DPDK-dev Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Pavan Nikhilesh Bhagavatula <pbhagavatula@marvell.com>
To: Andrew Rybchenko <arybchenko@solarflare.com>,
	Jerin Jacob Kollanukkaran <jerinj@marvell.com>,
	"ferruh.yigit@intel.com" <ferruh.yigit@intel.com>,
	"Ajit Khaparde" <ajit.khaparde@broadcom.com>,
	Somnath Kotur <somnath.kotur@broadcom.com>,
	Rahul Lakkireddy <rahul.lakkireddy@chelsio.com>,
	Hemant Agrawal <hemant.agrawal@nxp.com>,
	Sachin Saxena <sachin.saxena@nxp.com>,
	Wenzhuo Lu <wenzhuo.lu@intel.com>,
	John Daley <johndale@cisco.com>,
	Hyong Youb Kim <hyonkim@cisco.com>,
	Qi Zhang <qi.z.zhang@intel.com>,
	Xiao Wang <xiao.w.wang@intel.com>,
	Ziyang Xuan <xuanziyang2@huawei.com>,
	Xiaoyun Wang <cloud.wangxiaoyun@huawei.com>,
	Guoyang Zhou <zhouguoyang@huawei.com>,
	Beilei Xing <beilei.xing@intel.com>,
	Jingjing Wu <jingjing.wu@intel.com>,
	Qiming Yang <qiming.yang@intel.com>,
	Konstantin Ananyev <konstantin.ananyev@intel.com>,
	Shijith Thotton <sthotton@marvell.com>,
	Srisivasubramanian Srinivasan <srinivasan@marvell.com>,
	Matan Azrad <matan@mellanox.com>,
	Shahaf Shuler <shahafs@mellanox.com>,
	Yongseok Koh <yskoh@mellanox.com>,
	"Viacheslav Ovsiienko" <viacheslavo@mellanox.com>,
	Stephen Hemminger <sthemmin@microsoft.com>,
	"K. Y. Srinivasan" <kys@microsoft.com>,
	"Haiyang Zhang" <haiyangz@microsoft.com>,
	Alejandro Lucero <alejandro.lucero@netronome.com>,
	Nithin Kumar Dabilpuram <ndabilpuram@marvell.com>,
	Kiran Kumar Kokkilagadda <kirankumark@marvell.com>,
	Rasesh Mody <rmody@marvell.com>,
	Shahed Shaikh <shshaikh@marvell.com>,
	Maciej Czekaj <mczekaj@marvell.com>,
	Yong Wang <yongwang@vmware.com>
Cc: "dev@dpdk.org" <dev@dpdk.org>
Subject: Re: [dpdk-dev] [PATCH 4/7] net: update Rx RSS hash offload capabilities
Date: Sat, 17 Aug 2019 12:26:04 +0000
Message-ID: <CY4PR1801MB1863EB40954CC83B8F5B2D0BDEAE0@CY4PR1801MB1863.namprd18.prod.outlook.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <650397bf-bc61-e55c-591a-6692acdad268@solarflare.com>

>Subject: Re: [dpdk-dev] [PATCH 4/7] net: update Rx RSS hash offload
>capabilities
>
>Prefix "net: " is typically used for lib/librte_net. It should be
>"drivers/net: " here.

Ack will fix in v2.

>
>On 8/16/19 8:55 AM, pbhagavatula@marvell.com wrote:
>> From: Pavan Nikhilesh <pbhagavatula@marvell.com>
>>
>> Add DEV_RX_OFFLOAD_RSS_HASH flag for all supported NICs.
>
>"all supported NICs" sounds wrong here.  I'd say
>"all PMDs which support RSS hash delivery" or something like this.
>

Will reword in v2.

>> Signed-off-by: Pavan Nikhilesh <pbhagavatula@marvell.com>
>> ---
>
>[snip]
>
>> diff --git a/drivers/net/sfc/sfc_rx.c b/drivers/net/sfc/sfc_rx.c
>> index e6809bb64..695580b22 100644
>> --- a/drivers/net/sfc/sfc_rx.c
>> +++ b/drivers/net/sfc/sfc_rx.c
>> @@ -618,7 +618,8 @@ struct sfc_dp_rx sfc_efx_rx = {
>>   	},
>>   	.features		= SFC_DP_RX_FEAT_INTR,
>>   	.dev_offload_capa	= DEV_RX_OFFLOAD_CHECKSUM,
>> -	.queue_offload_capa	= DEV_RX_OFFLOAD_SCATTER,
>> +	.queue_offload_capa	= DEV_RX_OFFLOAD_SCATTER |
>> +				  DEV_RX_OFFLOAD_RSS_HASH,
>>   	.qsize_up_rings		= sfc_efx_rx_qsize_up_rings,
>>   	.qcreate		= sfc_efx_rx_qcreate,
>>   	.qdestroy		= sfc_efx_rx_qdestroy,
>>
>
>Similar changes are required in sfc_ef10_essb_rx
>(drivers/net/sfc/sfc_ef10_essb_rx.c) and sfc_ef10_rx
>(drivers/net/sfc/sfc_ef10_rx.c).

