All of lore.kernel.org
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Ahmad Fatoum <a.fatoum@pengutronix.de>
To: Richard Weinberger <richard@nod.at>
Cc: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>,
	David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>,
	Jarkko Sakkinen <jarkko@kernel.org>,
	James Bottomley <jejb@linux.ibm.com>,
	Mimi Zohar <zohar@linux.ibm.com>, kernel <kernel@pengutronix.de>,
	James Morris <jmorris@namei.org>,
	"Serge E. Hallyn" <serge@hallyn.com>,
	horia geanta <horia.geanta@nxp.com>,
	aymen sghaier <aymen.sghaier@nxp.com>,
	Herbert Xu <herbert@gondor.apana.org.au>,
	davem <davem@davemloft.net>, Udit Agarwal <udit.agarwal@nxp.com>,
	Eric Biggers <ebiggers@kernel.org>,
	Jan Luebbe <j.luebbe@pengutronix.de>, david <david@sigma-star.at>,
	Franck Lenormand <franck.lenormand@nxp.com>,
	Sumit Garg <sumit.garg@linaro.org>,
	"open list, ASYMMETRIC KEYS" <keyrings@vger.kernel.org>,
	Linux Crypto Mailing List <linux-crypto@vger.kernel.org>,
	Linux Doc Mailing List <linux-doc@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-integrity <linux-integrity@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-kernel <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	LSM <linux-security-module@vger.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 6/6] KEYS: trusted: Introduce support for NXP CAAM-based trusted keys
Date: Fri, 2 Jul 2021 14:33:52 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <ac8ef66f-4d57-ead0-d1b3-e97220463241@pengutronix.de> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <783613027.15909.1625223222889.JavaMail.zimbra@nod.at>

On 02.07.21 12:53, Richard Weinberger wrote:
> Ahmad,
> 
> ----- Ursprüngliche Mail -----
>> Von: "Ahmad Fatoum" <a.fatoum@pengutronix.de>
>>> I'm still think that hard coding the key modifier is not wise.
>>> As I said[0], there are folks out there that want to provide their own modifier,
>>> so it is not only about being binary compatible with other CAAM blob patches in
>>> the wild.
>>
>> I don't think the characterization as a salt is accurate. AFAIU it's more
>> of a namespace, so blobs being loaded are "type-checked" against the modifier.
> 
> Well, the CAAM programmer's reference manual states that the blob key is a 128 bit modifier
> and has two purposes:
> 1. It can be used as tag to provide separation between blobs to detect accidental replacement of blobs.
> 2. But it can also be treated as secret to provide additional protection. Because the blob encryption
> key derivation includes the key modifier.
> 
> While you have case 1 in mind, I care about case 2. :-)

Ah, using the key modifier as a passphrase didn't occur to me.

>>> I'll happily implement that feature after your patches got merged but IMHO we
>>> should first agree on an interface.
>>> How about allowing another optional parameter to Opt_new and Opt_load
>>
>> Sound good to me. pcrlock for TPM trusted keys has the same interface.
>>
>> I'd prefer the new option to accept strings, not hex though.
> 
> Both is possible. If the string starts with "0x" it needs to be decoded to a
> 128 bit key. Otherwise it has to be a up to 16 byte string.

Fine by me. Looking forward to your patches. :-)


Cheers,
Ahmad

> 
> Thanks,
> //richard
> 

-- 
Pengutronix e.K.                           |                             |
Steuerwalder Str. 21                       | http://www.pengutronix.de/  |
31137 Hildesheim, Germany                  | Phone: +49-5121-206917-0    |
Amtsgericht Hildesheim, HRA 2686           | Fax:   +49-5121-206917-5555 |

  reply	other threads:[~2021-07-02 12:34 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 18+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-06-22 12:37 [PATCH v2 0/6] " Ahmad Fatoum
2021-06-22 12:37 ` [PATCH v2 1/6] KEYS: trusted: allow use of TEE as backend without TCG_TPM support Ahmad Fatoum
2021-07-19  8:04   ` Sumit Garg
2021-07-19  9:09     ` Ahmad Fatoum
2021-06-22 12:37 ` [PATCH v2 3/6] KEYS: trusted: allow users to use kernel RNG for key material Ahmad Fatoum
2021-06-22 12:37 ` [PATCH v2 4/6] KEYS: trusted: allow trust sources " Ahmad Fatoum
2021-06-22 12:37 ` [PATCH v2 5/6] crypto: caam - add in-kernel interface for blob generator Ahmad Fatoum
2021-07-02  8:03   ` Ahmad Fatoum
2021-06-22 12:37 ` [PATCH v2 6/6] KEYS: trusted: Introduce support for NXP CAAM-based trusted keys Ahmad Fatoum
2021-07-01 20:42   ` Richard Weinberger
2021-07-02  8:00     ` Ahmad Fatoum
2021-07-02 10:53       ` Richard Weinberger
2021-07-02 12:33         ` Ahmad Fatoum [this message]
2021-07-20 19:19           ` Richard Weinberger
2021-07-20 20:24             ` Mimi Zohar
2021-07-20 20:37               ` Richard Weinberger
2021-07-21 17:02             ` Ahmad Fatoum
2021-07-14  6:36 ` [PATCH v2 0/6] " Ahmad Fatoum

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=ac8ef66f-4d57-ead0-d1b3-e97220463241@pengutronix.de \
    --to=a.fatoum@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=aymen.sghaier@nxp.com \
    --cc=corbet@lwn.net \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=david@sigma-star.at \
    --cc=dhowells@redhat.com \
    --cc=ebiggers@kernel.org \
    --cc=franck.lenormand@nxp.com \
    --cc=herbert@gondor.apana.org.au \
    --cc=horia.geanta@nxp.com \
    --cc=j.luebbe@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=jarkko@kernel.org \
    --cc=jejb@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=jmorris@namei.org \
    --cc=kernel@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=keyrings@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-crypto@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-doc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-integrity@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-security-module@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=richard@nod.at \
    --cc=serge@hallyn.com \
    --cc=sumit.garg@linaro.org \
    --cc=udit.agarwal@nxp.com \
    --cc=zohar@linux.ibm.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v2 6/6] KEYS: trusted: Introduce support for NXP CAAM-based trusted keys' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is an external index of several public inboxes,
see mirroring instructions on how to clone and mirror
all data and code used by this external index.