linux-kernel.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
To: Miguel Ojeda <miguel.ojeda.sandonis@gmail.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>,
	Joe Perches <joe@perches.com>,
	linux-sctp@vger.kernel.org, Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>,
	"H . Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>, Pavel Machek <pavel@ucw.cz>,
	"Gustavo A . R . Silva" <gustavo@embeddedor.com>,
	Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@kernel.org>,
	Kan Liang <kan.liang@linux.intel.com>,
	Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>, Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>,
	Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>,
	Shawn Landden <shawn@git.icu>,
	the arch/x86 maintainers <x86@kernel.org>,
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	Nathan Chancellor <natechancellor@gmail.com>,
	Nick Desaulniers <ndesaulniers@google.com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	David Miller <davem@davemloft.net>,
	clang-built-linux <clang-built-linux@googlegroups.com>,
	Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>,
	Vlad Yasevich <vyasevich@gmail.com>,
	Neil Horman <nhorman@tuxdriver.com>,
	Marcelo Ricardo Leitner <marcelo.leitner@gmail.com>,
	"open list:DOCUMENTATION" <linux-doc@vger.kernel.org>,
	Netdev <netdev@vger.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 0/4] treewide: Add 'fallthrough' pseudo-keyword
Date: Fri, 11 Oct 2019 15:07:58 -0700	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <201910111506.45AE850D5@keescook> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CANiq72kDNT6iPxYYNzY_eb3ddWNUEzgg48pOenEBrJXynxsvoA@mail.gmail.com>

On Fri, Oct 11, 2019 at 08:01:42PM +0200, Miguel Ojeda wrote:
> Hi Linus,
> 
> On Fri, Oct 11, 2019 at 6:30 PM Linus Torvalds
> <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> wrote:
> >
> > On Sat, Oct 5, 2019 at 9:46 AM Joe Perches <joe@perches.com> wrote:
> > >
> > > Add 'fallthrough' pseudo-keyword to enable the removal of comments
> > > like '/* fallthrough */'.
> >
> > I applied patches 1-3 to my tree just to make it easier for people to
> > start doing this. Maybe some people want to do the conversion on their
> > own subsystem rather than with a global script, but even if not, this
> > looks better as a "prepare for the future" series and I feel that if
> > we're doing the "fallthrough" thing eventually, the sooner we do the
> > prepwork the better.
> >
> > I'm a tiny bit worried that the actual conversion is just going to
> > cause lots of pain for the stable people, but I'll not worry about it
> > _too_ much. If the stable people decide that it's too painful for them
> > to deal with the comment vs keyword model, they may want to backport
> > these three patches too.
> 
> I was waiting for a v2 series to pick it up given we had some pending changes...

Hmpf, looks like it's in torvalds/master now. Miguel, most of the changes
were related to the commit log, IIRC, so that ship has sailed. :( Can the
stuff in Documentation/ be improved with a follow-up patch, perhaps?

-- 
Kees Cook

  reply	other threads:[~2019-10-11 22:08 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 27+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-10-05 16:46 Joe Perches
2019-10-05 16:46 ` [PATCH 1/4] net: sctp: Rename fallthrough label to unhandled Joe Perches
2019-10-07 18:08   ` Nick Desaulniers
2019-10-10 20:34   ` Kees Cook
2019-10-11 12:20   ` Neil Horman
2019-10-05 16:46 ` [PATCH 2/4] compiler_attributes.h: Add 'fallthrough' pseudo keyword for switch/case use Joe Perches
2019-10-05 17:17   ` Miguel Ojeda
2019-10-07 18:14     ` Nick Desaulniers
2019-10-07 18:28       ` Joe Perches
2019-10-10 20:37     ` Kees Cook
2019-10-11 22:25       ` Miguel Ojeda
2019-10-05 16:46 ` [PATCH 3/4] Documentation/process: Add fallthrough pseudo-keyword Joe Perches
2019-10-05 17:47   ` Miguel Ojeda
2019-10-09 21:51     ` Nick Desaulniers
2019-10-05 16:46 ` [PATCH 4/4] scripts/cvt_style.pl: Tool to reformat sources in various ways Joe Perches
2019-10-05 17:31   ` Miguel Ojeda
2019-10-06  6:35     ` Joe Perches
2019-10-10 20:39       ` Kees Cook
2019-10-10 20:48         ` Joe Perches
2019-10-09 22:37   ` Nick Desaulniers
2019-10-11 16:29 ` [PATCH 0/4] treewide: Add 'fallthrough' pseudo-keyword Linus Torvalds
2019-10-11 17:43   ` Joe Perches
2019-10-11 17:46     ` Linus Torvalds
2019-10-12  2:14       ` Joe Perches
2019-10-11 18:01   ` Miguel Ojeda
2019-10-11 22:07     ` Kees Cook [this message]
2019-10-11 22:26       ` Miguel Ojeda

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=201910111506.45AE850D5@keescook \
    --to=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=acme@kernel.org \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=bp@alien8.de \
    --cc=clang-built-linux@googlegroups.com \
    --cc=corbet@lwn.net \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=gustavo@embeddedor.com \
    --cc=hpa@zytor.com \
    --cc=joe@perches.com \
    --cc=jolsa@redhat.com \
    --cc=kan.liang@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=linux-doc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-sctp@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=marcelo.leitner@gmail.com \
    --cc=miguel.ojeda.sandonis@gmail.com \
    --cc=namhyung@kernel.org \
    --cc=natechancellor@gmail.com \
    --cc=ndesaulniers@google.com \
    --cc=netdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=nhorman@tuxdriver.com \
    --cc=pavel@ucw.cz \
    --cc=shawn@git.icu \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=torvalds@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=vyasevich@gmail.com \
    --cc=x86@kernel.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH 0/4] treewide: Add '\''fallthrough'\'' pseudo-keyword' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).