linux-kernel.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
To: Michael Larabel <Michael@phoronix.com>
Cc: Giovanni Gherdovich <ggherdovich@suse.cz>,
	Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>,
	"Rafael J . Wysocki" <rjw@rjwysocki.net>,
	Viresh Kumar <viresh.kumar@linaro.org>,
	Jon Grimm <Jon.Grimm@amd.com>,
	Nathan Fontenot <Nathan.Fontenot@amd.com>,
	Yazen Ghannam <Yazen.Ghannam@amd.com>,
	Thomas Lendacky <Thomas.Lendacky@amd.com>,
	Suthikulpanit Suravee <Suravee.Suthikulpanit@amd.com>,
	Mel Gorman <mgorman@techsingularity.net>, Pu Wen <puwen@hygon.cn>,
	Juri Lelli <juri.lelli@redhat.com>,
	Vincent Guittot <vincent.guittot@linaro.org>,
	Dietmar Eggemann <dietmar.eggemann@arm.com>,
	x86@kernel.org, linux-pm@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, linux-acpi@vger.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 0/1] AMD EPYC: fix schedutil perf regression (freq-invariance)
Date: Mon, 25 Jan 2021 09:34:49 +0100	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <YA6CqYcaEhUoyJdH@hirez.programming.kicks-ass.net> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <a5071cb5-6a5b-d2e4-ff06-fa7810b8127c@phoronix.com>

On Sun, Jan 24, 2021 at 04:30:57PM -0600, Michael Larabel wrote:
> From ongoing tests of this patch, it still certainly shows to address most
> of the Linux 5.11 performance regression previously encountered when using
> Schedutil. Additionally, for a number of workloads where not seeing a
> regression from 5.10 to 5.11 Git is still showing even better performance
> with this patch. The power monitoring on the AMD EPYC server is showing
> higher power spikes but the average power consumption rate is roughly
> comparable to that of Linux 5.11 Git, which is higher than 5.10 by just
> about 3%.
> 
> So this patch still seems to be working out well and indeed taking care of
> some wide losses seen otherwise on Linux 5.11 when using Schedutil on AMD
> Zen2/Zen3. Still have some other tests running but so far no unexpected
> results.
> 

Did you do all this writing and forget to add:

Tested-by: Michael Larabel <Michael@phoronix.com>

?

  reply	other threads:[~2021-01-26 20:13 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 26+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-01-22 20:40 Giovanni Gherdovich
2021-01-22 20:40 ` [PATCH v2 1/1] x86,sched: On AMD EPYC set freq_max = max_boost in schedutil invariant formula Giovanni Gherdovich
2021-01-25 10:04   ` Peter Zijlstra
2021-01-26  9:28     ` Giovanni Gherdovich
2021-01-26 10:02       ` Peter Zijlstra
2021-02-02 18:45       ` Rafael J. Wysocki
2021-02-02 19:11         ` Rafael J. Wysocki
2021-02-03  9:56           ` Giovanni Gherdovich
2021-02-02 18:40     ` Rafael J. Wysocki
2021-01-25 10:06   ` Peter Zijlstra
2021-01-26  9:09     ` Giovanni Gherdovich
2021-01-26  9:31       ` Mel Gorman
2021-01-26 10:05         ` Peter Zijlstra
     [not found]           ` <1611933781.15858.48.camel@suse.cz>
2021-02-02 14:17             ` Giovanni Gherdovich
2021-02-02 18:21               ` Peter Zijlstra
2021-02-02 18:29                 ` Rafael J. Wysocki
2021-02-02 19:00                   ` Rafael J. Wysocki
2021-02-02 18:59   ` Rafael J. Wysocki
2021-02-02 19:26     ` Rafael J. Wysocki
2021-02-03  8:39       ` Giovanni Gherdovich
2021-02-03 13:40         ` Rafael J. Wysocki
2021-02-03  9:12     ` Giovanni Gherdovich
2021-02-03  6:04   ` Viresh Kumar
2021-01-24 22:30 ` [PATCH v2 0/1] AMD EPYC: fix schedutil perf regression (freq-invariance) Michael Larabel
2021-01-25  8:34   ` Peter Zijlstra [this message]
2021-01-26  9:01     ` Giovanni Gherdovich

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=YA6CqYcaEhUoyJdH@hirez.programming.kicks-ass.net \
    --to=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=Jon.Grimm@amd.com \
    --cc=Michael@phoronix.com \
    --cc=Nathan.Fontenot@amd.com \
    --cc=Suravee.Suthikulpanit@amd.com \
    --cc=Thomas.Lendacky@amd.com \
    --cc=Yazen.Ghannam@amd.com \
    --cc=bp@alien8.de \
    --cc=dietmar.eggemann@arm.com \
    --cc=ggherdovich@suse.cz \
    --cc=juri.lelli@redhat.com \
    --cc=linux-acpi@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-pm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mgorman@techsingularity.net \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=puwen@hygon.cn \
    --cc=rjw@rjwysocki.net \
    --cc=vincent.guittot@linaro.org \
    --cc=viresh.kumar@linaro.org \
    --cc=x86@kernel.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v2 0/1] AMD EPYC: fix schedutil perf regression (freq-invariance)' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).