Linux-Serial Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Andy Shevchenko <andriy.shevchenko@linux.intel.com>
To: Sergey.Semin@baikalelectronics.ru
Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	Jiri Slaby <jslaby@suse.com>,
	Serge Semin <fancer.lancer@gmail.com>,
	Alexey Malahov <Alexey.Malahov@baikalelectronics.ru>,
	Maxim Kaurkin <Maxim.Kaurkin@baikalelectronics.ru>,
	Pavel Parkhomenko <Pavel.Parkhomenko@baikalelectronics.ru>,
	Ramil Zaripov <Ramil.Zaripov@baikalelectronics.ru>,
	Ekaterina Skachko <Ekaterina.Skachko@baikalelectronics.ru>,
	Vadim Vlasov <V.Vlasov@baikalelectronics.ru>,
	Thomas Bogendoerfer <tsbogend@alpha.franken.de>,
	Paul Burton <paulburton@kernel.org>,
	Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>,
	Maxime Ripard <mripard@kernel.org>, Chen-Yu Tsai <wens@csie.org>,
	Ray Jui <rjui@broadcom.com>,
	Scott Branden <sbranden@broadcom.com>,
	Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@gmail.com>,
	Wei Xu <xuwei5@hisilicon.com>,
	Jason Cooper <jason@lakedaemon.net>, Andrew Lunn <andrew@lunn.ch>,
	Gregory Clement <gregory.clement@bootlin.com>,
	Sebastian Hesselbarth <sebastian.hesselbarth@gmail.com>,
	Jisheng Zhang <Jisheng.Zhang@synaptics.com>,
	Heiko Stuebner <heiko@sntech.de>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>,
	Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org,
	Michael Turquette <mturquette@baylibre.com>,
	Stephen Boyd <sboyd@kernel.org>,
	linux-clk@vger.kernel.org,
	Heikki Krogerus <heikki.krogerus@linux.intel.com>,
	Kefeng Wang <wangkefeng.wang@huawei.com>,
	linux-serial@vger.kernel.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2] serial: 8250_dw: Fix common clocks usage race condition
Date: Mon, 23 Mar 2020 11:20:51 +0200
Message-ID: <20200323092051.GB1922688@smile.fi.intel.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20200323024611.16039-1-Sergey.Semin@baikalelectronics.ru>

On Mon, Mar 23, 2020 at 05:46:09AM +0300, Sergey.Semin@baikalelectronics.ru wrote:
> From: Serge Semin <Sergey.Semin@baikalelectronics.ru>

The question to CLK framework maintainers, is it correct approach in general
for this case?

> There are races possible in the dw8250_set_termios() callback method
> and while the device is in PM suspend state. A race condition may
> happen if the baudrate clock source device is shared with some other
> device (in our machine it's another DW UART port). In this case if that
> device changes the clock rate while serial console is using it the
> DW 8250 UART port might not only end up with an invalid uartclk value
> saved, but may also experience a distorted output data since baud-clock
> could have been changed. In order to fix this lets enable an exclusive
> reference clock rate access in case if "baudclk" device is specified.
> 
> So if some other device also acquires the rate exclusivity during the
> time of a DW UART 8250 port being opened, then DW UART 8250 driver
> won't be able to alter the baud-clock. It shall just use the available
> clock rate. Similarly another device also won't manage to change the
> rate at that time. If nothing else have the exclusive rate access
> acquired except DW UART 8250 driver, then the driver will be able to
> alter the rate as much as it needs to in accordance with the currently
> implemented logic.

Thank you for an update, my comments below.

...

> +static int dw8250_startup(struct uart_port *p)
> +{
> +	struct dw8250_data *d = to_dw8250_data(p->private_data);
> +
> +	/*
> +	 * Some platforms may provide a reference clock shared between several
> +	 * devices. In this case before using the serial port first we have to
> +	 * make sure nothing will change the rate behind our back and second
> +	 * the tty/serial subsystem knows the actual reference clock rate of
> +	 * the port.
> +	 */

> +	if (clk_rate_exclusive_get(d->clk)) {
> +		dev_warn(p->dev, "Couldn't lock the clock rate\n");

So, if this fails, in ->shutdown you will disbalance reference count, or did I
miss something?

> +	} else if (d->clk) {

> +		p->uartclk = clk_get_rate(d->clk);
> +		if (!p->uartclk) {
> +			clk_rate_exclusive_put(d->clk);
> +			dev_err(p->dev, "Clock rate not defined\n");
> +			return -EINVAL;
> +		}

This operations I didn't get. If we have d->clk and suddenly get 0 as a rate
(and note, that we still update uartclk member!), we try to put (why?) the
exclusiveness of rate.

