LinuxPPC-Dev Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@oracle.com>
To: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
Cc: linux-hyperv@vger.kernel.org, "Michal Hocko" <mhocko@suse.com>,
	"Radim Krčmář" <rkrcmar@redhat.com>,
	kvm@vger.kernel.org,
	"Pavel Tatashin" <pavel.tatashin@microsoft.com>,
	"KarimAllah Ahmed" <karahmed@amazon.de>,
	"Dave Hansen" <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>,
	"Alexander Duyck" <alexander.duyck@gmail.com>,
	"Michal Hocko" <mhocko@kernel.org>,
	linux-mm@kvack.org, "Paul Mackerras" <paulus@samba.org>,
	"H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>,
	"Wanpeng Li" <wanpengli@tencent.com>,
	"Alexander Duyck" <alexander.h.duyck@linux.intel.com>,
	"K. Y. Srinivasan" <kys@microsoft.com>,
	"Thomas Gleixner" <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	"Kees Cook" <keescook@chromium.org>,
	devel@driverdev.osuosl.org,
	"Stefano Stabellini" <sstabellini@kernel.org>,
	"Stephen Hemminger" <sthemmin@microsoft.com>,
	"Aneesh Kumar K.V" <aneesh.kumar@linux.ibm.com>,
	"Joerg Roedel" <joro@8bytes.org>,
	x86@kernel.org, YueHaibing <yuehaibing@huawei.com>,
	"Matthew Wilcox (Oracle)" <willy@infradead.org>,
	"Mike Rapoport" <rppt@linux.ibm.com>,
	"Peter Zijlstra" <peterz@infradead.org>,
	"Ingo Molnar" <mingo@redhat.com>,
	"Vlastimil Babka" <vbabka@suse.cz>,
	"Anthony Yznaga" <anthony.yznaga@oracle.com>,
	"Oscar Salvador" <osalvador@suse.de>,
	"Isaac J. Manjarres" <isaacm@codeaurora.org>,
	"Matt Sickler" <Matt.Sickler@daktronics.com>,
	"Juergen Gross" <jgross@suse.com>,
	"Anshuman Khandual" <anshuman.khandual@arm.com>,
	"Haiyang Zhang" <haiyangz@microsoft.com>,
	"Sasha Levin" <sashal@kernel.org>,
	kvm-ppc@vger.kernel.org, "Qian Cai" <cai@lca.pw>,
	"Alex Williamson" <alex.williamson@redhat.com>,
	"Mike Rapoport" <rppt@linux.vnet.ibm.com>,
	"Borislav Petkov" <bp@alien8.de>,
	"Nicholas Piggin" <npiggin@gmail.com>,
	"Andy Lutomirski" <luto@kernel.org>,
	xen-devel@lists.xenproject.org,
	"Dan Williams" <dan.j.williams@intel.com>,
	"Vitaly Kuznetsov" <vkuznets@redhat.com>,
	"Allison Randal" <allison@lohutok.net>,
	"Jim Mattson" <jmattson@google.com>,
	"Mel Gorman" <mgorman@techsingularity.net>,
	"Cornelia Huck" <cohuck@redhat.com>,
	"Pavel Tatashin" <pasha.tatashin@soleen.com>,
	"Sean Christopherson" <sean.j.christopherson@intel.com>,
	"Johannes Weiner" <hannes@cmpxchg.org>,
	"Paolo Bonzini" <pbonzini@redhat.com>,
	"Andrew Morton" <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH v1 09/10] mm/memory_hotplug: Don't mark pages PG_reserved when initializing the memmap
Date: Mon, 4 Nov 2019 17:44:33 -0500
Message-ID: <4b88ebd7-255d-4f02-a347-5a6c0f4f4ac4@oracle.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20191024120938.11237-10-david@redhat.com>

On 10/24/19 8:09 AM, David Hildenbrand wrote:
> diff --git a/drivers/xen/balloon.c b/drivers/xen/balloon.c
> index 4f2e78a5e4db..af69f057913a 100644
> --- a/drivers/xen/balloon.c
> +++ b/drivers/xen/balloon.c
> @@ -374,6 +374,13 @@ static void xen_online_page(struct page *page, unsigned int order)
>  	mutex_lock(&balloon_mutex);
>  	for (i = 0; i < size; i++) {
>  		p = pfn_to_page(start_pfn + i);
> +		/*
> +		 * TODO: The core used to mark the pages reserved. Most probably
> +		 * we can stop doing that now. However, especially
> +		 * alloc_xenballooned_pages() left PG_reserved set
> +		 * on pages that can get mapped to user space.
> +		 */
> +		__SetPageReserved(p);

I suspect this is not needed. Pages can get into balloon either from
here or from non-hotplug path (e.g. decrease_reservation()) and so when
we get a page from the balloon we would get a random page that may or
may not have Reserved bit set.

