linux-clk.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Stephen Boyd <sboyd@kernel.org>
To: Chunyan Zhang <zhang.lyra@gmail.com>
Cc: Chunyan Zhang <chunyan.zhang@unisoc.com>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	Michael Turquette <mturquette@baylibre.com>,
	Rob Herring <robh+dt@kernel.org>,
	linux-clk <linux-clk@vger.kernel.org>,
	DTML <devicetree@vger.kernel.org>,
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	Orson Zhai <orsonzhai@gmail.com>,
	Baolin Wang <baolin.wang7@gmail.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 5/5] clk: sprd: add clocks support for SC9863A
Date: Sun, 24 Nov 2019 17:33:11 -0800	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20191125013312.ACC2E2071A@mail.kernel.org> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CAAfSe-twxx4PyERHXuYcoehPoNYiVaOS4hZEK0KndoM2sL_5gQ@mail.gmail.com>

Quoting Chunyan Zhang (2019-11-17 03:27:15)
> 
> Not sure if I understand correctly - do you mean that switch to use a
> reference to clk_parent_data.hw in the driver instead?
> like:
> https://elixir.bootlin.com/linux/v5.4-rc7/source/drivers/clk/qcom/gcc-sm8150.c#L136
> 

Yes something like that.

> Since if I have to define many clk_parent_data.fw_name strings
> instead, it seems not able to reduce the code size, right?

Ideally there are some internal only clks that can be linked to their
parent with a single clk_hw pointer. That will hopefully keep the size
down somewhat. And if there are any external clks, they can be described
in DT and then only the .fw_name field can be used and the fallback
field .name can be left assigned to NULL.


  reply	other threads:[~2019-11-25  1:33 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 16+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-10-25 11:13 [PATCH 0/5] Add clocks for Unisoc's SC9863A Chunyan Zhang
2019-10-25 11:13 ` [PATCH 1/5] clk: sprd: add gate for pll clocks Chunyan Zhang
2019-11-13 22:15   ` Stephen Boyd
2019-10-25 11:13 ` [PATCH 2/5] dt-bindings: clk: sprd: rename the common file name sprd.txt to SoC specific Chunyan Zhang
2019-10-29 21:46   ` Rob Herring
2019-10-25 11:13 ` [PATCH 3/5] dt-bindings: clk: sprd: add bindings for sc9863a clock controller Chunyan Zhang
2019-10-29 22:01   ` Rob Herring
2019-10-25 11:13 ` [PATCH 4/5] clk: sprd: Add dt-bindings include file for SC9863A Chunyan Zhang
2019-10-29 22:03   ` Rob Herring
2019-10-25 11:13 ` [PATCH 5/5] clk: sprd: add clocks support " Chunyan Zhang
2019-11-13 22:19   ` Stephen Boyd
2019-11-14  7:13     ` Chunyan Zhang
2019-11-17 11:27     ` Chunyan Zhang
2019-11-25  1:33       ` Stephen Boyd [this message]
2019-11-25  2:10         ` Chunyan Zhang
2019-11-25 16:35           ` Stephen Boyd

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20191125013312.ACC2E2071A@mail.kernel.org \
    --to=sboyd@kernel.org \
    --cc=baolin.wang7@gmail.com \
    --cc=chunyan.zhang@unisoc.com \
    --cc=devicetree@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-clk@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=mturquette@baylibre.com \
    --cc=orsonzhai@gmail.com \
    --cc=robh+dt@kernel.org \
    --cc=zhang.lyra@gmail.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH 5/5] clk: sprd: add clocks support for SC9863A' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).