linux-samsung-soc.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Sylwester Nawrocki <s.nawrocki@samsung.com>
To: Sam Protsenko <semen.protsenko@linaro.org>,
	Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzysztof.kozlowski@canonical.com>
Cc: "Chanwoo Choi" <cw00.choi@samsung.com>,
	"Linus Walleij" <linus.walleij@linaro.org>,
	"Tomasz Figa" <tomasz.figa@gmail.com>,
	"Paweł Chmiel" <pawel.mikolaj.chmiel@gmail.com>,
	"Marc Zyngier" <maz@kernel.org>,
	"Rob Herring" <robh+dt@kernel.org>,
	"Stephen Boyd" <sboyd@kernel.org>,
	"Michael Turquette" <mturquette@baylibre.com>,
	"Jiri Slaby" <jirislaby@kernel.org>,
	"Greg Kroah-Hartman" <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	"Charles Keepax" <ckeepax@opensource.wolfsonmicro.com>,
	"Ryu Euiyoul" <ryu.real@samsung.com>,
	"Tom Gall" <tom.gall@linaro.org>,
	"Sumit Semwal" <sumit.semwal@linaro.org>,
	"John Stultz" <john.stultz@linaro.org>,
	"Amit Pundir" <amit.pundir@linaro.org>,
	devicetree <devicetree@vger.kernel.org>,
	"linux-arm Mailing List" <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>,
	linux-clk <linux-clk@vger.kernel.org>,
	"open list:GPIO SUBSYSTEM" <linux-gpio@vger.kernel.org>,
	"Linux Kernel Mailing List" <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	"Linux Samsung SOC" <linux-samsung-soc@vger.kernel.org>,
	"open list:SERIAL DRIVERS" <linux-serial@vger.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 7/8] clk: samsung: Add Exynos850 clock driver stub
Date: Tue, 10 Aug 2021 09:55:37 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <bb69e79d-55a8-2090-e51c-fdfea755cf99@samsung.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CAPLW+4=-uUcoLCjjBAC2K5NLswnXGXW1qrsTJrb_uZDgOQ5Ehw@mail.gmail.com>

On 09.08.2021 21:48, Sam Protsenko wrote:
>>> +/* Will be extracted to bindings header once proper clk driver is implemented */
>>> +#define OSCCLK               1
>>> +#define DOUT_UART    2
>>> +#define CLK_NR_CLKS  3
>>> +
>>> +/* Fixed rate clocks generated outside the SoC */
>>> +static struct samsung_fixed_rate_clock exynos850_fixed_rate_ext_clks[] __initdata = {
>>> +     FRATE(OSCCLK, "fin_pll", NULL, 0, 26000000),
>>> +};
>>> +
>>> +/*
>>> + * Model the UART clock as a fixed-rate clock for now, to make serial driver
>>> + * work. This clock is already configured in the bootloader.
>>> + */
>>> +static const struct samsung_fixed_rate_clock exynos850_peri_clks[] __initconst = {
>>> +     FRATE(DOUT_UART, "DOUT_UART", NULL, 0, 200000000),
>>> +};
>>> +
>>> +static const struct of_device_id ext_clk_match[] __initconst = {
>>> +     { .compatible = "samsung,exynos850-oscclk" },
>>
>> One more thing - I am not sure anymore if this is correct. AFAIR, we
>> wanted to drop compatibles for external clocks.
>>
> I'll remove oscclk from the clock driver and device tree. It's not
> needed right now anyway, as that driver is just a stub.
> 
> But I'd still like to know the proper way to define external clocks. I
> can see that in exynos7.dtsi and exynos5433.dtsi there is just regular
> fixed clock defined for "oscclk" (or "fin_pll"), and then that clock
> is referenced in corresponding clock driver by its
> 'clock-output-names' property. I guess that approach is the
> recommended one?

Yes, we should use generic "fixed-clock" in DT to model the external
root clock. Registering the external clock from within the CMU driver
is a legacy method that predates generic "fixed-clock" and should be
avoided.  

That said I think this temporary stub driver is not needed at all, 
you could well define a fixed clock in DT and reference it in the UART 
node, as Krzysztof suggested.

--
Regards, 
Sylwester

  reply	other threads:[~2021-08-10  7:56 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 19+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-08-06 15:21 [PATCH v2 0/8] Add minimal support for Exynos850 SoC Sam Protsenko
2021-08-06 15:21 ` [PATCH v2 1/8] dt-bindings: pinctrl: samsung: Add Exynos850 doc Sam Protsenko
2021-08-06 15:21 ` [PATCH v2 2/8] pinctrl: samsung: Add Exynos850 SoC specific data Sam Protsenko
2021-08-09 10:43   ` Krzysztof Kozlowski
2021-08-09 18:18     ` Sam Protsenko
2021-08-06 15:21 ` [PATCH v2 3/8] dt-bindings: serial: samsung: Add Exynos850 doc Sam Protsenko
2021-08-06 15:21 ` [PATCH v2 4/8] tty: serial: samsung: Init USI to keep clocks running Sam Protsenko
2021-08-09 10:45   ` Krzysztof Kozlowski
2021-08-06 15:21 ` [PATCH v2 5/8] tty: serial: samsung: Fix driver data macros style Sam Protsenko
2021-08-06 15:21 ` [PATCH v2 6/8] tty: serial: samsung: Add Exynos850 SoC data Sam Protsenko
2021-08-09 10:46   ` Krzysztof Kozlowski
2021-08-06 15:21 ` [PATCH v2 7/8] clk: samsung: Add Exynos850 clock driver stub Sam Protsenko
2021-08-09 10:55   ` Krzysztof Kozlowski
2021-08-09 18:51     ` Sam Protsenko
2021-08-09 11:22   ` Krzysztof Kozlowski
2021-08-09 19:48     ` Sam Protsenko
2021-08-10  7:55       ` Sylwester Nawrocki [this message]
2021-08-11 11:20         ` Sam Protsenko
2021-08-06 15:21 ` [PATCH v2 8/8] arm64: dts: exynos: Add Exynos850 SoC support Sam Protsenko

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=bb69e79d-55a8-2090-e51c-fdfea755cf99@samsung.com \
    --to=s.nawrocki@samsung.com \
    --cc=amit.pundir@linaro.org \
    --cc=ckeepax@opensource.wolfsonmicro.com \
    --cc=cw00.choi@samsung.com \
    --cc=devicetree@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=jirislaby@kernel.org \
    --cc=john.stultz@linaro.org \
    --cc=krzysztof.kozlowski@canonical.com \
    --cc=linus.walleij@linaro.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-clk@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-gpio@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-samsung-soc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-serial@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=maz@kernel.org \
    --cc=mturquette@baylibre.com \
    --cc=pawel.mikolaj.chmiel@gmail.com \
    --cc=robh+dt@kernel.org \
    --cc=ryu.real@samsung.com \
    --cc=sboyd@kernel.org \
    --cc=semen.protsenko@linaro.org \
    --cc=sumit.semwal@linaro.org \
    --cc=tom.gall@linaro.org \
    --cc=tomasz.figa@gmail.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v2 7/8] clk: samsung: Add Exynos850 clock driver stub' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).