Linux-RDMA Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Santosh Shilimkar <santosh.shilimkar@oracle.com>
To: Leon Romanovsky <leon@kernel.org>
Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de>,
	Doug Ledford <dledford@redhat.com>,
	Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@nvidia.com>,
	Adit Ranadive <aditr@vmware.com>,
	Anna Schumaker <anna.schumaker@netapp.com>,
	Ariel Elior <aelior@marvell.com>,
	Avihai Horon <avihaih@nvidia.com>,
	Bart Van Assche <bvanassche@acm.org>,
	Bernard Metzler <bmt@zurich.ibm.com>,
	Chuck Lever III <chuck.lever@oracle.com>,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>,
	Dennis Dalessandro <dennis.dalessandro@cornelisnetworks.com>,
	Devesh Sharma <devesh.sharma@broadcom.com>,
	Faisal Latif <faisal.latif@intel.com>,
	Jack Wang <jinpu.wang@ionos.com>,
	Jakub Kicinski <kuba@kernel.org>,
	"J. Bruce Fields" <bfields@fieldses.org>,
	Jens Axboe <axboe@fb.com>, Karsten Graul <kgraul@linux.ibm.com>,
	Keith Busch <kbusch@kernel.org>, Lijun Ou <oulijun@huawei.com>,
	"linux-cifs@vger.kernel.org" <linux-cifs@vger.kernel.org>,
	"linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	"linux-nfs@vger.kernel.org" <linux-nfs@vger.kernel.org>,
	"linux-nvme@lists.infradead.org" <linux-nvme@lists.infradead.org>,
	"linux-rdma@vger.kernel.org" <linux-rdma@vger.kernel.org>,
	"linux-s390@vger.kernel.org" <linux-s390@vger.kernel.org>,
	Max Gurtovoy <maxg@mellanox.com>,
	Max Gurtovoy <mgurtovoy@nvidia.com>,
	"Md. Haris Iqbal" <haris.iqbal@ionos.com>,
	Michael Guralnik <michaelgur@nvidia.com>,
	Michal Kalderon <mkalderon@marvell.com>,
	Mike Marciniszyn <mike.marciniszyn@cornelisnetworks.com>,
	Naresh Kumar PBS <nareshkumar.pbs@broadcom.com>,
	"netdev@vger.kernel.org" <netdev@vger.kernel.org>,
	Potnuri Bharat Teja <bharat@chelsio.com>,
	"rds-devel@oss.oracle.com" <rds-devel@oss.oracle.com>,
	Sagi Grimberg <sagi@grimberg.me>,
	"samba-technical@lists.samba.org"
	<samba-technical@lists.samba.org>,
	Selvin Xavier <selvin.xavier@broadcom.com>,
	Shiraz Saleem <shiraz.saleem@intel.com>,
	Somnath Kotur <somnath.kotur@broadcom.com>,
	Sriharsha Basavapatna <sriharsha.basavapatna@broadcom.com>,
	Steve French <sfrench@samba.org>,
	Trond Myklebust <trond.myklebust@hammerspace.com>,
	VMware PV-Drivers <pv-drivers@vmware.com>,
	Weihang Li <liweihang@huawei.com>,
	Yishai Hadas <yishaih@nvidia.com>,
	Zhu Yanjun <zyjzyj2000@gmail.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH rdma-next 00/10] Enable relaxed ordering for ULPs
Date: Mon, 5 Apr 2021 16:11:32 +0000
Message-ID: <AD59A399-EFC9-4609-AFCB-8F346E60F5CC@oracle.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <YGsZ4Te1+DQODj34@unreal>


