Linux-ARM-Kernel Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Dariusz Marcinkiewicz <darekm@google.com>
To: dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org, linux-media@vger.kernel.org,
	 hverkuil-cisco@xs4all.nl
Cc: "Kate Stewart" <kstewart@linuxfoundation.org>,
	"Neil Armstrong" <narmstrong@baylibre.com>,
	"Daniel Vetter" <daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch>,
	"Imre Deak" <imre.deak@intel.com>,
	"Chris Wilson" <chris@chris-wilson.co.uk>,
	"Hans Verkuil" <hverkuil@xs4all.nl>,
	"Andrzej Hajda" <a.hajda@samsung.com>,
	"Dhinakaran Pandiyan" <dhinakaran.pandiyan@intel.com>,
	"Sam Ravnborg" <sam@ravnborg.org>,
	"Ville Syrjälä" <ville.syrjala@linux.intel.com>,
	linux-samsung-soc@vger.kernel.org,
	"David Francis" <David.Francis@amd.com>,
	amd-gfx@lists.freedesktop.org, "Leo Li" <sunpeng.li@amd.com>,
	"Jerry (Fangzhi) Zuo" <Jerry.Zuo@amd.com>,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org,
	nouveau@lists.freedesktop.org,
	"Harry Wentland" <harry.wentland@amd.com>,
	"Shashank Sharma" <shashank.sharma@intel.com>,
	"Lyude Paul" <lyude@redhat.com>,
	"Jonas Karlman" <jonas@kwiboo.se>,
	"Jani Nikula" <jani.nikula@intel.com>,
	intel-gfx@lists.freedesktop.org,
	"Maarten Lankhorst" <maarten.lankhorst@linux.intel.com>,
	"Ramalingam C" <ramalingam.c@intel.com>,
	"Russell King" <rmk+kernel@armlinux.org.uk>,
	"Sean Paul" <seanpaul@chromium.org>,
	"Rodrigo Vivi" <rodrigo.vivi@intel.com>,
	linux-tegra@vger.kernel.org,
	"Thomas Gleixner" <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	"Allison Randal" <allison@lohutok.net>,
	"Thomas Lim" <Thomas.Lim@amd.com>,
	"Jernej Skrabec" <jernej.skrabec@siol.net>,
	"Greg Kroah-Hartman" <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	"Douglas Anderson" <dianders@chromium.org>,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	"Manasi Navare" <manasi.d.navare@intel.com>,
	"Alex Deucher" <alexander.deucher@amd.com>,
	"Colin Ian King" <colin.king@canonical.com>,
	"Dariusz Marcinkiewicz" <darekm@google.com>,
	"Enrico Weigelt" <info@metux.net>,
	"Laurent Pinchart" <Laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com>
Subject: [PATCH v7 0/9] drm: cec: convert DRM drivers to the new notifier API
Date: Wed, 14 Aug 2019 12:44:58 +0200
Message-ID: <20190814104520.6001-1-darekm@google.com> (raw)

This series updates DRM drivers to use new CEC notifier API.

Changes since v6:
	Made CEC notifiers' registration and de-registration symmetric
	in tda998x and dw-hdmi drivers. Also, accidentally dropped one
	patch in v6 (change to drm_dp_cec), brought it back now.
Changes since v5:
        Fixed a warning about a missing comment for a new member of
	drm_dp_aux_cec struct. Sending to a wider audience,
	including maintainers of respective drivers.
Changes since v4:
	Addressing review comments.
Changes since v3:
        Updated adapter flags in dw-hdmi-cec.
Changes since v2:
	Include all DRM patches from "cec: improve notifier support,
	add connector info connector info" series.
Changes since v1:
	Those patches delay creation of notifiers until respective
	connectors are constructed. It seems that those patches, for a
	couple of drivers, by adding the delay, introduce a race between
	notifiers' creation and the IRQs handling threads - at least I
	don't see anything obvious in there that would explicitly forbid
	such races to occur. v2 adds a write barrier to make sure IRQ
	threads see the notifier once it is created (replacing the
	WRITE_ONCE I put in v1). The best thing to do here, I believe,
	would be not to have any synchronization and make sure that an IRQ
	only gets enabled after the notifier is created.
Dariusz Marcinkiewicz (9):
  drm_dp_cec: add connector info support.
  drm/i915/intel_hdmi: use cec_notifier_conn_(un)register
  dw-hdmi-cec: use cec_notifier_cec_adap_(un)register
  tda9950: use cec_notifier_cec_adap_(un)register
  drm: tda998x: use cec_notifier_conn_(un)register
  drm: sti: use cec_notifier_conn_(un)register
  drm: tegra: use cec_notifier_conn_(un)register
  drm: dw-hdmi: use cec_notifier_conn_(un)register
  drm: exynos: exynos_hdmi: use cec_notifier_conn_(un)register

