Linux-mm Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>
To: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Oscar Salvador <osalvador@suse.de>,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>,
	linux-mm@kvack.org, linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org,
	linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org, linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org,
	linux-s390@vger.kernel.org, linux-sh@vger.kernel.org,
	x86@kernel.org, "Aneesh Kumar K . V" <aneesh.kumar@linux.ibm.com>,
	Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>,
	Alexander Duyck <alexander.h.duyck@linux.intel.com>,
	Alexander Potapenko <glider@google.com>,
	Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>,
	Anshuman Khandual <anshuman.khandual@arm.com>,
	Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>,
	Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@de.ibm.com>,
	Christophe Leroy <christophe.leroy@c-s.fr>,
	Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>,
	Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com>,
	Gerald Schaefer <gerald.schaefer@de.ibm.com>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	Halil Pasic <pasic@linux.ibm.com>,
	Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>,
	"H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>,
	Ira Weiny <ira.weiny@intel.com>, Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@ziepe.ca>,
	Jun Yao <yaojun8558363@gmail.com>,
	Logan Gunthorpe <logang@deltatee.com>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@socionext.com>,
	"Matthew Wilcox (Oracle)" <willy@infradead.org>,
	Mel Gorman <mgorman@techsingularity.net>,
	Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>,
	Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com>,
	Pankaj Gupta <pagupta@redhat.com>,
	Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>,
	Pavel Tatashin <pasha.tatashin@soleen.com>,
	Pavel Tatashin <pavel.tatashin@microsoft.com>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>, Qian Cai <cai@lca.pw>,
	Rich Felker <dalias@libc.org>,
	Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@arm.com>,
	Steve Capper <steve.capper@arm.com>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Tom Lendacky <thomas.lendacky@amd.com>,
	Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>,
	Vasily Gorbik <gor@linux.ibm.com>,
	Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>,
	Wei Yang <richard.weiyang@gmail.com>,
	Wei Yang <richardw.yang@linux.intel.com>,
	Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>,
	Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>,
	Yu Zhao <yuzhao@google.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v6 00/10] mm/memory_hotplug: Shrink zones before removing memory
Date: Tue, 4 Feb 2020 09:45:24 +0100
Message-ID: <78545b80-ea30-0d44-acb8-364312ae9595@redhat.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20200203174653.74630ef5744c68be55374b0d@linux-foundation.org>

>> I can understand this is desirable (yet, I am
>> not sure if this makes sense with the current take-and-not-give-back
>> review mentality on this list).
>>
>> Although it will make upstreaming stuff *even harder* and *even slower*,
>> maybe we should start to only queue patches that have an ACK/RB, so they
>> won't get blocked by this later on? At least that makes your life easier
>> and people won't have to eventually follow up on patches that have been
>> in linux-next for months.
> 
> The merge rate would still be the review rate, but the resulting merges
> would be of less tested code.

That's a valid point.

> 
>> Note: the result will be that many of my patches will still not get
>> reviewed, won't get queued/upstreamed, I will continuously ping and
>> resend, I will lose interest because I have better things to do, I will
>> lose interest in our code quality, I will lose interest to review.
>>
>> (side note: some people might actually enjoy me sending less cleanup
>> patches, so this approach might be desirable for some ;) )
>>
>> One alternative is to send patches upstream once they have been lying
>> around in linux-next for $RANDOM number of months, because they
>> obviously saw some testing and nobody started to yell at them once
>> stumbling over them on linux-mm.
> 
> Yes, I think that's the case with these patches and I've sent them to
> Linus.  Hopefully Michel will be able to find time to look them over in
> the next month or so.

I really hope we'll find more reviewers in general - I'm also not happy
if my patches go upstream with little/no review. However, patches
shouldn't be stuck for multiple merge windows in linux-next IMHO
(excluding exceptions of course) - then they should either be sent
upstream (and eventually fixed later) or dropped.

Thanks Andrew!

