linux-kernel.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Giovanni Gherdovich <ggherdovich@suse.cz>
To: "Rafael J . Wysocki" <rjw@rjwysocki.net>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	Mel Gorman <mgorman@techsingularity.net>,
	Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>,
	Viresh Kumar <viresh.kumar@linaro.org>,
	Jon Grimm <Jon.Grimm@amd.com>,
	Nathan Fontenot <Nathan.Fontenot@amd.com>,
	Yazen Ghannam <Yazen.Ghannam@amd.com>,
	Thomas Lendacky <Thomas.Lendacky@amd.com>,
	Suthikulpanit Suravee <Suravee.Suthikulpanit@amd.com>,
	Pu Wen <puwen@hygon.cn>, Juri Lelli <juri.lelli@redhat.com>,
	Vincent Guittot <vincent.guittot@linaro.org>,
	Dietmar Eggemann <dietmar.eggemann@arm.com>,
	Michael Larabel <Michael@phoronix.com>,
	x86@kernel.org, linux-pm@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, linux-acpi@vger.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 1/1] x86,sched: On AMD EPYC set freq_max = max_boost in schedutil invariant formula
Date: Tue, 02 Feb 2021 15:17:05 +0100	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <1612275425.27785.70.camel@suse.cz> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <1611933781.15858.48.camel@suse.cz>

On Fri, 2021-01-29 at 16:23 +0100, Giovanni Gherdovich wrote:
> On Tue, 2021-01-26 at 11:05 +0100, Peter Zijlstra wrote:
> > On Tue, Jan 26, 2021 at 09:31:40AM +0000, Mel Gorman wrote:
> > 
> > > So, should this patch be merged for 5.11 as a stopgap, fix up
> > > schedutil/cpufreq and then test both AMD and Intel chips reporting the
> > > correct max non-turbo and max-turbo frequencies? That would give time to
> > > give some testing in linux-next before merging to reduce the chance
> > > something else falls out.
> > 
> > Yeah, we should probably do this now. Rafael, you want this or should I
> > take it?
> 
> Hello Rafael,
> 
> did you have a chance to check this patch?
> 
> It fixes a performance regression from 5.11-rc1, I hoped it could be included
> before v5.11 is released.

Hello Rafael,

you haven't replied to this patch, which was written aiming at v5.11.

Do you see any problem with it?
Frequency-invariant schedutil needs the driver to advertise a high max_freq to
work properly; the patch addresses this for AMD EPYC.


Thanks,
Giovanni

  parent reply	other threads:[~2021-02-02 14:39 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 26+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-01-22 20:40 [PATCH v2 0/1] AMD EPYC: fix schedutil perf regression (freq-invariance) Giovanni Gherdovich
2021-01-22 20:40 ` [PATCH v2 1/1] x86,sched: On AMD EPYC set freq_max = max_boost in schedutil invariant formula Giovanni Gherdovich
2021-01-25 10:04   ` Peter Zijlstra
2021-01-26  9:28     ` Giovanni Gherdovich
2021-01-26 10:02       ` Peter Zijlstra
2021-02-02 18:45       ` Rafael J. Wysocki
2021-02-02 19:11         ` Rafael J. Wysocki
2021-02-03  9:56           ` Giovanni Gherdovich
2021-02-02 18:40     ` Rafael J. Wysocki
2021-01-25 10:06   ` Peter Zijlstra
2021-01-26  9:09     ` Giovanni Gherdovich
2021-01-26  9:31       ` Mel Gorman
2021-01-26 10:05         ` Peter Zijlstra
     [not found]           ` <1611933781.15858.48.camel@suse.cz>
2021-02-02 14:17             ` Giovanni Gherdovich [this message]
2021-02-02 18:21               ` Peter Zijlstra
2021-02-02 18:29                 ` Rafael J. Wysocki
2021-02-02 19:00                   ` Rafael J. Wysocki
2021-02-02 18:59   ` Rafael J. Wysocki
2021-02-02 19:26     ` Rafael J. Wysocki
2021-02-03  8:39       ` Giovanni Gherdovich
2021-02-03 13:40         ` Rafael J. Wysocki
2021-02-03  9:12     ` Giovanni Gherdovich
2021-02-03  6:04   ` Viresh Kumar
2021-01-24 22:30 ` [PATCH v2 0/1] AMD EPYC: fix schedutil perf regression (freq-invariance) Michael Larabel
2021-01-25  8:34   ` Peter Zijlstra
2021-01-26  9:01     ` Giovanni Gherdovich

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=1612275425.27785.70.camel@suse.cz \
    --to=ggherdovich@suse.cz \
    --cc=Jon.Grimm@amd.com \
    --cc=Michael@phoronix.com \
    --cc=Nathan.Fontenot@amd.com \
    --cc=Suravee.Suthikulpanit@amd.com \
    --cc=Thomas.Lendacky@amd.com \
    --cc=Yazen.Ghannam@amd.com \
    --cc=bp@alien8.de \
    --cc=dietmar.eggemann@arm.com \
    --cc=juri.lelli@redhat.com \
    --cc=linux-acpi@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-pm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mgorman@techsingularity.net \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=puwen@hygon.cn \
    --cc=rjw@rjwysocki.net \
    --cc=vincent.guittot@linaro.org \
    --cc=viresh.kumar@linaro.org \
    --cc=x86@kernel.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v2 1/1] x86,sched: On AMD EPYC set freq_max = max_boost in schedutil invariant formula' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).