> +	}
> +
> +	return serial8250_do_startup(p);
> +}
> +
> +static void dw8250_shutdown(struct uart_port *p)
> +{
> +	struct dw8250_data *d = to_dw8250_data(p->private_data);
> +
> +	serial8250_do_shutdown(p);
> +
> +	clk_rate_exclusive_put(d->clk);
> +}

-- 
With Best Regards,
Andy Shevchenko



  reply index

Thread overview: 29+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
     [not found] <20200306130231.05BBC8030795@mail.baikalelectronics.ru>
     [not found] ` <20200306134049.86F8180307C2@mail.baikalelectronics.ru>
     [not found]   ` <20200310001444.B0F50803087C@mail.baikalelectronics.ru>
2020-03-10 14:17     ` [PATCH] " Andy Shevchenko
     [not found]     ` <20200310141715.7063280307CA@mail.baikalelectronics.ru>
2020-03-12 18:47       ` Sergey Semin
2020-03-18 15:19         ` Andy Shevchenko
2020-03-23  2:46 ` [PATCH v2] " Sergey.Semin
2020-03-23  9:20   ` Andy Shevchenko [this message]
2020-03-23 11:11     ` Sergey Semin
2020-03-23 11:52       ` Andy Shevchenko
2020-03-23 17:07         ` Sergey Semin
2020-03-23 10:01   ` Maxime Ripard
2020-03-23 13:50     ` Sergey Semin
2020-03-24  9:41       ` Maxime Ripard
2020-03-24 10:12       ` Andy Shevchenko
2020-03-25 17:11         ` Sergey Semin
2020-03-26  1:44           ` Stephen Boyd
2020-03-27  9:12             ` Sergey Semin
2020-05-06 23:31   ` [PATCH v3 0/4] serial: 8250_dw: Fix ref clock usage Serge Semin
2020-05-06 23:31     ` [PATCH v3 1/4] serial: 8250: Fix max baud limit in generic 8250 port Serge Semin
2020-05-15 13:48       ` Andy Shevchenko
2020-05-06 23:31     ` [PATCH v3 2/4] serial: 8250: Add 8250 port clock update method Serge Semin
2020-05-15 12:45       ` Greg Kroah-Hartman
2020-05-15 14:32         ` Serge Semin
2020-05-06 23:31     ` [PATCH v3 3/4] serial: 8250_dw: Simplify the ref clock rate setting procedure Serge Semin
2020-05-15 14:05       ` Andy Shevchenko
2020-05-15 14:50         ` Serge Semin
2020-05-15 15:05           ` Andy Shevchenko
2020-05-06 23:31     ` [PATCH v3 4/4] serial: 8250_dw: Fix common clocks usage race condition Serge Semin
2020-05-15 14:10       ` Andy Shevchenko
2020-05-15 15:19         ` Serge Semin
2020-05-07 18:29     ` [PATCH v3 0/4] serial: 8250_dw: Fix ref clock usage Andy Shevchenko

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20200323092051.GB1922688@smile.fi.intel.com \
    --to=andriy.shevchenko@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=Alexey.Malahov@baikalelectronics.ru \
    --cc=Ekaterina.Skachko@baikalelectronics.ru \
    --cc=Jisheng.Zhang@synaptics.com \
    --cc=Maxim.Kaurkin@baikalelectronics.ru \
    --cc=Pavel.Parkhomenko@baikalelectronics.ru \
    --cc=Ramil.Zaripov@baikalelectronics.ru \
    --cc=Sergey.Semin@baikalelectronics.ru \
    --cc=V.Vlasov@baikalelectronics.ru \
    --cc=andrew@lunn.ch \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=f.fainelli@gmail.com \
    --cc=fancer.lancer@gmail.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=gregory.clement@bootlin.com \
    --cc=heikki.krogerus@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=heiko@sntech.de \
    --cc=jason@lakedaemon.net \
    --cc=jslaby@suse.com \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-clk@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-serial@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=mripard@kernel.org \
    --cc=mturquette@baylibre.com \
    --cc=paulburton@kernel.org \
    --cc=ralf@linux-mips.org \
    --cc=rjui@broadcom.com \
    --cc=sboyd@kernel.org \
    --cc=sbranden@broadcom.com \
    --cc=sebastian.hesselbarth@gmail.com \
    --cc=tsbogend@alpha.franken.de \
    --cc=wangkefeng.wang@huawei.com \
    --cc=wens@csie.org \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    --cc=xuwei5@hisilicon.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-Serial Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-serial/0 linux-serial/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-serial linux-serial/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-serial \
		linux-serial@vger.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-serial

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-serial


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git