linux-kernel.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Adam Ford <aford173@gmail.com>
To: linux-clk@vger.kernel.org
Cc: aford@beaconembedded.com, charles.steves@logicpd.com,
	Adam Ford <aford173@gmail.com>,
	Aisheng Dong <aisheng.dong@nxp.com>,
	Michael Turquette <mturquette@baylibre.com>,
	Stephen Boyd <sboyd@kernel.org>, Shawn Guo <shawnguo@kernel.org>,
	Sascha Hauer <s.hauer@pengutronix.de>,
	Pengutronix Kernel Team <kernel@pengutronix.de>,
	Fabio Estevam <festevam@gmail.com>,
	NXP Linux Team <linux-imx@nxp.com>,
	Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>,
	Jerome Brunet <jbrunet@baylibre.com>,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
Subject: [PATCH] clk: imx: Fix reparenting of UARTs not associated with sdout
Date: Fri,  4 Dec 2020 12:31:54 -0600	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20201204183154.94002-1-aford173@gmail.com> (raw)

The default clock source on i.MX8M Mini and Nano boards use a 24MHz clock,
but users who need to re-parent the clock source run into issues because
all the UART clocks are enabled whether or not they're needed by sdout.

Any attempt to change the parent results in an busy error because the
clocks have been enabled already.

  clk: failed to reparent uart1 to sys_pll1_80m: -16

Instead of pre-initializing all UARTS, scan the device tree to see if UART
clock is used as stdout before initializing it.  Only enable the UART clock
if it's needed in order to delay the clock initialization until after the
re-parenting of the clocks.

Fixes: 9461f7b33d11c ("clk: fix CLK_SET_RATE_GATE with clock rate protection")
Suggested-by: Aisheng Dong <aisheng.dong@nxp.com>
Signed-off-by: Adam Ford <aford173@gmail.com>

diff --git a/drivers/clk/imx/clk.c b/drivers/clk/imx/clk.c
index 47882c51cb85..6dcc5fbd8f3f 100644
--- a/drivers/clk/imx/clk.c
+++ b/drivers/clk/imx/clk.c
@@ -163,12 +163,18 @@ __setup_param("earlyprintk", imx_keep_uart_earlyprintk,
 
 void imx_register_uart_clocks(struct clk ** const clks[])
 {
+	struct clk *uart_clk;
 	if (imx_keep_uart_clocks) {
 		int i;
 
 		imx_uart_clocks = clks;
-		for (i = 0; imx_uart_clocks[i]; i++)
-			clk_prepare_enable(*imx_uart_clocks[i]);
+		for (i = 0; imx_uart_clocks[i]; i++) {
+			uart_clk = of_clk_get(of_stdout, i);
+			if (IS_ERR(uart_clk))
+				continue;
+			clk_prepare_enable(uart_clk);
+			clk_put(uart_clk);
+		}
 	}
 }
 
-- 
2.25.1


             reply	other threads:[~2020-12-04 18:33 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 4+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-12-04 18:31 Adam Ford [this message]
2020-12-07  5:24 ` Sascha Hauer
2020-12-07 15:51   ` Adam Ford
2020-12-07 16:53     ` Sascha Hauer

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20201204183154.94002-1-aford173@gmail.com \
    --to=aford173@gmail.com \
    --cc=aford@beaconembedded.com \
    --cc=aisheng.dong@nxp.com \
    --cc=charles.steves@logicpd.com \
    --cc=festevam@gmail.com \
    --cc=jbrunet@baylibre.com \
    --cc=kernel@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=linus.walleij@linaro.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-clk@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-imx@nxp.com \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mturquette@baylibre.com \
    --cc=s.hauer@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=sboyd@kernel.org \
    --cc=shawnguo@kernel.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH] clk: imx: Fix reparenting of UARTs not associated with sdout' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).