Linux-WPAN Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Laurent Pinchart <laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com>
To: Mark Salyzyn <salyzyn@android.com>
Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, kernel-team@android.com,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>,
	"Jonathan Corbet" <corbet@lwn.net>,
	"Ard Biesheuvel" <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>,
	"Harry Wentland" <harry.wentland@amd.com>,
	"Leo Li" <sunpeng.li@amd.com>,
	"Alex Deucher" <alexander.deucher@amd.com>,
	"Christian König" <christian.koenig@amd.com>,
	"David (ChunMing) Zhou" <David1.Zhou@amd.com>,
	"David Airlie" <airlied@linux.ie>,
	"Daniel Vetter" <daniel@ffwll.ch>,
	"VMware Graphics" <linux-graphics-maintainer@vmware.com>,
	"Thomas Hellstrom" <thellstrom@vmware.com>,
	"Mauro Carvalho Chehab" <mchehab@kernel.org>,
	"Trond Myklebust" <trond.myklebust@hammerspace.com>,
	"Anna Schumaker" <anna.schumaker@netapp.com>,
	"Alexander Aring" <alex.aring@gmail.com>,
	"Jukka Rissanen" <jukka.rissanen@linux.intel.com>,
	"Alexey Kuznetsov" <kuznet@ms2.inr.ac.ru>,
	"Hideaki YOSHIFUJI" <yoshfuji@linux-ipv6.org>,
	"Jarkko Sakkinen" <jarkko.sakkinen@linux.intel.com>,
	"Ingo Molnar" <mingo@kernel.org>,
	"Matthew Garrett" <matthewgarrett@google.com>,
	"Hans de Goede" <hdegoede@redhat.com>,
	"hersen wu" <hersenxs.wu@amd.com>, "Roman Li" <Roman.Li@amd.com>,
	"Maxim Martynov" <maxim@arista.com>,
	"David Ahern" <dsahern@gmail.com>,
	"Francesco Ruggeri" <fruggeri@arista.com>,
	"Linus Lüssing" <linus.luessing@c0d3.blue>,
	"Greg Kroah-Hartman" <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	"Feng Tang" <feng.tang@intel.com>,
	"Steven Rostedt (VMware)" <rostedt@goodmis.org>,
	"Andrew Morton" <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	"Rafael Aquini" <aquini@redhat.com>,
	netdev@vger.kernel.org, linux-doc@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-efi@vger.kernel.org, amd-gfx@lists.freedesktop.org,
	dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org, linux-media@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-nfs@vger.kernel.org, linux-bluetooth@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-wpan@vger.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH] Cleanup: replace prefered with preferred
Date: Wed, 23 Oct 2019 13:22:07 +0300
Message-ID: <20191023102207.GB4763@pendragon.ideasonboard.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20191022214208.211448-1-salyzyn@android.com>

Hi Mark,

Thank you for the patch.

On Tue, Oct 22, 2019 at 02:41:45PM -0700, Mark Salyzyn wrote:
> Replace all occurrences of prefered with preferred to make future
> checkpatch.pl's happy.  A few places the incorrect spelling is
> matched with the correct spelling to preserve existing user space API.
> 
> Signed-off-by: Mark Salyzyn <salyzyn@android.com>
> ---
>  Documentation/networking/ip-sysctl.txt        |   2 +-
>  .../firmware/efi/libstub/efi-stub-helper.c    |   2 +-
>  .../gpu/drm/amd/display/dc/inc/compressor.h   |   4 +-
>  drivers/gpu/drm/vmwgfx/vmwgfx_kms.c           |   2 +-
>  drivers/gpu/drm/vmwgfx/vmwgfx_kms.h           |   2 +-
>  drivers/media/usb/uvc/uvc_video.c             |   6 +-
>  fs/nfs/nfs4xdr.c                              |   2 +-
>  include/linux/ipv6.h                          |   2 +-
>  include/net/addrconf.h                        |   4 +-
>  include/net/if_inet6.h                        |   2 +-
>  include/net/ndisc.h                           |   8 +-
>  include/uapi/linux/if_addr.h                  |   5 +-
>  include/uapi/linux/ipv6.h                     |   4 +-
>  include/uapi/linux/sysctl.h                   |   4 +-
>  include/uapi/linux/usb/video.h                |   5 +-
>  kernel/sysctl_binary.c                        |   3 +-
>  net/6lowpan/ndisc.c                           |   4 +-
>  net/ipv4/devinet.c                            |  20 ++--
>  net/ipv6/addrconf.c                           | 113 ++++++++++--------
>  19 files changed, 112 insertions(+), 82 deletions(-)

[snip]