 .../display/amdgpu_dm/amdgpu_dm_mst_types.c   |  2 +-
 drivers/gpu/drm/bridge/synopsys/dw-hdmi-cec.c | 13 +++---
 drivers/gpu/drm/bridge/synopsys/dw-hdmi.c     | 46 +++++++++++++------
 drivers/gpu/drm/drm_dp_cec.c                  | 25 ++++++----
 drivers/gpu/drm/exynos/exynos_hdmi.c          | 31 +++++++------
 drivers/gpu/drm/i2c/tda9950.c                 | 12 ++---
 drivers/gpu/drm/i2c/tda998x_drv.c             | 36 ++++++++++-----
 drivers/gpu/drm/i915/display/intel_dp.c       |  4 +-
 drivers/gpu/drm/i915/display/intel_hdmi.c     | 13 ++++--
 drivers/gpu/drm/nouveau/nouveau_connector.c   |  3 +-
 drivers/gpu/drm/sti/sti_hdmi.c                | 19 +++++---
 drivers/gpu/drm/tegra/output.c                | 28 ++++++++---
 include/drm/drm_dp_helper.h                   | 17 ++++---
 13 files changed, 155 insertions(+), 94 deletions(-)

-- 
2.23.0.rc1.153.gdeed80330f-goog


_______________________________________________
linux-arm-kernel mailing list
linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org
http://lists.infradead.org/mailman/listinfo/linux-arm-kernel

             reply index

Thread overview: 11+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-08-14 10:44 Dariusz Marcinkiewicz [this message]
2019-08-14 10:45 ` [PATCH v7 9/9] drm: exynos: exynos_hdmi: use cec_notifier_conn_(un)register Dariusz Marcinkiewicz
2019-08-19  9:32   ` Hans Verkuil
2019-08-28  8:39   ` Sylwester Nawrocki
2019-08-28 12:34     ` [PATCH v7.1 " Dariusz Marcinkiewicz
2019-08-28 12:38     ` [PATCH v7 " Dariusz Marcinkiewicz
2019-08-19  9:38 ` [PATCH v7 0/9] drm: cec: convert DRM drivers to the new notifier API Hans Verkuil
2019-08-19 11:28   ` Dariusz Marcinkiewicz
2019-08-19 12:00     ` Hans Verkuil
2019-08-19 14:48   ` Neil Armstrong
2019-08-19 14:55     ` Hans Verkuil

Reply instructions:

You may reply publically to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20190814104520.6001-1-darekm@google.com \
    --to=darekm@google.com \
    --cc=David.Francis@amd.com \
    --cc=Jerry.Zuo@amd.com \
    --cc=Laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com \
    --cc=Thomas.Lim@amd.com \
    --cc=a.hajda@samsung.com \
    --cc=alexander.deucher@amd.com \
    --cc=allison@lohutok.net \
    --cc=amd-gfx@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=chris@chris-wilson.co.uk \
    --cc=colin.king@canonical.com \
    --cc=daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch \
    --cc=dhinakaran.pandiyan@intel.com \
    --cc=dianders@chromium.org \
    --cc=dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=harry.wentland@amd.com \
    --cc=hverkuil-cisco@xs4all.nl \
    --cc=hverkuil@xs4all.nl \
    --cc=imre.deak@intel.com \
    --cc=info@metux.net \
    --cc=intel-gfx@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=jani.nikula@intel.com \
    --cc=jernej.skrabec@siol.net \
    --cc=jonas@kwiboo.se \
    --cc=kstewart@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-media@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-samsung-soc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-tegra@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=lyude@redhat.com \
    --cc=maarten.lankhorst@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=manasi.d.navare@intel.com \
    --cc=narmstrong@baylibre.com \
    --cc=nouveau@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=ramalingam.c@intel.com \
    --cc=rmk+kernel@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=rodrigo.vivi@intel.com \
    --cc=sam@ravnborg.org \
    --cc=seanpaul@chromium.org \
    --cc=shashank.sharma@intel.com \
    --cc=sunpeng.li@amd.com \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=ville.syrjala@linux.intel.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-ARM-Kernel Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-arm-kernel/0 linux-arm-kernel/git/0.git
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-arm-kernel/1 linux-arm-kernel/git/1.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-arm-kernel linux-arm-kernel/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-arm-kernel \
		linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org infradead-linux-arm-kernel@archiver.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-arm-kernel


Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.infradead.lists.linux-arm-kernel


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/ public-inbox