linux-kernel.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@kernel.org>
To: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Ian Rogers <irogers@google.com>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>,
	Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>,
	Song Liu <songliubraving@fb.com>,
	Andrii Nakryiko <andriin@fb.com>,
	Kajol Jain <kjain@linux.ibm.com>, Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>,
	John Garry <john.garry@huawei.com>,
	Jin Yao <yao.jin@linux.intel.com>,
	Kan Liang <kan.liang@linux.intel.com>,
	Cong Wang <xiyou.wangcong@gmail.com>,
	Kim Phillips <kim.phillips@amd.com>, Paul Clarke <pc@us.ibm.com>,
	Srikar Dronamraju <srikar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, netdev@vger.kernel.org,
	bpf@vger.kernel.org, linux-perf-users@vger.kernel.org,
	Vince Weaver <vincent.weaver@maine.edu>,
	Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 0/7] Share events between metrics
Date: Thu, 21 May 2020 14:22:35 -0300	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20200521172235.GD14034@kernel.org> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20200521114325.GT157452@krava>

Em Thu, May 21, 2020 at 01:43:25PM +0200, Jiri Olsa escreveu:
> On Wed, May 20, 2020 at 11:20:04AM -0700, Ian Rogers wrote:
> 
> SNIP
> 
> > There are 5 out of 12 metric groups where no events are shared, such
> > as Power, however, disabling grouping of events always reduces the
> > number of events.
> > 
> > The result for Memory_BW needs explanation:
> > 
> > Metric group: Memory_BW
> >  - No merging (old default, now --metric-no-merge): 9
> >  - Merging over metrics (new default)             : 5
> >  - No event groups and merging (--metric-no-group): 11
> > 
> > Both with and without merging the groups fail to be set up and so the
> > event counts here are for broken metrics. The --metric-no-group number
> > is accurate as all the events are scheduled. Ideally a constraint
> > would be added for these metrics in the json code to avoid grouping.
> > 
> > v2. rebases on kernel/git/acme/linux.git branch tmp.perf/core, fixes a
> > missing comma with metric lists (reported-by Jiri Olsa
> > <jolsa@redhat.com>) and adds early returns to metricgroup__add_metric
> > (suggested-by Jiri Olsa).
> 
> Acked-by: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>

Applied and pushed to tmp.perf/core, will move to perf/core as soon as
testing finishes,

- Arnaldo

  reply	other threads:[~2020-05-21 17:22 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 17+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-05-20 18:20 Ian Rogers
2020-05-20 18:20 ` [PATCH v2 1/7] perf metricgroup: Always place duration_time last Ian Rogers
2020-05-20 18:20 ` [PATCH v2 2/7] perf metricgroup: Use early return in add_metric Ian Rogers
2020-05-20 18:20 ` [PATCH v2 3/7] perf metricgroup: Delay events string creation Ian Rogers
2020-05-20 18:20 ` [PATCH v2 4/7] perf metricgroup: Order event groups by size Ian Rogers
2020-05-20 18:20 ` [PATCH v2 5/7] perf metricgroup: Remove duped metric group events Ian Rogers
2020-05-20 18:20 ` [PATCH v2 6/7] perf metricgroup: Add options to not group or merge Ian Rogers
2020-05-20 18:20 ` [PATCH v2 7/7] perf metricgroup: Remove unnecessary ',' from events Ian Rogers
2020-05-21 11:43 ` [PATCH v2 0/7] Share events between metrics Jiri Olsa
2020-05-21 17:22   ` Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo [this message]
2020-05-22 10:13     ` Jiri Olsa
2020-05-22 14:49       ` Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo
     [not found]         ` <CAP-5=fUaaNpi3RZd9-Q-uCaudop0tU5NN8HFek5e2XLoBZqt6w@mail.gmail.com>
2020-05-22 17:56           ` Ian Rogers
2020-05-23 22:19             ` Jiri Olsa
2020-05-25 13:34               ` Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo
2020-05-22  9:25 ` kajoljain
2020-05-22 14:31   ` Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20200521172235.GD14034@kernel.org \
    --to=acme@kernel.org \
    --cc=ak@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=andriin@fb.com \
    --cc=bpf@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=eranian@google.com \
    --cc=irogers@google.com \
    --cc=john.garry@huawei.com \
    --cc=jolsa@redhat.com \
    --cc=kan.liang@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=kim.phillips@amd.com \
    --cc=kjain@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-perf-users@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=namhyung@kernel.org \
    --cc=netdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=pc@us.ibm.com \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=songliubraving@fb.com \
    --cc=srikar@linux.vnet.ibm.com \
    --cc=vincent.weaver@maine.edu \
    --cc=xiyou.wangcong@gmail.com \
    --cc=yao.jin@linux.intel.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v2 0/7] Share events between metrics' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).