netdev.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Andrew Lunn <andrew@lunn.ch>
To: Michael Walle <michael@walle.cc>
Cc: Russell King - ARM Linux admin <linux@armlinux.org.uk>,
	Vladimir Oltean <olteanv@gmail.com>,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>,
	Jakub Kicinski <kuba@kernel.org>,
	Antoine Tenart <atenart@kernel.org>,
	Quentin Schulz <quentin.schulz@bootlin.com>,
	netdev@vger.kernel.org, Heiner Kallweit <hkallweit1@gmail.com>,
	Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@gmail.com>,
	Ioana Ciornei <ioana.ciornei@nxp.com>,
	Maxim Kochetkov <fido_max@inbox.ru>,
	Bjarni Jonasson <bjarni.jonasson@microchip.com>,
	Steen Hegelund <steen.hegelund@microchip.com>,
	UNGLinuxDriver@microchip.com
Subject: Re: [PATCH net-next 1/2] net: phylink: explicitly configure in-band autoneg for PHYs that support it
Date: Sat, 13 Feb 2021 17:59:31 +0100	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <YCgFc0sK1BYtAo4d@lunn.ch> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <db9f5988d7d135b3588bf9f6a5b10b08@walle.cc>

> Thanks, but I'm not sure I understand the difference between "rate
> adaption" and symbol repetition. The SGMII link is always 1.25Gb,
> right? If the media side is 100Mbit it will repeat the symbol 10
> times or 100 times in case of 10Mbit. What is "rate adaption" then?

Hi Michael

Some multiG PHYs fix their host side interface to say 10Gbps,
independent of what the media side is doing. The PHY adapts the 10Gbps
stream it gets from the host down to 10Mbps etc as needed, dropping
frames if its internal buffers overflow.

       Andrew

  reply	other threads:[~2021-02-13 17:00 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 18+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-02-12 17:23 [PATCH net-next 0/2] Let phylink manage in-band AN for the PHY Vladimir Oltean
2021-02-12 17:23 ` [PATCH net-next 1/2] net: phylink: explicitly configure in-band autoneg for PHYs that support it Vladimir Oltean
2021-02-12 22:40   ` Michael Walle
2021-02-13  0:18     ` Russell King - ARM Linux admin
2021-02-13 16:41       ` Michael Walle
2021-02-13 16:59         ` Andrew Lunn [this message]
2021-02-13 17:06         ` Russell King - ARM Linux admin
2021-02-13  0:36     ` Vladimir Oltean
2021-02-13 16:53       ` Michael Walle
2021-02-13 17:09         ` Michael Walle
2021-02-13 18:56           ` Vladimir Oltean
2021-02-13 19:57             ` Michael Walle
2021-02-13 20:12               ` Vladimir Oltean
2021-02-13 20:16               ` Russell King - ARM Linux admin
2021-02-14 10:35   ` Russell King - ARM Linux admin
2021-02-14 11:10     ` Vladimir Oltean
2021-02-14 13:18       ` Russell King - ARM Linux admin
2021-02-12 17:23 ` [PATCH net-next 2/2] net: phy: mscc: configure in-band auto-negotiation for VSC8514 Vladimir Oltean

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=YCgFc0sK1BYtAo4d@lunn.ch \
    --to=andrew@lunn.ch \
    --cc=UNGLinuxDriver@microchip.com \
    --cc=atenart@kernel.org \
    --cc=bjarni.jonasson@microchip.com \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=f.fainelli@gmail.com \
    --cc=fido_max@inbox.ru \
    --cc=hkallweit1@gmail.com \
    --cc=ioana.ciornei@nxp.com \
    --cc=kuba@kernel.org \
    --cc=linux@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=michael@walle.cc \
    --cc=netdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=olteanv@gmail.com \
    --cc=quentin.schulz@bootlin.com \
    --cc=steen.hegelund@microchip.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH net-next 1/2] net: phylink: explicitly configure in-band autoneg for PHYs that support it' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).