Linux-PCI Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Rajat Jain <rajatja@google.com>
To: David Woodhouse <dwmw2@infradead.org>,
	Lu Baolu <baolu.lu@linux.intel.com>,
	Joerg Roedel <joro@8bytes.org>,
	Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>,
	"Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@rjwysocki.net>,
	Len Brown <lenb@kernel.org>,
	iommu@lists.linux-foundation.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-pci@vger.kernel.org, linux-acpi@vger.kernel.org,
	Raj Ashok <ashok.raj@intel.com>,
	lalithambika.krishnakumar@intel.com,
	Mika Westerberg <mika.westerberg@linux.intel.com>,
	Jean-Philippe Brucker <jean-philippe@linaro.org>,
	Prashant Malani <pmalani@google.com>,
	Benson Leung <bleung@google.com>, Todd Broch <tbroch@google.com>,
	Alex Levin <levinale@google.com>,
	Mattias Nissler <mnissler@google.com>,
	Rajat Jain <rajatxjain@gmail.com>,
	Bernie Keany <bernie.keany@intel.com>,
	Aaron Durbin <adurbin@google.com>,
	Diego Rivas <diegorivas@google.com>,
	Duncan Laurie <dlaurie@google.com>,
	Furquan Shaikh <furquan@google.com>,
	Jesse Barnes <jsbarnes@google.com>,
	Christian Kellner <christian@kellner.me>,
	Alex Williamson <alex.williamson@redhat.com>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	oohall@gmail.com, Saravana Kannan <saravanak@google.com>,
	Suzuki K Poulose <suzuki.poulose@arm.com>,
	Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>,
	Heikki Krogerus <heikki.krogerus@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Rajat Jain <rajatja@google.com>
Subject: [PATCH v4 4/4] PCI/ACS: Enable PCI_ACS_TB for untrusted/external-facing devices
Date: Tue,  7 Jul 2020 15:46:04 -0700
Message-ID: <20200707224604.3737893-4-rajatja@google.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20200707224604.3737893-1-rajatja@google.com>

When enabling ACS, enable translation blocking for external facing ports
and untrusted devices.

Signed-off-by: Rajat Jain <rajatja@google.com>
---
v4: Add braces to avoid warning from kernel robot
    print warning for only external-facing devices.
v3: print warning if ACS_TB not supported on external-facing/untrusted ports.
    Minor code comments fixes.
v2: Commit log change

 drivers/pci/pci.c    |  8 ++++++++
 drivers/pci/quirks.c | 15 +++++++++++++++
 2 files changed, 23 insertions(+)

diff --git a/drivers/pci/pci.c b/drivers/pci/pci.c
index 73a8627822140..a5a6bea7af7ce 100644
--- a/drivers/pci/pci.c
+++ b/drivers/pci/pci.c
@@ -876,6 +876,14 @@ static void pci_std_enable_acs(struct pci_dev *dev)
 	/* Upstream Forwarding */
 	ctrl |= (cap & PCI_ACS_UF);
 
+	/* Enable Translation Blocking for external devices */
+	if (dev->external_facing || dev->untrusted) {
+		if (cap & PCI_ACS_TB)
+			ctrl |= PCI_ACS_TB;
+		else if (dev->external_facing)
+			pci_warn(dev, "ACS: No Translation Blocking on external-facing dev\n");
+	}
+
 	pci_write_config_word(dev, pos + PCI_ACS_CTRL, ctrl);
 }
 
diff --git a/drivers/pci/quirks.c b/drivers/pci/quirks.c
index b341628e47527..bb22b46c1d719 100644
--- a/drivers/pci/quirks.c
+++ b/drivers/pci/quirks.c
@@ -4934,6 +4934,13 @@ static void pci_quirk_enable_intel_rp_mpc_acs(struct pci_dev *dev)
 	}
 }
 
