Linux-mm Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>
To: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>,
	Oscar Salvador <osalvador@suse.de>
Cc: linux-mm@kvack.org, linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org,
	linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org, linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org,
	linux-s390@vger.kernel.org, linux-sh@vger.kernel.org,
	x86@kernel.org, "Aneesh Kumar K . V" <aneesh.kumar@linux.ibm.com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>,
	Alexander Duyck <alexander.h.duyck@linux.intel.com>,
	Alexander Potapenko <glider@google.com>,
	Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>,
	Anshuman Khandual <anshuman.khandual@arm.com>,
	Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>,
	Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@de.ibm.com>,
	Christophe Leroy <christophe.leroy@c-s.fr>,
	Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>,
	Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com>,
	Gerald Schaefer <gerald.schaefer@de.ibm.com>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	Halil Pasic <pasic@linux.ibm.com>,
	Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>,
	"H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>,
	Ira Weiny <ira.weiny@intel.com>, Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@ziepe.ca>,
	Jun Yao <yaojun8558363@gmail.com>,
	Logan Gunthorpe <logang@deltatee.com>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@socionext.com>,
	"Matthew Wilcox (Oracle)" <willy@infradead.org>,
	Mel Gorman <mgorman@techsingularity.net>,
	Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>,
	Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com>,
	Pankaj Gupta <pagupta@redhat.com>,
	Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>,
	Pavel Tatashin <pasha.tatashin@soleen.com>,
	Pavel Tatashin <pavel.tatashin@microsoft.com>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>, Qian Cai <cai@lca.pw>,
	Rich Felker <dalias@libc.org>,
	Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@arm.com>,
	Steve Capper <steve.capper@arm.com>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Tom Lendacky <thomas.lendacky@amd.com>,
	Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>,
	Vasily Gorbik <gor@linux.ibm.com>,
	Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>,
	Wei Yang <richard.weiyang@gmail.com>,
	Wei Yang <richardw.yang@linux.intel.com>,
	Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>,
	Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>,
	Yu Zhao <yuzhao@google.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v6 00/10] mm/memory_hotplug: Shrink zones before removing memory
Date: Mon, 2 Dec 2019 10:09:51 +0100
Message-ID: <ac27f0e1-26e9-dfc1-3ee1-cbee7ad847bf@redhat.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20191006085646.5768-1-david@redhat.com>