> diff --git a/drivers/media/usb/uvc/uvc_video.c b/drivers/media/usb/uvc/uvc_video.c
> index 8fa77a81dd7f..0096e6aacdb4 100644
> --- a/drivers/media/usb/uvc/uvc_video.c
> +++ b/drivers/media/usb/uvc/uvc_video.c
> @@ -276,13 +276,13 @@ static int uvc_get_video_ctrl(struct uvc_streaming *stream,
>  	if (size >= 34) {
>  		ctrl->dwClockFrequency = get_unaligned_le32(&data[26]);
>  		ctrl->bmFramingInfo = data[30];
> -		ctrl->bPreferedVersion = data[31];
> +		ctrl->bPreferredVersion = data[31];
>  		ctrl->bMinVersion = data[32];
>  		ctrl->bMaxVersion = data[33];
>  	} else {
>  		ctrl->dwClockFrequency = stream->dev->clock_frequency;
>  		ctrl->bmFramingInfo = 0;
> -		ctrl->bPreferedVersion = 0;
> +		ctrl->bPreferredVersion = 0;
>  		ctrl->bMinVersion = 0;
>  		ctrl->bMaxVersion = 0;
>  	}
> @@ -325,7 +325,7 @@ static int uvc_set_video_ctrl(struct uvc_streaming *stream,
>  	if (size >= 34) {
>  		put_unaligned_le32(ctrl->dwClockFrequency, &data[26]);
>  		data[30] = ctrl->bmFramingInfo;
> -		data[31] = ctrl->bPreferedVersion;
> +		data[31] = ctrl->bPreferredVersion;
>  		data[32] = ctrl->bMinVersion;
>  		data[33] = ctrl->bMaxVersion;
>  	}

[snip]

> diff --git a/include/uapi/linux/usb/video.h b/include/uapi/linux/usb/video.h
> index d854cb19c42c..59167f0ed5c1 100644
> --- a/include/uapi/linux/usb/video.h
> +++ b/include/uapi/linux/usb/video.h
> @@ -448,7 +448,10 @@ struct uvc_streaming_control {
>  	__u32 dwMaxPayloadTransferSize;
>  	__u32 dwClockFrequency;
>  	__u8  bmFramingInfo;
> -	__u8  bPreferedVersion;
> +	union {
> +		__u8 bPreferredVersion;
> +		__u8 bPreferedVersion __attribute__((deprecated)); /* NOTYPO */
> +	} __attribute__((__packed__));

Quite interestingly this typo is part of the USB device class definition
for video devices (UVC) specification. I thus think we should keep using
the field name bPreferedVersion through the code, otherwise it wouldn't
match the spec.

>  	__u8  bMinVersion;
>  	__u8  bMaxVersion;
>  } __attribute__((__packed__));

[snip]

-- 
Regards,

Laurent Pinchart

       reply index

Thread overview: 6+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
     [not found] <20191022214208.211448-1-salyzyn@android.com>
2019-10-23 10:22 ` Laurent Pinchart [this message]
2019-10-23 11:56 ` Jarkko Sakkinen
2019-10-23 15:40   ` Mark Salyzyn
2019-10-24 12:26     ` Jani Nikula
2019-10-24 17:30     ` Jarkko Sakkinen
2019-10-24 18:47     ` Greg Kroah-Hartman

Reply instructions:

You may reply publically to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20191023102207.GB4763@pendragon.ideasonboard.com \
    --to=laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com \
    --cc=David1.Zhou@amd.com \
    --cc=Roman.Li@amd.com \
    --cc=airlied@linux.ie \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=alex.aring@gmail.com \
    --cc=alexander.deucher@amd.com \
    --cc=amd-gfx@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=anna.schumaker@netapp.com \
    --cc=aquini@redhat.com \
    --cc=ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org \
    --cc=christian.koenig@amd.com \
    --cc=corbet@lwn.net \
    --cc=daniel@ffwll.ch \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=dsahern@gmail.com \
    --cc=feng.tang@intel.com \
    --cc=fruggeri@arista.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=harry.wentland@amd.com \
    --cc=hdegoede@redhat.com \
    --cc=hersenxs.wu@amd.com \
    --cc=jarkko.sakkinen@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=jukka.rissanen@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=kernel-team@android.com \
    --cc=kuznet@ms2.inr.ac.ru \
    --cc=linus.luessing@c0d3.blue \
    --cc=linux-bluetooth@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-doc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-efi@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-graphics-maintainer@vmware.com \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-media@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-nfs@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-wpan@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=matthewgarrett@google.com \
    --cc=maxim@arista.com \
    --cc=mchehab@kernel.org \
    --cc=mingo@kernel.org \
    --cc=netdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=rostedt@goodmis.org \
    --cc=salyzyn@android.com \
    --cc=sunpeng.li@amd.com \
    --cc=thellstrom@vmware.com \
    --cc=trond.myklebust@hammerspace.com \
    --cc=yoshfuji@linux-ipv6.org \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-WPAN Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-wpan/0 linux-wpan/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-wpan linux-wpan/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-wpan \
		linux-wpan@vger.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-wpan

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-wpan


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git