linux-kernel.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>
To: thesven73@gmail.com
Cc: svendev@arcx.com, "Lee Jones" <lee.jones@linaro.org>,
	"Rob Herring" <robh+dt@kernel.org>,
	"Mark Rutland" <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	"Andreas Färber" <afaerber@suse.de>,
	"Thierry Reding" <treding@nvidia.com>,
	"David Lechner" <david@lechnology.com>,
	"Noralf Trønnes" <noralf@tronnes.org>,
	"Johan Hovold" <johan@kernel.org>,
	"Michal Simek" <monstr@monstr.eu>,
	michal.vokac@ysoft.com, "Arnd Bergmann" <arnd@arndb.de>,
	"Greg KH" <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	john.garry@huawei.com,
	"Geert Uytterhoeven" <geert+renesas@glider.be>,
	"Robin Murphy" <robin.murphy@arm.com>,
	"Paul Gortmaker" <paul.gortmaker@windriver.com>,
	"Sebastien Bourdelin" <sebastien.bourdelin@savoirfairelinux.com>,
	"Icenowy Zheng" <icenowy@aosc.io>,
	yuanzhichang@hisilicon.com, "Stuart Yoder" <stuyoder@gmail.com>,
	"Maxime Ripard" <maxime.ripard@bootlin.com>,
	bogdan.purcareata@nxp.com,
	"linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	"open list:OPEN FIRMWARE AND FLATTENED DEVICE TREE BINDINGS"
	<devicetree@vger.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH anybus v1 2/4] dt-bindings: anybus-bridge: document devicetree binding.
Date: Fri, 26 Oct 2018 13:28:39 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CACRpkdaprWOr9rpsanLNZUHouWKJDkWAC1si+80zFp423eA3SQ@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20181025135515.8397-1-TheSven73@googlemail.com>

On Thu, Oct 25, 2018 at 3:55 PM <thesven73@gmail.com> wrote:

> >> +               fsl,weim-cs-timing = <0x024400b1 0x00001010 0x20081100
> >> +                               0x00000000 0xa0000240 0x00000000>;
> >
> > Is it just a copy/paste from
> > Documentation/devicetree/bindings/bus/imx-weim.txt
> > leftover?
>
> No. We attach the bridge to the i.MX WEIM bus. Every fdt WEIM child node
> requires a fsl,weim-cs-timing property, which provides the bus timing for
> that particular chip select. It's the weim driver that requires this,
> I'm only following its instructions.
>
> Should I just leave this out in the example? In theory, the bridge can be
> connected to any parallel bus, so fsl,weim-cs-timing is Too Much Information
> for the example?

No it's fine, I understand it now.

Whay you can do is write before the example that this example node
is using the WEIM bindings and reference that binding document.

Yours,
Linus Walleij

  parent reply	other threads:[~2018-10-26 11:28 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 10+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2018-10-25 13:55 thesven73
2018-10-25 15:30 ` David Lechner
2018-10-26 11:28 ` Linus Walleij [this message]
  -- strict thread matches above, loose matches on Subject: below --
2018-10-25 15:46 thesven73
2018-10-26  6:39 ` Lee Jones
2018-10-25 13:35 thesven73
2018-10-24 14:24 [PATCH anybus v1 0/4] Support HMS Profinet Card over Anybus Sven Van Asbroeck
2018-10-24 14:24 ` [PATCH anybus v1 2/4] dt-bindings: anybus-bridge: document devicetree binding Sven Van Asbroeck
2018-10-25  0:06   ` Rob Herring
2018-10-25  5:19   ` Lee Jones
2018-10-25 10:16   ` Linus Walleij

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=CACRpkdaprWOr9rpsanLNZUHouWKJDkWAC1si+80zFp423eA3SQ@mail.gmail.com \
    --to=linus.walleij@linaro.org \
    --cc=afaerber@suse.de \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=bogdan.purcareata@nxp.com \
    --cc=david@lechnology.com \
    --cc=devicetree@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=geert+renesas@glider.be \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=icenowy@aosc.io \
    --cc=johan@kernel.org \
    --cc=john.garry@huawei.com \
    --cc=lee.jones@linaro.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=maxime.ripard@bootlin.com \
    --cc=michal.vokac@ysoft.com \
    --cc=monstr@monstr.eu \
    --cc=noralf@tronnes.org \
    --cc=paul.gortmaker@windriver.com \
    --cc=robh+dt@kernel.org \
    --cc=robin.murphy@arm.com \
    --cc=sebastien.bourdelin@savoirfairelinux.com \
    --cc=stuyoder@gmail.com \
    --cc=svendev@arcx.com \
    --cc=thesven73@gmail.com \
    --cc=treding@nvidia.com \
    --cc=yuanzhichang@hisilicon.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH anybus v1 2/4] dt-bindings: anybus-bridge: document devicetree binding.' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).