On 06.10.19 10:56, David Hildenbrand wrote:
> This series fixes the access of uninitialized memmaps when shrinking
> zones/nodes and when removing memory. Also, it contains all fixes for
> crashes that can be triggered when removing certain namespace using
> memunmap_pages() - ZONE_DEVICE, reported by Aneesh.
> 
> We stop trying to shrink ZONE_DEVICE, as it's buggy, fixing it would be
> more involved (we don't have SECTION_IS_ONLINE as an indicator), and
> shrinking is only of limited use (set_zone_contiguous() cannot detect
> the ZONE_DEVICE as contiguous).
> 
> We continue shrinking !ZONE_DEVICE zones, however, I reduced the amount of
> code to a minimum. Shrinking is especially necessary to keep
> zone->contiguous set where possible, especially, on memory unplug of
> DIMMs at zone boundaries.
> 
> --------------------------------------------------------------------------
> 
> Zones are now properly shrunk when offlining memory blocks or when
> onlining failed. This allows to properly shrink zones on memory unplug
> even if the separate memory blocks of a DIMM were onlined to different
> zones or re-onlined to a different zone after offlining.
> 
> Example:
> 
> :/# cat /proc/zoneinfo
> Node 1, zone  Movable
>         spanned  0
>         present  0
>         managed  0
> :/# echo "online_movable" > /sys/devices/system/memory/memory41/state
> :/# echo "online_movable" > /sys/devices/system/memory/memory43/state
> :/# cat /proc/zoneinfo
> Node 1, zone  Movable
>         spanned  98304
>         present  65536
>         managed  65536
> :/# echo 0 > /sys/devices/system/memory/memory43/online
> :/# cat /proc/zoneinfo
> Node 1, zone  Movable
>         spanned  32768
>         present  32768
>         managed  32768
> :/# echo 0 > /sys/devices/system/memory/memory41/online
> :/# cat /proc/zoneinfo
> Node 1, zone  Movable
>         spanned  0
>         present  0
>         managed  0
> 
> --------------------------------------------------------------------------
> 
> I tested this with DIMMs on x86. I didn't test the ZONE_DEVICE part.
> 
> v4 -> v6:
> - "mm/memunmap: Don't access uninitialized memmap in memunmap_pages()"
> -- Minimize code changes, rephrase subject and description
> - "mm/memory_hotplug: Don't access uninitialized memmaps in shrink_zone_span()"
> -- Add ifdef to make it compile without ZONE_DEVICE
> 
> v4 -> v5:
> - "mm/memory_hotplug: Don't access uninitialized memmaps in shrink_zone_span()"
> -- Add more details why ZONE_DEVICE is special
> - Include two patches from Aneesh
> -- "mm/memunmap: Use the correct start and end pfn when removing pages
>     from zone"
> -- "mm/memmap_init: Update variable name in memmap_init_zone"
> 
> v3 -> v4:
> - Drop "mm/memremap: Get rid of memmap_init_zone_device()"
> -- As Alexander noticed, it was messy either way
> - Drop "mm/memory_hotplug: Exit early in __remove_pages() on BUGs"
> - Drop "mm: Exit early in set_zone_contiguous() if already contiguous"
> - Drop "mm/memory_hotplug: Optimize zone shrinking code when checking for
>   holes"
> - Merged "mm/memory_hotplug: Remove pages from a zone before removing
>   memory" and "mm/memory_hotplug: Remove zone parameter from
>   __remove_pages()" into "mm/memory_hotplug: Shrink zones when offlining
>   memory"
> - Added "mm/memory_hotplug: Poison memmap in remove_pfn_range_from_zone()"
> - Stop shrinking ZONE_DEVICE
> - Reshuffle patches, moving all fixes to the front. Add Fixes: tags.
> - Change subject/description of various patches
> - Minor changes (too many to mention)
> 
> Cc: Aneesh Kumar K.V <aneesh.kumar@linux.ibm.com>
> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
> Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
> Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
> 

So, patch #1-#4 are already upstream. The other patches have been in
-next for quite a long time, and I (+other RH people) ran excessive
tests on them.

Especially patch #5 is a BUG fix I want to see upstream rather sooner
than later (last know "uninitialized memmap" access).

Andrew decided not to send these for 5.5 due to lack of ack/review -
which is unfortunate, but the right thing to do.

@Michal, @Oscar, can some of you at least have a patch #5 now so we can
proceed with that? (the other patches can stay in -next some time longer)

