linux-kernel.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Joe Perches <joe@perches.com>
To: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: linux-sctp@vger.kernel.org,
	Miguel Ojeda <miguel.ojeda.sandonis@gmail.com>,
	Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>, Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>,
	"H . Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>, Pavel Machek <pavel@ucw.cz>,
	"Gustavo A . R . Silva" <gustavo@embeddedor.com>,
	Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@kernel.org>,
	Kan Liang <kan.liang@linux.intel.com>,
	Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>, Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>,
	Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>,
	Shawn Landden <shawn@git.icu>,
	the arch/x86 maintainers <x86@kernel.org>,
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	Nathan Chancellor <natechancellor@gmail.com>,
	Nick Desaulniers <ndesaulniers@google.com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	David Miller <davem@davemloft.net>,
	clang-built-linux <clang-built-linux@googlegroups.com>,
	Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>,
	Vlad Yasevich <vyasevich@gmail.com>,
	Neil Horman <nhorman@tuxdriver.com>,
	Marcelo Ricardo Leitner <marcelo.leitner@gmail.com>,
	"open list:DOCUMENTATION" <linux-doc@vger.kernel.org>,
	Netdev <netdev@vger.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 0/4] treewide: Add 'fallthrough' pseudo-keyword
Date: Fri, 11 Oct 2019 19:14:33 -0700	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <01e7fa29d34f210348355c4a507a714e086e7a30.camel@perches.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CAHk-=wi1T1m-su8zK5LeESoz_Pgf1-4hnjr516NiDLNyb4USug@mail.gmail.com>

On Fri, 2019-10-11 at 10:46 -0700, Linus Torvalds wrote:
> On Fri, Oct 11, 2019 at 10:43 AM Joe Perches <joe@perches.com> wrote:
> > Shouldn't a conversion script be public somewhere?
> 
> I feel the ones that might want to do the conversion on their own are
> the ones that don't necessarily trust the script.
> 
> But I don't even know if anybody does want to, I just feel it's an option.

What's the harm in keeping the script in the
tree until it's no longer needed?



  reply	other threads:[~2019-10-12  2:14 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 27+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-10-05 16:46 Joe Perches
2019-10-05 16:46 ` [PATCH 1/4] net: sctp: Rename fallthrough label to unhandled Joe Perches
2019-10-07 18:08   ` Nick Desaulniers
2019-10-10 20:34   ` Kees Cook
2019-10-11 12:20   ` Neil Horman
2019-10-05 16:46 ` [PATCH 2/4] compiler_attributes.h: Add 'fallthrough' pseudo keyword for switch/case use Joe Perches
2019-10-05 17:17   ` Miguel Ojeda
2019-10-07 18:14     ` Nick Desaulniers
2019-10-07 18:28       ` Joe Perches
2019-10-10 20:37     ` Kees Cook
2019-10-11 22:25       ` Miguel Ojeda
2019-10-05 16:46 ` [PATCH 3/4] Documentation/process: Add fallthrough pseudo-keyword Joe Perches
2019-10-05 17:47   ` Miguel Ojeda
2019-10-09 21:51     ` Nick Desaulniers
2019-10-05 16:46 ` [PATCH 4/4] scripts/cvt_style.pl: Tool to reformat sources in various ways Joe Perches
2019-10-05 17:31   ` Miguel Ojeda
2019-10-06  6:35     ` Joe Perches
2019-10-10 20:39       ` Kees Cook
2019-10-10 20:48         ` Joe Perches
2019-10-09 22:37   ` Nick Desaulniers
2019-10-11 16:29 ` [PATCH 0/4] treewide: Add 'fallthrough' pseudo-keyword Linus Torvalds
2019-10-11 17:43   ` Joe Perches
2019-10-11 17:46     ` Linus Torvalds
2019-10-12  2:14       ` Joe Perches [this message]
2019-10-11 18:01   ` Miguel Ojeda
2019-10-11 22:07     ` Kees Cook
2019-10-11 22:26       ` Miguel Ojeda

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=01e7fa29d34f210348355c4a507a714e086e7a30.camel@perches.com \
    --to=joe@perches.com \
    --cc=acme@kernel.org \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=bp@alien8.de \
    --cc=clang-built-linux@googlegroups.com \
    --cc=corbet@lwn.net \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=gustavo@embeddedor.com \
    --cc=hpa@zytor.com \
    --cc=jolsa@redhat.com \
    --cc=kan.liang@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=linux-doc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-sctp@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=marcelo.leitner@gmail.com \
    --cc=miguel.ojeda.sandonis@gmail.com \
    --cc=namhyung@kernel.org \
    --cc=natechancellor@gmail.com \
    --cc=ndesaulniers@google.com \
    --cc=netdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=nhorman@tuxdriver.com \
    --cc=pavel@ucw.cz \
    --cc=shawn@git.icu \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=torvalds@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=vyasevich@gmail.com \
    --cc=x86@kernel.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH 0/4] treewide: Add '\''fallthrough'\'' pseudo-keyword' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).