DPDK-dev Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Hemant Agrawal <hemant.agrawal@nxp.com>
To: David Marchand <david.marchand@redhat.com>,
	Steve Capper <Steve.Capper@arm.com>,
	Honnappa Nagarahalli <Honnappa.Nagarahalli@arm.com>
Cc: Thomas Monjalon <thomas@monjalon.net>,
	Gagandeep Singh <G.Singh@nxp.com>,  dev <dev@dpdk.org>,
	"Burakov, Anatoly" <anatoly.burakov@intel.com>,
	Olivier Matz <olivier.matz@6wind.com>,
	Andrew Rybchenko <arybchenko@solarflare.com>,
	Nipun Gupta <nipun.gupta@nxp.com>,
	Jerin Jacob Kollanukkaran <jerinj@marvell.com>,
	Gavin Hu <gavin.hu@arm.com>,
	Bruce Richardson <bruce.richardson@intel.com>
Subject: Re: [dpdk-dev] [PATCH] eal: change max hugepage sizes to 4
Date: Thu, 8 Aug 2019 10:37:20 +0000
Message-ID: <VI1PR0401MB25416AD055B5CA2CA8B4A65689D70@VI1PR0401MB2541.eurprd04.prod.outlook.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CAJFAV8zQmeJf8kCJzo7d0eOsY5nzE4vibAGCOiBTGR8hWFDX-Q@mail.gmail.com>

Hi David,

> > VPP usages in-memory option. So, VPP on ARM with kernel 5.2 wont' work
> without this patch.
> >
> 
> I have been looking at the changes in the linux kernel.
> Can you pinpoint at the commit that changed this in 5.2?
> 
> I can see a change in the code, but in 5.0, or maybe something changed in the
> configuration.

[Hemant] I am not aware of exact patch, which changed the behavior. May be Honnappa/Steve can help here.

Regards,
Hemant

> 
> The patch you propose is not that risky (x86 supports two pagesizes, and max
> hugepage is already at 3, so we know the code works fine with less than the
> max).
> Yet, I want to understand why this is urgent now.
> 
> CCing other architecture maintainers.
> 
> 
> --
> David Marchand

  parent reply index

Thread overview: 24+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-08-07 10:12 Gagandeep Singh
2019-08-07 12:00 ` David Marchand
2019-08-07 12:07   ` Thomas Monjalon
2019-08-07 13:28     ` Hemant Agrawal
2019-08-08  7:31       ` Thomas Monjalon
2019-08-12  9:43         ` Burakov, Anatoly
2019-08-12  9:49           ` David Marchand
2019-08-12 10:01             ` Thomas Monjalon
2019-08-12 10:38             ` Burakov, Anatoly
2019-08-08  7:33       ` David Marchand
2019-08-08  9:00         ` [dpdk-dev] [EXT] " Jerin Jacob Kollanukkaran
2019-08-08 10:37         ` Hemant Agrawal [this message]
2019-08-08 12:29           ` [dpdk-dev] " Steve Capper
2019-08-08 12:39             ` David Marchand
2019-08-12  9:42       ` Burakov, Anatoly
2019-08-07 15:27 ` Stephen Hemminger
2019-08-08 12:13 ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH v2] eal: change max hugepage sizes to 4 for ARM platforms Gagandeep Singh
2019-08-08 12:37   ` [dpdk-dev] [dpdk-stable] " David Marchand
2019-08-08 15:26     ` Thomas Monjalon
2019-08-07 12:47 [dpdk-dev] [PATCH] eal: change max hugepage sizes to 4 Gagandeep Singh
2019-08-07 12:53 Gagandeep Singh
2019-08-07 14:09 ` Honnappa Nagarahalli
2019-08-08  9:00 Gagandeep Singh
2019-08-08  9:22 ` David Marchand

Reply instructions:

You may reply publically to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=VI1PR0401MB25416AD055B5CA2CA8B4A65689D70@VI1PR0401MB2541.eurprd04.prod.outlook.com \
    --to=hemant.agrawal@nxp.com \
    --cc=G.Singh@nxp.com \
    --cc=Honnappa.Nagarahalli@arm.com \
    --cc=Steve.Capper@arm.com \
    --cc=anatoly.burakov@intel.com \
    --cc=arybchenko@solarflare.com \
    --cc=bruce.richardson@intel.com \
    --cc=david.marchand@redhat.com \
    --cc=dev@dpdk.org \
    --cc=gavin.hu@arm.com \
    --cc=jerinj@marvell.com \
    --cc=nipun.gupta@nxp.com \
    --cc=olivier.matz@6wind.com \
    --cc=thomas@monjalon.net \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

DPDK-dev Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/dpdk-dev/0 dpdk-dev/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 dpdk-dev dpdk-dev/ https://lore.kernel.org/dpdk-dev \
		dev@dpdk.org
	public-inbox-index dpdk-dev

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.dpdk.dev


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git