intel-gfx.lists.freedesktop.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@nvidia.com>
To: Alex Williamson <alex.williamson@redhat.com>
Cc: David Airlie <airlied@linux.ie>,
	Tony Krowiak <akrowiak@linux.ibm.com>,
	Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@de.ibm.com>,
	Cornelia Huck <cohuck@redhat.com>,
	Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>, Daniel Vetter <daniel@ffwll.ch>,
	Diana Craciun <diana.craciun@oss.nxp.com>,
	dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org,
	Eric Auger <eric.auger@redhat.com>,
	Eric Farman <farman@linux.ibm.com>,
	Harald Freudenberger <freude@linux.ibm.com>,
	Vasily Gorbik <gor@linux.ibm.com>,
	Heiko Carstens <hca@linux.ibm.com>,
	intel-gfx@lists.freedesktop.org,
	intel-gvt-dev@lists.freedesktop.org,
	Jani Nikula <jani.nikula@linux.intel.com>,
	Jason Herne <jjherne@linux.ibm.com>,
	Joonas Lahtinen <joonas.lahtinen@linux.intel.com>,
	kvm@vger.kernel.org, Kirti Wankhede <kwankhede@nvidia.com>,
	linux-doc@vger.kernel.org, linux-s390@vger.kernel.org,
	Matthew Rosato <mjrosato@linux.ibm.com>,
	Peter Oberparleiter <oberpar@linux.ibm.com>,
	Halil Pasic <pasic@linux.ibm.com>,
	Rodrigo Vivi <rodrigo.vivi@intel.com>,
	Vineeth Vijayan <vneethv@linux.ibm.com>,
	Zhi Wang <zhi.a.wang@intel.com>,
	"Raj, Ashok" <ashok.raj@intel.com>,
	Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de>,
	Leon Romanovsky <leonro@nvidia.com>,
	Max Gurtovoy <mgurtovoy@nvidia.com>,
	Yishai Hadas <yishaih@nvidia.com>,
	Zhenyu Wang <zhenyuw@linux.intel.com>
Subject: Re: [Intel-gfx] [PATCH v3 09/14] vfio/pci: Change vfio_pci_try_bus_reset() to use the dev_set
Date: Thu, 5 Aug 2021 20:05:20 -0300	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20210805230520.GO1721383@nvidia.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20210805113311.65a16bba.alex.williamson@redhat.com>

On Thu, Aug 05, 2021 at 11:33:11AM -0600, Alex Williamson wrote:
> > +static int vfio_pci_is_device_in_set(struct pci_dev *pdev, void *data)
> > +{
> > +	struct vfio_device_set *dev_set = data;
> > +	struct vfio_device *cur;
> > +
> > +	lockdep_assert_held(&dev_set->lock);
> > +
> > +	list_for_each_entry(cur, &dev_set->device_list, dev_set_list)
> > +		if (cur->dev == &pdev->dev)
> > +			return 0;
> > +	return -EBUSY;
> > +}
> > +
> > +static bool vfio_pci_dev_set_needs_reset(struct vfio_device_set *dev_set)
> 
> Slight nit on the name here since we're essentially combining
> needs_reset along with the notion of the device being unused.  I'm not
> sure, maybe "should_reset"?  Otherwise it looks ok.  Thanks,

What I did is add a new function vfio_pci_dev_set_resettable() which
pulls in three parts of logic that can be be shared with the
VFIO_DEVICE_PCI_HOT_RESET change in the next patch. That leaves this
function as purely needs_reset.

In turn the VFIO_DEVICE_PCI_HOT_RESET patch gets the same treatment
where it becomes a dev_set centric API just like this.

I'll send it as a v4.