-- 
Thanks,

David / dhildenb



  parent reply index

Thread overview: 31+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-10-06  8:56 David Hildenbrand
2019-10-06  8:56 ` [PATCH v6 01/10] mm/memunmap: Don't access uninitialized memmap in memunmap_pages() David Hildenbrand
2019-10-06 19:58   ` Damian Tometzki
2019-10-06 20:13     ` David Hildenbrand
2019-10-14  9:05   ` David Hildenbrand
2019-10-06  8:56 ` [PATCH v6 02/10] mm/memmap_init: Update variable name in memmap_init_zone David Hildenbrand
2019-10-06  8:56 ` [PATCH v6 03/10] mm/memory_hotplug: Don't access uninitialized memmaps in shrink_pgdat_span() David Hildenbrand
2019-10-14  9:31   ` David Hildenbrand
2019-10-06  8:56 ` [PATCH v6 04/10] mm/memory_hotplug: Don't access uninitialized memmaps in shrink_zone_span() David Hildenbrand
2019-10-14  9:32   ` David Hildenbrand
2019-10-14 19:17     ` Andrew Morton
2019-11-19 14:16       ` David Hildenbrand
2019-11-19 20:44         ` Andrew Morton
2019-10-06  8:56 ` [PATCH v6 05/10] mm/memory_hotplug: Shrink zones when offlining memory David Hildenbrand
2019-10-14  9:39   ` David Hildenbrand
2019-10-14 19:16     ` Andrew Morton
2019-10-27 22:45   ` David Hildenbrand
2019-11-30 23:21     ` Andrew Morton
2019-11-30 23:43       ` David Hildenbrand
2019-12-18 17:08       ` David Hildenbrand
2019-12-18 20:16         ` Andrew Morton
2019-12-03 15:10   ` Oscar Salvador
2019-12-03 15:27     ` David Hildenbrand
2019-10-06  8:56 ` [PATCH v6 06/10] mm/memory_hotplug: Poison memmap in remove_pfn_range_from_zone() David Hildenbrand
2019-10-16 14:01   ` David Hildenbrand
2019-10-06  8:56 ` [PATCH v6 07/10] mm/memory_hotplug: We always have a zone in find_(smallest|biggest)_section_pfn David Hildenbrand
2019-10-06  8:56 ` [PATCH v6 08/10] mm/memory_hotplug: Don't check for "all holes" in shrink_zone_span() David Hildenbrand
2019-10-06  8:56 ` [PATCH v6 09/10] mm/memory_hotplug: Drop local variables " David Hildenbrand
2019-10-06  8:56 ` [PATCH v6 10/10] mm/memory_hotplug: Cleanup __remove_pages() David Hildenbrand
2019-12-02  9:09 ` David Hildenbrand [this message]
2019-12-03 13:36   ` [PATCH v6 00/10] mm/memory_hotplug: Shrink zones before removing memory Oscar Salvador

Reply instructions:

You may reply publically to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=ac27f0e1-26e9-dfc1-3ee1-cbee7ad847bf@redhat.com \
    --to=david@redhat.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=alexander.h.duyck@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=aneesh.kumar@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=anshuman.khandual@arm.com \
    --cc=benh@kernel.crashing.org \
    --cc=borntraeger@de.ibm.com \
    --cc=bp@alien8.de \
    --cc=cai@lca.pw \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=christophe.leroy@c-s.fr \
    --cc=dalias@libc.org \
    --cc=dan.j.williams@intel.com \
    --cc=dave.hansen@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=fenghua.yu@intel.com \
    --cc=gerald.schaefer@de.ibm.com \
    --cc=glider@google.com \
    --cc=gor@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com \
    --cc=hpa@zytor.com \
    --cc=ira.weiny@intel.com \
    --cc=jgg@ziepe.ca \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mm@kvack.org \
    --cc=linux-s390@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-sh@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org \
    --cc=logang@deltatee.com \
    --cc=luto@kernel.org \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=mgorman@techsingularity.net \
    --cc=mhocko@suse.com \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=mpe@ellerman.id.au \
    --cc=osalvador@suse.de \
    --cc=pagupta@redhat.com \
    --cc=pasha.tatashin@soleen.com \
    --cc=pasic@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=paulus@samba.org \
    --cc=pavel.tatashin@microsoft.com \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=richard.weiyang@gmail.com \
    --cc=richardw.yang@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=robin.murphy@arm.com \
    --cc=rppt@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=steve.capper@arm.com \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=thomas.lendacky@amd.com \
    --cc=tony.luck@intel.com \
    --cc=vbabka@suse.cz \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    --cc=willy@infradead.org \
    --cc=x86@kernel.org \
    --cc=yamada.masahiro@socionext.com \
    --cc=yaojun8558363@gmail.com \
    --cc=ysato@users.sourceforge.jp \
    --cc=yuzhao@google.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-mm Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-mm/0 linux-mm/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-mm linux-mm/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-mm \
		linux-mm@kvack.org
	public-inbox-index linux-mm

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kvack.linux-mm


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git