> On Apr 5, 2021, at 7:08 AM, Leon Romanovsky <leon@kernel.org> wrote:
> 
> On Mon, Apr 05, 2021 at 03:41:15PM +0200, Christoph Hellwig wrote:
>> On Mon, Apr 05, 2021 at 08:23:54AM +0300, Leon Romanovsky wrote:
>>> From: Leon Romanovsky <leonro@nvidia.com>
>>> 
>>>> From Avihai,
>>> 
>>> Relaxed Ordering is a PCIe mechanism that relaxes the strict ordering
>>> imposed on PCI transactions, and thus, can improve performance.
>>> 
>>> Until now, relaxed ordering could be set only by user space applications
>>> for user MRs. The following patch series enables relaxed ordering for the
>>> kernel ULPs as well. Relaxed ordering is an optional capability, and as
>>> such, it is ignored by vendors that don't support it.
>>> 
>>> The following test results show the performance improvement achieved
>>> with relaxed ordering. The test was performed on a NVIDIA A100 in order
>>> to check performance of storage infrastructure over xprtrdma:
>> 
>> Isn't the Nvidia A100 a GPU not actually supported by Linux at all?
>> What does that have to do with storage protocols?
> 
> This system is in use by our storage oriented customer who performed the
> test. He runs drivers/infiniband/* stack from the upstream, simply backported
> to specific kernel version.
> 
> The performance boost is seen in other systems too.
> 
>> 
>> Also if you enable this for basically all kernel ULPs, why not have
>> an opt-out into strict ordering for the cases that need it (if there are
>> any).
> 
> The RO property is optional, it can only improve. In addition, all in-kernel ULPs
> don't need strict ordering. I can be mistaken here and Jason will correct me, it
> is because of two things: ULP doesn't touch data before CQE and DMA API prohibits it.
> 

Sticking to in-kernel ULP’s don’t need strict ordering, why don’t you enable this
for HCA’s which supports it by default instead of patching very ULPs. Some ULPs
in future may forget to specify such flag.

Regards,
Santosh


  reply index

Thread overview: 56+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-04-05  5:23 Leon Romanovsky
2021-04-05  5:23 ` [PATCH rdma-next 01/10] RDMA: Add access flags to ib_alloc_mr() and ib_mr_pool_init() Leon Romanovsky
2021-04-05 13:46   ` Christoph Hellwig
2021-04-06  5:24     ` Leon Romanovsky
2021-04-05 15:27   ` Bart Van Assche
2021-04-06  5:23     ` Leon Romanovsky
2021-04-06  5:27       ` Christoph Hellwig
2021-04-06  5:58         ` Leon Romanovsky
2021-04-06 12:13           ` Jason Gunthorpe
2021-04-06 12:30             ` Christoph Hellwig
2021-04-06 14:04               ` Jason Gunthorpe
2021-04-06 14:15                 ` Christoph Hellwig
2021-04-06 14:40                   ` Jason Gunthorpe
2021-04-06 14:54                     ` Christoph Hellwig
2021-04-06 15:03                       ` Christoph Hellwig
2021-04-07 18:28                       ` Jason Gunthorpe
2021-04-05  5:23 ` [PATCH rdma-next 02/10] RDMA/core: Enable Relaxed Ordering in __ib_alloc_pd() Leon Romanovsky
2021-04-05 18:01   ` Tom Talpey
2021-04-05 20:40     ` Adit Ranadive
2021-04-06  6:28     ` Leon Romanovsky
2021-04-05  5:23 ` [PATCH rdma-next 03/10] RDMA/iser: Enable Relaxed Ordering Leon Romanovsky
2021-04-05  5:23 ` [PATCH rdma-next 04/10] RDMA/rtrs: " Leon Romanovsky
2021-04-05  5:23 ` [PATCH rdma-next 05/10] RDMA/srp: " Leon Romanovsky
2021-04-05  5:24 ` [PATCH rdma-next 06/10] nvme-rdma: " Leon Romanovsky
2021-04-05  5:24 ` [PATCH rdma-next 07/10] cifs: smbd: " Leon Romanovsky
2021-04-05  5:24 ` [PATCH rdma-next 08/10] net/rds: " Leon Romanovsky
2021-04-05  5:24 ` [PATCH rdma-next 09/10] net/smc: " Leon Romanovsky
2021-04-05  5:24 ` [PATCH rdma-next 10/10] xprtrdma: " Leon Romanovsky
2021-04-05 13:41 ` [PATCH rdma-next 00/10] Enable relaxed ordering for ULPs Christoph Hellwig
2021-04-05 14:08   ` Leon Romanovsky
2021-04-05 16:11     ` Santosh Shilimkar [this message]
2021-04-05 17:54     ` Tom Talpey
2021-04-05 20:07   ` Jason Gunthorpe
2021-04-05 23:42     ` Chuck Lever III
2021-04-05 23:50       ` Keith Busch
2021-04-06  5:12       ` Leon Romanovsky
2021-04-06 11:49       ` Jason Gunthorpe
2021-04-09 14:26         ` Tom Talpey
2021-04-09 14:45           ` Chuck Lever III
2021-04-09 15:32             ` Tom Talpey
2021-04-09 16:27               ` Haakon Bugge
2021-04-09 17:49                 ` Tom Talpey
2021-04-10 13:30                   ` David Laight
2021-04-12 18:32                     ` Haakon Bugge
2021-04-12 20:20                       ` Tom Talpey
2021-04-12 22:48                         ` Jason Gunthorpe
2021-04-14 14:16                           ` Tom Talpey
2021-04-14 14:41                             ` David Laight
2021-04-14 14:49                               ` Jason Gunthorpe
2021-04-14 14:44                             ` Jason Gunthorpe
2021-04-09 16:40           ` Jason Gunthorpe
2021-04-09 17:44             ` Tom Talpey
2021-04-06  2:37 ` Honggang LI
2021-04-06  5:09   ` Leon Romanovsky
2021-04-06 11:53     ` Jason Gunthorpe
2021-04-11 10:09       ` Max Gurtovoy