+/*
+ * Currently this quirk does the equivalent of
+ * PCI_ACS_SV | PCI_ACS_RR | PCI_ACS_CR | PCI_ACS_UF
+ *
+ * TODO: This quirk also needs to do equivalent of PCI_ACS_TB,
+ * if dev->external_facing || dev->untrusted
+ */
 static int pci_quirk_enable_intel_pch_acs(struct pci_dev *dev)
 {
 	if (!pci_quirk_intel_pch_acs_match(dev))
@@ -4973,6 +4980,14 @@ static int pci_quirk_enable_intel_spt_pch_acs(struct pci_dev *dev)
 	ctrl |= (cap & PCI_ACS_CR);
 	ctrl |= (cap & PCI_ACS_UF);
 
+	/* Enable Translation Blocking for external devices */
+	if (dev->external_facing || dev->untrusted) {
+		if (cap & PCI_ACS_TB)
+			ctrl |= PCI_ACS_TB;
+		else if (dev->external_facing)
+			pci_warn(dev, "ACS: No Translation Blocking on external-facing dev\n");
+	}
+
 	pci_write_config_dword(dev, pos + INTEL_SPT_ACS_CTRL, ctrl);
 
 	pci_info(dev, "Intel SPT PCH root port ACS workaround enabled\n");
-- 
2.27.0.212.ge8ba1cc988-goog


  parent reply index

Thread overview: 14+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-07-07 22:46 [PATCH v4 1/4] PCI: Move pci_enable_acs() and its dependencies up in pci.c Rajat Jain
2020-07-07 22:46 ` [PATCH v4 2/4] PCI: Keep the ACS capability offset in device Rajat Jain
2020-07-07 22:46 ` [PATCH v4 3/4] PCI: Treat "external-facing" devices as internal Rajat Jain
2020-07-07 22:46 ` Rajat Jain [this message]
2020-07-10 20:29   ` [PATCH v4 4/4] PCI/ACS: Enable PCI_ACS_TB for untrusted/external-facing devices Bjorn Helgaas
2020-07-10 21:28     ` Raj, Ashok
2020-07-10 22:53       ` Rajat Jain
2020-07-10 23:32         ` Bjorn Helgaas
2020-07-11 19:53         ` Bjorn Helgaas
2020-07-12  0:08           ` Rajat Jain
2020-07-12  2:58             ` Bjorn Helgaas
2020-07-13  8:01               ` Joerg Roedel
2020-07-14 20:19           ` Rajat Jain
2020-07-10 20:39 ` [PATCH v4 1/4] PCI: Move pci_enable_acs() and its dependencies up in pci.c Bjorn Helgaas

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20200707224604.3737893-4-rajatja@google.com \
    --to=rajatja@google.com \
    --cc=adurbin@google.com \
    --cc=alex.williamson@redhat.com \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=ashok.raj@intel.com \
    --cc=baolu.lu@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=bernie.keany@intel.com \
    --cc=bhelgaas@google.com \
    --cc=bleung@google.com \
    --cc=christian@kellner.me \
    --cc=diegorivas@google.com \
    --cc=dlaurie@google.com \
    --cc=dwmw2@infradead.org \
    --cc=furquan@google.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=heikki.krogerus@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=iommu@lists.linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=jean-philippe@linaro.org \
    --cc=joro@8bytes.org \
    --cc=jsbarnes@google.com \
    --cc=lalithambika.krishnakumar@intel.com \
    --cc=lenb@kernel.org \
    --cc=levinale@google.com \
    --cc=linux-acpi@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-pci@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mika.westerberg@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=mnissler@google.com \
    --cc=oohall@gmail.com \
    --cc=pmalani@google.com \
    --cc=rajatxjain@gmail.com \
    --cc=rjw@rjwysocki.net \
    --cc=saravanak@google.com \
    --cc=suzuki.poulose@arm.com \
    --cc=tbroch@google.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-PCI Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-pci/0 linux-pci/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-pci linux-pci/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-pci \
		linux-pci@vger.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-pci

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-pci


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git