-- 
Thanks,

David / dhildenb



  reply index

Thread overview: 75+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-10-06  8:56 David Hildenbrand
2019-10-06  8:56 ` [PATCH v6 01/10] mm/memunmap: Don't access uninitialized memmap in memunmap_pages() David Hildenbrand
2019-10-06 19:58   ` Damian Tometzki
2019-10-06 20:13     ` David Hildenbrand
2019-10-14  9:05   ` David Hildenbrand
2019-10-06  8:56 ` [PATCH v6 02/10] mm/memmap_init: Update variable name in memmap_init_zone David Hildenbrand
2019-10-06  8:56 ` [PATCH v6 03/10] mm/memory_hotplug: Don't access uninitialized memmaps in shrink_pgdat_span() David Hildenbrand
2019-10-14  9:31   ` David Hildenbrand
2019-10-06  8:56 ` [PATCH v6 04/10] mm/memory_hotplug: Don't access uninitialized memmaps in shrink_zone_span() David Hildenbrand
2019-10-14  9:32   ` David Hildenbrand
2019-10-14 19:17     ` Andrew Morton
2019-11-19 14:16       ` David Hildenbrand
2019-11-19 20:44         ` Andrew Morton
2019-10-06  8:56 ` [PATCH v6 05/10] mm/memory_hotplug: Shrink zones when offlining memory David Hildenbrand
2019-10-14  9:39   ` David Hildenbrand
2019-10-14 19:16     ` Andrew Morton
2019-10-27 22:45   ` David Hildenbrand
2019-11-30 23:21     ` Andrew Morton
2019-11-30 23:43       ` David Hildenbrand
2019-12-18 17:08       ` David Hildenbrand
2019-12-18 20:16         ` Andrew Morton
2019-12-03 15:10   ` Oscar Salvador
2019-12-03 15:27     ` David Hildenbrand
2019-10-06  8:56 ` [PATCH v6 06/10] mm/memory_hotplug: Poison memmap in remove_pfn_range_from_zone() David Hildenbrand
2019-10-16 14:01   ` David Hildenbrand
2020-02-04  8:59   ` Oscar Salvador
2019-10-06  8:56 ` [PATCH v6 07/10] mm/memory_hotplug: We always have a zone in find_(smallest|biggest)_section_pfn David Hildenbrand
2020-02-04  9:06   ` Oscar Salvador
2020-02-05  8:57   ` Wei Yang
2020-02-05  8:59     ` David Hildenbrand
2020-02-05  9:26       ` Wei Yang
2019-10-06  8:56 ` [PATCH v6 08/10] mm/memory_hotplug: Don't check for "all holes" in shrink_zone_span() David Hildenbrand
2020-02-04  9:13   ` Oscar Salvador
2020-02-04  9:20     ` David Hildenbrand
2020-02-04 14:25   ` Baoquan He
2020-02-04 14:42     ` David Hildenbrand
2020-02-05 12:43       ` Baoquan He
2020-02-05 13:20         ` David Hildenbrand
2020-02-05 13:34           ` Baoquan He
2020-02-05 13:38             ` David Hildenbrand
2020-02-05 14:12               ` Baoquan He
2020-02-05 14:16                 ` David Hildenbrand
2020-02-05 14:26                   ` Baoquan He
2020-02-05  9:59   ` Wei Yang
2020-02-05 14:48     ` Baoquan He
2020-02-05 22:56       ` Wei Yang
2020-02-05 23:08         ` Baoquan He
2020-02-05 23:26           ` Wei Yang
2020-02-05 23:30             ` Baoquan He
2020-02-05 23:34               ` Wei Yang
2020-02-05 14:54     ` David Laight
2020-02-05 14:55       ` David Hildenbrand
2019-10-06  8:56 ` [PATCH v6 09/10] mm/memory_hotplug: Drop local variables " David Hildenbrand
2020-02-04  9:26   ` Oscar Salvador
2020-02-04  9:29     ` David Hildenbrand
2020-02-05 10:07   ` Wei Yang
2019-10-06  8:56 ` [PATCH v6 10/10] mm/memory_hotplug: Cleanup __remove_pages() David Hildenbrand
2020-02-04  9:46   ` Oscar Salvador
2020-02-04 12:41     ` David Hildenbrand
2020-02-04 13:13       ` Segher Boessenkool
2020-02-04 13:38         ` David Hildenbrand
2020-02-05 12:51           ` Segher Boessenkool
2020-02-05 13:17             ` David Hildenbrand
2020-02-05 13:18               ` David Hildenbrand
2020-02-05 13:23                 ` David Hildenbrand
2020-02-05 11:48   ` Wei Yang
2019-12-02  9:09 ` [PATCH v6 00/10] mm/memory_hotplug: Shrink zones before removing memory David Hildenbrand
2019-12-03 13:36   ` Oscar Salvador
2020-01-31  4:40     ` Andrew Morton
2020-01-31  9:18       ` David Hildenbrand
2020-01-31 10:03         ` Michal Hocko
2020-01-31 10:36           ` David Hildenbrand
2020-02-04  1:46         ` Andrew Morton
2020-02-04  8:45           ` David Hildenbrand [this message]
2020-02-04  9:51             ` Oscar Salvador

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=78545b80-ea30-0d44-acb8-364312ae9595@redhat.com \
    --to=david@redhat.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=alexander.h.duyck@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=aneesh.kumar@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=anshuman.khandual@arm.com \
    --cc=benh@kernel.crashing.org \
    --cc=borntraeger@de.ibm.com \
    --cc=bp@alien8.de \
    --cc=cai@lca.pw \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=christophe.leroy@c-s.fr \
    --cc=dalias@libc.org \
    --cc=dan.j.williams@intel.com \
    --cc=dave.hansen@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=fenghua.yu@intel.com \
    --cc=gerald.schaefer@de.ibm.com \
    --cc=glider@google.com \
    --cc=gor@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com \
    --cc=hpa@zytor.com \
    --cc=ira.weiny@intel.com \
    --cc=jgg@ziepe.ca \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mm@kvack.org \
    --cc=linux-s390@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-sh@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org \
    --cc=logang@deltatee.com \
    --cc=luto@kernel.org \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=mgorman@techsingularity.net \
    --cc=mhocko@suse.com \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=mpe@ellerman.id.au \
    --cc=osalvador@suse.de \
    --cc=pagupta@redhat.com \
    --cc=pasha.tatashin@soleen.com \
    --cc=pasic@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=paulus@samba.org \
    --cc=pavel.tatashin@microsoft.com \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=richard.weiyang@gmail.com \
    --cc=richardw.yang@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=robin.murphy@arm.com \
    --cc=rppt@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=steve.capper@arm.com \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=thomas.lendacky@amd.com \
    --cc=tony.luck@intel.com \
    --cc=vbabka@suse.cz \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    --cc=willy@infradead.org \
    --cc=x86@kernel.org \
    --cc=yamada.masahiro@socionext.com \
    --cc=yaojun8558363@gmail.com \
    --cc=ysato@users.sourceforge.jp \
    --cc=yuzhao@google.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-mm Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-mm/0 linux-mm/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-mm linux-mm/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-mm \
		linux-mm@kvack.org
	public-inbox-index linux-mm

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kvack.linux-mm


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git