Thanks,
Jason

  reply	other threads:[~2021-08-05 23:05 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 29+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-07-29  0:49 [Intel-gfx] [PATCH v3 00/14] Provide core infrastructure for managing open/release Jason Gunthorpe
2021-07-29  0:49 ` [Intel-gfx] [PATCH v3 01/14] vfio/samples: Remove module get/put Jason Gunthorpe
2021-07-29  0:49 ` [Intel-gfx] [PATCH v3 02/14] vfio/mbochs: Fix missing error unwind of mbochs_used_mbytes Jason Gunthorpe
2021-07-29  7:21   ` Christoph Hellwig
2021-07-29  0:49 ` [Intel-gfx] [PATCH v3 03/14] vfio: Introduce a vfio_uninit_group_dev() API call Jason Gunthorpe
2021-07-29  0:49 ` [Intel-gfx] [PATCH v3 04/14] vfio: Provide better generic support for open/release vfio_device_ops Jason Gunthorpe
2021-07-29  7:26   ` Christoph Hellwig
2021-07-29  0:49 ` [Intel-gfx] [PATCH v3 05/14] vfio/samples: Delete useless open/close Jason Gunthorpe
2021-07-29  0:49 ` [Intel-gfx] [PATCH v3 06/14] vfio/fsl: Move to the device set infrastructure Jason Gunthorpe
2021-07-29  0:49 ` [Intel-gfx] [PATCH v3 07/14] vfio/platform: Use open_device() instead of open coding a refcnt scheme Jason Gunthorpe
2021-08-05 12:37   ` Eric Auger
2021-07-29  0:49 ` [Intel-gfx] [PATCH v3 08/14] vfio/pci: Move to the device set infrastructure Jason Gunthorpe
2021-07-29  0:49 ` [Intel-gfx] [PATCH v3 09/14] vfio/pci: Change vfio_pci_try_bus_reset() to use the dev_set Jason Gunthorpe
2021-07-29  7:30   ` Christoph Hellwig
2021-08-03 16:34   ` Alex Williamson
2021-08-03 16:41     ` Jason Gunthorpe
2021-08-03 16:52       ` Alex Williamson
2021-08-05 11:47         ` Jason Gunthorpe
2021-08-05 17:33           ` Alex Williamson
2021-08-05 23:05             ` Jason Gunthorpe [this message]
2021-07-29  0:49 ` [Intel-gfx] [PATCH v3 10/14] vfio/pci: Reorganize VFIO_DEVICE_PCI_HOT_RESET to use the device set Jason Gunthorpe
2021-07-29  0:49 ` [Intel-gfx] [PATCH v3 11/14] vfio/mbochs: Fix close when multiple device FDs are open Jason Gunthorpe
2021-07-29  0:49 ` [Intel-gfx] [PATCH v3 12/14] vfio/ap, ccw: Fix open/close " Jason Gunthorpe
2021-07-29  0:49 ` [Intel-gfx] [PATCH v3 13/14] vfio/gvt: " Jason Gunthorpe
2021-07-29  0:49 ` [Intel-gfx] [PATCH v3 14/14] vfio: Remove struct vfio_device_ops open/release Jason Gunthorpe
2021-07-29  2:13 ` [Intel-gfx] ✗ Fi.CI.CHECKPATCH: warning for Provide core infrastructure for managing open/release (rev7) Patchwork
2021-07-29  2:37 ` [Intel-gfx] ✓ Fi.CI.BAT: success " Patchwork
2021-07-29  8:16 ` [Intel-gfx] ✓ Fi.CI.IGT: " Patchwork
2021-08-05 14:26 ` [Intel-gfx] ✗ Fi.CI.BUILD: failure for Provide core infrastructure for managing open/release (rev8) Patchwork

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20210805230520.GO1721383@nvidia.com \
    --to=jgg@nvidia.com \
    --cc=airlied@linux.ie \
    --cc=akrowiak@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=alex.williamson@redhat.com \
    --cc=ashok.raj@intel.com \
    --cc=borntraeger@de.ibm.com \
    --cc=cohuck@redhat.com \
    --cc=corbet@lwn.net \
    --cc=daniel@ffwll.ch \
    --cc=diana.craciun@oss.nxp.com \
    --cc=dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=eric.auger@redhat.com \
    --cc=farman@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=freude@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=gor@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=hca@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=hch@lst.de \
    --cc=intel-gfx@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=intel-gvt-dev@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=jani.nikula@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=jjherne@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=joonas.lahtinen@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=kvm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=kwankhede@nvidia.com \
    --cc=leonro@nvidia.com \
    --cc=linux-doc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-s390@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mgurtovoy@nvidia.com \
    --cc=mjrosato@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=oberpar@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=pasic@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=rodrigo.vivi@intel.com \
    --cc=vneethv@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=yishaih@nvidia.com \
    --cc=zhenyuw@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=zhi.a.wang@intel.com \
    --subject='Re: [Intel-gfx] [PATCH v3 09/14] vfio/pci: Change vfio_pci_try_bus_reset() to use the dev_set' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).