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=AD59A399-EFC9-4609-AFCB-8F346E60F5CC@oracle.com \
    --to=santosh.shilimkar@oracle.com \
    --cc=aditr@vmware.com \
    --cc=aelior@marvell.com \
    --cc=anna.schumaker@netapp.com \
    --cc=avihaih@nvidia.com \
    --cc=axboe@fb.com \
    --cc=bfields@fieldses.org \
    --cc=bharat@chelsio.com \
    --cc=bmt@zurich.ibm.com \
    --cc=bvanassche@acm.org \
    --cc=chuck.lever@oracle.com \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=dennis.dalessandro@cornelisnetworks.com \
    --cc=devesh.sharma@broadcom.com \
    --cc=dledford@redhat.com \
    --cc=faisal.latif@intel.com \
    --cc=haris.iqbal@ionos.com \
    --cc=hch@lst.de \
    --cc=jgg@nvidia.com \
    --cc=jinpu.wang@ionos.com \
    --cc=kbusch@kernel.org \
    --cc=kgraul@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=kuba@kernel.org \
    --cc=leon@kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-cifs@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-nfs@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-nvme@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-rdma@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-s390@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=liweihang@huawei.com \
    --cc=maxg@mellanox.com \
    --cc=mgurtovoy@nvidia.com \
    --cc=michaelgur@nvidia.com \
    --cc=mike.marciniszyn@cornelisnetworks.com \
    --cc=mkalderon@marvell.com \
    --cc=nareshkumar.pbs@broadcom.com \
    --cc=netdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=oulijun@huawei.com \
    --cc=pv-drivers@vmware.com \
    --cc=rds-devel@oss.oracle.com \
    --cc=sagi@grimberg.me \
    --cc=samba-technical@lists.samba.org \
    --cc=selvin.xavier@broadcom.com \
    --cc=sfrench@samba.org \
    --cc=shiraz.saleem@intel.com \
    --cc=somnath.kotur@broadcom.com \
    --cc=sriharsha.basavapatna@broadcom.com \
    --cc=trond.myklebust@hammerspace.com \
    --cc=yishaih@nvidia.com \
    --cc=zyjzyj2000@gmail.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-RDMA Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-rdma/0 linux-rdma/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-rdma linux-rdma/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-rdma \
		linux-rdma@vger.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-rdma

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-rdma


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git