Thanks for the heads up will update these files in v2. 

Pavan

  reply index

Thread overview: 31+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-08-16  5:55 [dpdk-dev] [PATCH 0/7] ethdev: add new Rx offload flags pbhagavatula
2019-08-16  5:55 ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH 1/7] ethdev: add set ptype function pbhagavatula
2019-08-16  8:22   ` Andrew Rybchenko
2019-08-17 16:27     ` [dpdk-dev] [EXT] " Pavan Nikhilesh Bhagavatula
2019-08-16  5:55 ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH 2/7] ethdev: add mbuf RSS update as a offload pbhagavatula
2019-08-16  7:48   ` Andrew Rybchenko
2019-08-17 11:47     ` Pavan Nikhilesh Bhagavatula
2019-08-18  4:52     ` Shahaf Shuler
2019-08-18  5:38       ` Andrew Rybchenko
2019-08-18  6:18         ` Shahaf Shuler
2019-08-18  7:00           ` Andrew Rybchenko
2019-08-18 12:11             ` Shahaf Shuler
2019-08-16  5:55 ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH 3/7] ethdev: add flow action type update as an offload pbhagavatula
2019-08-16  8:05   ` Andrew Rybchenko
2019-08-17 14:23     ` [dpdk-dev] [EXT] " Pavan Nikhilesh Bhagavatula
2019-08-18  9:46       ` Andrew Rybchenko
2019-08-18  4:59     ` [dpdk-dev] " Shahaf Shuler
2019-08-18  5:57       ` Andrew Rybchenko
2019-08-18  6:20         ` Shahaf Shuler
2019-08-18  7:08           ` Andrew Rybchenko
2019-08-16  5:55 ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH 4/7] net: update Rx RSS hash offload capabilities pbhagavatula
2019-08-16  7:49   ` Andrew Rybchenko
2019-08-17 12:26     ` Pavan Nikhilesh Bhagavatula [this message]
2019-08-16  5:55 ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH 5/7] net: update Rx flow action " pbhagavatula
2019-08-16  7:50   ` Andrew Rybchenko
2019-08-16  5:55 ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH 6/7] net: add ptype set default functionality pbhagavatula
2019-08-16  8:30   ` Andrew Rybchenko
2019-08-17 17:24     ` Pavan Nikhilesh Bhagavatula
2019-08-16  5:55 ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH 7/7] examples/eventdev_pipeline: add new Rx RSS hash offload pbhagavatula
2019-08-16  6:01   ` Jerin Jacob Kollanukkaran
2019-08-16  6:02 ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH 0/7] ethdev: add new Rx offload flags Jerin Jacob Kollanukkaran

Reply instructions:

You may reply publically to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=CY4PR1801MB1863EB40954CC83B8F5B2D0BDEAE0@CY4PR1801MB1863.namprd18.prod.outlook.com \
    --to=pbhagavatula@marvell.com \
    --cc=ajit.khaparde@broadcom.com \
    --cc=alejandro.lucero@netronome.com \
    --cc=arybchenko@solarflare.com \
    --cc=beilei.xing@intel.com \
    --cc=cloud.wangxiaoyun@huawei.com \
    --cc=dev@dpdk.org \
    --cc=ferruh.yigit@intel.com \
    --cc=haiyangz@microsoft.com \
    --cc=hemant.agrawal@nxp.com \
    --cc=hyonkim@cisco.com \
    --cc=jerinj@marvell.com \
    --cc=jingjing.wu@intel.com \
    --cc=johndale@cisco.com \
    --cc=kirankumark@marvell.com \
    --cc=konstantin.ananyev@intel.com \
    --cc=kys@microsoft.com \
    --cc=matan@mellanox.com \
    --cc=mczekaj@marvell.com \
    --cc=ndabilpuram@marvell.com \
    --cc=qi.z.zhang@intel.com \
    --cc=qiming.yang@intel.com \
    --cc=rahul.lakkireddy@chelsio.com \
    --cc=rmody@marvell.com \
    --cc=sachin.saxena@nxp.com \
    --cc=shahafs@mellanox.com \
    --cc=shshaikh@marvell.com \
    --cc=somnath.kotur@broadcom.com \
    --cc=srinivasan@marvell.com \
    --cc=sthemmin@microsoft.com \
    --cc=sthotton@marvell.com \
    --cc=viacheslavo@mellanox.com \
    --cc=wenzhuo.lu@intel.com \
    --cc=xiao.w.wang@intel.com \
    --cc=xuanziyang2@huawei.com \
    --cc=yongwang@vmware.com \
    --cc=yskoh@mellanox.com \
    --cc=zhouguoyang@huawei.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

DPDK-dev Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/dpdk-dev/0 dpdk-dev/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 dpdk-dev dpdk-dev/ https://lore.kernel.org/dpdk-dev \
		dev@dpdk.org dpdk-dev@archiver.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index dpdk-dev


Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.dpdk.dev


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/ public-inbox