
 	return 0;
 }
 
@@ -17,7 +17,7 @@ static int ptdump_curknl_show(struct seq
 {
 	if (current->mm->pgd) {
 		down_read(&current->mm->mmap_sem);
-		ptdump_walk_pgd_level_debugfs(m, current->mm->pgd, false);
+		ptdump_walk_pgd_level_debugfs(m, current->mm, false);
 		up_read(&current->mm->mmap_sem);
 	}
 	return 0;
@@ -30,7 +30,7 @@ static int ptdump_curusr_show(struct seq
 {
 	if (current->mm->pgd) {
 		down_read(&current->mm->mmap_sem);
-		ptdump_walk_pgd_level_debugfs(m, current->mm->pgd, true);
+		ptdump_walk_pgd_level_debugfs(m, current->mm, true);
 		up_read(&current->mm->mmap_sem);
 	}
 	return 0;
@@ -43,7 +43,7 @@ DEFINE_SHOW_ATTRIBUTE(ptdump_curusr);
 static int ptdump_efi_show(struct seq_file *m, void *v)
 {
 	if (efi_mm.pgd)
-		ptdump_walk_pgd_level_debugfs(m, efi_mm.pgd, false);
+		ptdump_walk_pgd_level_debugfs(m, &efi_mm, false);
 	return 0;
 }
 
--- a/arch/x86/mm/dump_pagetables.c~x86-mm-convert-ptdump_walk_pgd_level_debugfs-to-take-an-mm_struct
+++ a/arch/x86/mm/dump_pagetables.c
@@ -518,16 +518,12 @@ static inline bool is_hypervisor_range(i
 static void ptdump_walk_pgd_level_core(struct seq_file *m, pgd_t *pgd,
 				       bool checkwx, bool dmesg)
 {
-	pgd_t *start = INIT_PGD;
+	pgd_t *start = pgd;
 	pgprotval_t prot, eff;
 	int i;
 	struct pg_state st = {};
 
-	if (pgd) {
-		start = pgd;
-		st.to_dmesg = dmesg;
-	}
-
+	st.to_dmesg = dmesg;
 	st.check_wx = checkwx;
 	st.seq = m;
 	if (checkwx)
@@ -572,8 +568,10 @@ void ptdump_walk_pgd_level(struct seq_fi
 	ptdump_walk_pgd_level_core(m, mm->pgd, false, true);
 }
 
-void ptdump_walk_pgd_level_debugfs(struct seq_file *m, pgd_t *pgd, bool user)
+void ptdump_walk_pgd_level_debugfs(struct seq_file *m, struct mm_struct *mm,
+				   bool user)
 {
+	pgd_t *pgd = mm->pgd;
 #ifdef CONFIG_PAGE_TABLE_ISOLATION
 	if (user && boot_cpu_has(X86_FEATURE_PTI))
 		pgd = kernel_to_user_pgdp(pgd);
@@ -599,7 +597,7 @@ void ptdump_walk_user_pgd_level_checkwx(
 
 void ptdump_walk_pgd_level_checkwx(void)
 {
-	ptdump_walk_pgd_level_core(NULL, NULL, true, false);
+	ptdump_walk_pgd_level_core(NULL, INIT_PGD, true, false);
 }
 
 static int __init pt_dump_init(void)
_


^ permalink raw reply	[flat|nested] only message in thread

only message in thread, back to index

Thread overview: (only message) (download: mbox.gz / follow: Atom feed)
-- links below jump to the message on this page --
2019-12-01  1:52 [patch 062/158] x86: mm: convert ptdump_walk_pgd_level_debugfs() to take an mm_struct akpm

Linux-mm Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-mm/0 linux-mm/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-mm linux-mm/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-mm \
		linux-mm@kvack.org
	public-inbox-index linux-mm

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kvack.linux-mm


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git