-boris


>  		balloon_append(p);
>  	}
>  	mutex_unlock(&balloon_mutex);
>


  reply index

Thread overview: 43+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-10-24 12:09 [PATCH v1 00/10] mm: Don't mark hotplugged pages PG_reserved (including ZONE_DEVICE) David Hildenbrand
2019-10-24 12:09 ` [PATCH v1 01/10] mm/memory_hotplug: Don't allow to online/offline memory blocks with holes David Hildenbrand
2019-11-05  1:30   ` Dan Williams
2019-11-05  9:31     ` David Hildenbrand
2019-10-24 12:09 ` [PATCH v1 02/10] KVM: x86/mmu: Prepare kvm_is_mmio_pfn() for PG_reserved changes David Hildenbrand
2019-11-05  1:37   ` Dan Williams
2019-11-05 11:09     ` David Hildenbrand
2019-10-24 12:09 ` [PATCH v1 03/10] KVM: Prepare kvm_is_reserved_pfn() " David Hildenbrand
2019-11-05  4:38   ` Dan Williams
2019-11-05  9:17     ` David Hildenbrand
2019-11-05  9:49       ` David Hildenbrand
2019-11-05 10:02         ` David Hildenbrand
2019-11-05 16:00           ` Sean Christopherson
2019-11-05 20:30             ` David Hildenbrand
2019-11-05 22:22               ` Sean Christopherson
2019-11-05 23:02               ` Dan Williams
2019-11-05 23:13                 ` Sean Christopherson
2019-11-05 23:30                   ` Dan Williams
2019-11-05 23:42                     ` Sean Christopherson
2019-11-05 23:43                     ` Dan Williams
2019-11-06  0:03                       ` Sean Christopherson
2019-11-06  0:08                         ` Dan Williams
2019-11-06  6:56                           ` David Hildenbrand
2019-11-06 16:09                             ` Sean Christopherson
2019-10-24 12:09 ` [PATCH v1 04/10] vfio/type1: Prepare is_invalid_reserved_pfn() " David Hildenbrand
2019-11-07 15:40   ` Dan Williams
2019-11-07 18:22     ` David Hildenbrand
2019-11-07 22:07       ` David Hildenbrand
2019-11-08  5:09         ` Dan Williams
2019-11-08  7:14           ` David Hildenbrand
2019-11-08 10:21             ` David Hildenbrand
2019-11-08 18:29               ` Dan Williams
2019-11-08 23:01                 ` David Hildenbrand
2019-10-24 12:09 ` [PATCH v1 05/10] powerpc/book3s: Prepare kvmppc_book3s_instantiate_page() " David Hildenbrand
2019-10-24 12:09 ` [PATCH v1 06/10] powerpc/64s: Prepare hash_page_do_lazy_icache() " David Hildenbrand
2019-10-24 12:09 ` [PATCH v1 07/10] powerpc/mm: Prepare maybe_pte_to_page() " David Hildenbrand
2019-10-24 12:09 ` [PATCH v1 08/10] x86/mm: Prepare __ioremap_check_ram() " David Hildenbrand
2019-10-24 12:09 ` [PATCH v1 09/10] mm/memory_hotplug: Don't mark pages PG_reserved when initializing the memmap David Hildenbrand
2019-11-04 22:44   ` Boris Ostrovsky [this message]
2019-11-05 10:18     ` David Hildenbrand
2019-11-05 16:06       ` Boris Ostrovsky
2019-10-24 12:09 ` [PATCH v1 10/10] mm/usercopy.c: Update comment in check_page_span() regarding ZONE_DEVICE David Hildenbrand
2019-11-01 19:24 ` [PATCH v1 00/10] mm: Don't mark hotplugged pages PG_reserved (including ZONE_DEVICE) David Hildenbrand

Reply instructions:

You may reply publically to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=4b88ebd7-255d-4f02-a347-5a6c0f4f4ac4@oracle.com \
    --to=boris.ostrovsky@oracle.com \
    --cc=Matt.Sickler@daktronics.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=alex.williamson@redhat.com \
    --cc=alexander.duyck@gmail.com \
    --cc=alexander.h.duyck@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=allison@lohutok.net \
    --cc=aneesh.kumar@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=anshuman.khandual@arm.com \
    --cc=anthony.yznaga@oracle.com \
    --cc=bp@alien8.de \
    --cc=cai@lca.pw \
    --cc=cohuck@redhat.com \
    --cc=dan.j.williams@intel.com \
    --cc=dave.hansen@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=david@redhat.com \
    --cc=devel@driverdev.osuosl.org \
    --cc=haiyangz@microsoft.com \
    --cc=hannes@cmpxchg.org \
    --cc=hpa@zytor.com \
    --cc=isaacm@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=jgross@suse.com \
    --cc=jmattson@google.com \
    --cc=joro@8bytes.org \
    --cc=karahmed@amazon.de \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=kvm-ppc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=kvm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=kys@microsoft.com \
    --cc=linux-hyperv@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mm@kvack.org \
    --cc=linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org \
    --cc=luto@kernel.org \
    --cc=mgorman@techsingularity.net \
    --cc=mhocko@kernel.org \
    --cc=mhocko@suse.com \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=npiggin@gmail.com \
    --cc=osalvador@suse.de \
    --cc=pasha.tatashin@soleen.com \
    --cc=paulus@samba.org \
    --cc=pavel.tatashin@microsoft.com \
    --cc=pbonzini@redhat.com \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=rkrcmar@redhat.com \
    --cc=rppt@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=rppt@linux.vnet.ibm.com \
    --cc=sashal@kernel.org \
    --cc=sean.j.christopherson@intel.com \
    --cc=sstabellini@kernel.org \
    --cc=sthemmin@microsoft.com \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=vbabka@suse.cz \
    --cc=vkuznets@redhat.com \
    --cc=wanpengli@tencent.com \
    --cc=willy@infradead.org \
    --cc=x86@kernel.org \
    --cc=xen-devel@lists.xenproject.org \
    --cc=yuehaibing@huawei.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

LinuxPPC-Dev Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linuxppc-dev/0 linuxppc-dev/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linuxppc-dev linuxppc-dev/ https://lore.kernel.org/linuxppc-dev \
		linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org linuxppc-dev@ozlabs.org
	public-inbox-index linuxppc-dev

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.ozlabs.lists.linuxppc-dev


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git