All of lore.kernel.org
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Richard Weinberger <richard@nod.at>
To: Ahmad Fatoum <a.fatoum@pengutronix.de>
Cc: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>,
	David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>,
	Jarkko Sakkinen <jarkko@kernel.org>,
	James Bottomley <jejb@linux.ibm.com>,
	Mimi Zohar <zohar@linux.ibm.com>, kernel <kernel@pengutronix.de>,
	James Morris <jmorris@namei.org>,
	"Serge E. Hallyn" <serge@hallyn.com>,
	horia geanta <horia.geanta@nxp.com>,
	aymen sghaier <aymen.sghaier@nxp.com>,
	Herbert Xu <herbert@gondor.apana.org.au>,
	davem <davem@davemloft.net>, Udit Agarwal <udit.agarwal@nxp.com>,
	Eric Biggers <ebiggers@kernel.org>,
	Jan Luebbe <j.luebbe@pengutronix.de>, david <david@sigma-star.at>,
	Franck Lenormand <franck.lenormand@nxp.com>,
	Sumit Garg <sumit.garg@linaro.org>,
	"open list, ASYMMETRIC KEYS" <keyrings@vger.kernel.org>,
	Linux Crypto Mailing List <linux-crypto@vger.kernel.org>,
	Linux Doc Mailing List <linux-doc@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-integrity <linux-integrity@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-kernel <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	LSM <linux-security-module@vger.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 6/6] KEYS: trusted: Introduce support for NXP CAAM-based trusted keys
Date: Fri, 2 Jul 2021 12:53:42 +0200 (CEST)	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <783613027.15909.1625223222889.JavaMail.zimbra@nod.at> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <2f608e5a-5a12-6db1-b9bd-a2cd9e3e3671@pengutronix.de>

Ahmad,

----- Ursprüngliche Mail -----
> Von: "Ahmad Fatoum" <a.fatoum@pengutronix.de>
>> I'm still think that hard coding the key modifier is not wise.
>> As I said[0], there are folks out there that want to provide their own modifier,
>> so it is not only about being binary compatible with other CAAM blob patches in
>> the wild.
> 
> I don't think the characterization as a salt is accurate. AFAIU it's more
> of a namespace, so blobs being loaded are "type-checked" against the modifier.

Well, the CAAM programmer's reference manual states that the blob key is a 128 bit modifier
and has two purposes:
1. It can be used as tag to provide separation between blobs to detect accidental replacement of blobs.
2. But it can also be treated as secret to provide additional protection. Because the blob encryption
key derivation includes the key modifier.

While you have case 1 in mind, I care about case 2. :-)
 
>> I'll happily implement that feature after your patches got merged but IMHO we
>> should first agree on an interface.
>> How about allowing another optional parameter to Opt_new and Opt_load
> 
> Sound good to me. pcrlock for TPM trusted keys has the same interface.
> 
> I'd prefer the new option to accept strings, not hex though.

Both is possible. If the string starts with "0x" it needs to be decoded to a
128 bit key. Otherwise it has to be a up to 16 byte string.

Thanks,
//richard

  reply	other threads:[~2021-07-02 10:53 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 18+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-06-22 12:37 [PATCH v2 0/6] " Ahmad Fatoum
2021-06-22 12:37 ` [PATCH v2 1/6] KEYS: trusted: allow use of TEE as backend without TCG_TPM support Ahmad Fatoum
2021-07-19  8:04   ` Sumit Garg
2021-07-19  9:09     ` Ahmad Fatoum
2021-06-22 12:37 ` [PATCH v2 3/6] KEYS: trusted: allow users to use kernel RNG for key material Ahmad Fatoum
2021-06-22 12:37 ` [PATCH v2 4/6] KEYS: trusted: allow trust sources " Ahmad Fatoum
2021-06-22 12:37 ` [PATCH v2 5/6] crypto: caam - add in-kernel interface for blob generator Ahmad Fatoum
2021-07-02  8:03   ` Ahmad Fatoum
2021-06-22 12:37 ` [PATCH v2 6/6] KEYS: trusted: Introduce support for NXP CAAM-based trusted keys Ahmad Fatoum
2021-07-01 20:42   ` Richard Weinberger
2021-07-02  8:00     ` Ahmad Fatoum
2021-07-02 10:53       ` Richard Weinberger [this message]
2021-07-02 12:33         ` Ahmad Fatoum
2021-07-20 19:19           ` Richard Weinberger
2021-07-20 20:24             ` Mimi Zohar
2021-07-20 20:37               ` Richard Weinberger
2021-07-21 17:02             ` Ahmad Fatoum
2021-07-14  6:36 ` [PATCH v2 0/6] " Ahmad Fatoum

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=783613027.15909.1625223222889.JavaMail.zimbra@nod.at \
    --to=richard@nod.at \
    --cc=a.fatoum@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=aymen.sghaier@nxp.com \
    --cc=corbet@lwn.net \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=david@sigma-star.at \
    --cc=dhowells@redhat.com \
    --cc=ebiggers@kernel.org \
    --cc=franck.lenormand@nxp.com \
    --cc=herbert@gondor.apana.org.au \
    --cc=horia.geanta@nxp.com \
    --cc=j.luebbe@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=jarkko@kernel.org \
    --cc=jejb@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=jmorris@namei.org \
    --cc=kernel@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=keyrings@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-crypto@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-doc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-integrity@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-security-module@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=serge@hallyn.com \
    --cc=sumit.garg@linaro.org \
    --cc=udit.agarwal@nxp.com \
    --cc=zohar@linux.ibm.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v2 6/6] KEYS: trusted: Introduce support for NXP CAAM-based trusted keys' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is an external index of several public inboxes,
see mirroring instructions on how to clone and mirror
all data and code used by this external index.