Kernel-hardening archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
To: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>,
	Allen Pais <allen.lkml@gmail.com>,
	Oscar Carter <oscar.carter@gmx.com>,
	Romain Perier <romain.perier@gmail.com>,
	Dmitry Torokhov <dmitry.torokhov@gmail.com>,
	Kevin Curtis <kevin.curtis@farsite.co.uk>,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>,
	Jakub Kicinski <kuba@kernel.org>,
	Harald Freudenberger <freude@linux.ibm.com>,
	Heiko Carstens <hca@linux.ibm.com>,
	Vasily Gorbik <gor@linux.ibm.com>,
	Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@de.ibm.com>,
	Jiri Slaby <jslaby@suse.com>, Felipe Balbi <balbi@kernel.org>,
	Jason Wessel <jason.wessel@windriver.com>,
	Daniel Thompson <daniel.thompson@linaro.org>,
	Douglas Anderson <dianders@chromium.org>,
	Mitchell Blank Jr <mitch@sfgoth.com>,
	Julian Wiedmann <jwi@linux.ibm.com>,
	Karsten Graul <kgraul@linux.ibm.com>,
	Ursula Braun <ubraun@linux.ibm.com>,
	Jaroslav Kysela <perex@perex.cz>, Takashi Iwai <tiwai@suse.com>,
	Christian Gromm <christian.gromm@microchip.com>,
	Nishka Dasgupta <nishkadg.linux@gmail.com>,
	Masahiro Yamada <masahiroy@kernel.org>,
	Stephen Boyd <swboyd@chromium.org>,
	"Matthew Wilcox \(Oracle\)" <willy@infradead.org>,
	Wambui Karuga <wambui.karugax@gmail.com>,
	Guenter Roeck <linux@roeck-us.net>,
	Chris Packham <chris.packham@alliedtelesis.co.nz>,
	Kyungtae Kim <kt0755@gmail.com>,
	Kuppuswamy Sathyanarayanan
	<sathyanarayanan.kuppuswamy@linux.intel.com>,
	Sebastian Andrzej Siewior <bigeasy@linutronix.de>,
	"Rafael J. Wysocki" <rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com>,
	Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>,
	linux-input@vger.kernel.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	netdev@vger.kernel.org, linux-s390@vger.kernel.org,
	devel@driverdev.osuosl.org, linux-usb@vger.kernel.org,
	kgdb-bugreport@lists.sourceforge.net,
	alsa-devel@alsa-project.org, kernel-hardening@lists.openwall.com
Subject: Re: [PATCH 0/3] Modernize tasklet callback API
Date: Thu, 30 Jul 2020 09:03:55 +0200
Message-ID: <87h7tpa3hg.fsf@nanos.tec.linutronix.de> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20200716030847.1564131-1-keescook@chromium.org>

Kees,

Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org> writes:
> This is the infrastructure changes to prepare the tasklet API for
> conversion to passing the tasklet struct as the callback argument instead
> of an arbitrary unsigned long. The first patch details why this is useful
> (it's the same rationale as the timer_struct changes from a bit ago:
> less abuse during memory corruption attacks, more in line with existing
> ways of doing things in the kernel, save a little space in struct,
> etc). Notably, the existing tasklet API use is much less messy, so there
> is less to clean up.
>
> It's not clear to me which tree this should go through... Greg since it
> starts with a USB clean-up, -tip for timer or interrupt, or if I should
> just carry it. I'm open to suggestions, but if I don't hear otherwise,
> I'll just carry it.
>
> My goal is to have this merged for v5.9-rc1 so that during the v5.10
> development cycle the new API will be available. The entire tree of
> changes is here[1] currently, but to split it up by maintainer the
> infrastructure changes need to be landed first.
>
> Review and Acks appreciated! :)

I'd rather see tasklets vanish from the planet completely, but that's
going to be a daring feat. So, grudgingly:

Acked-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>


  parent reply index

Thread overview: 22+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-07-16  3:08 Kees Cook
2020-07-16  3:08 ` [PATCH 1/3] usb: gadget: udc: Avoid tasklet passing a global Kees Cook
2020-07-16  7:28   ` Greg Kroah-Hartman
2020-07-16 19:41     ` Kees Cook
2020-07-31  9:20   ` Felipe Balbi
2020-07-16  3:08 ` [PATCH 2/3] treewide: Replace DECLARE_TASKLET() with DECLARE_TASKLET_OLD() Kees Cook
2020-07-16  7:30   ` Greg Kroah-Hartman
2020-07-16 11:29   ` Matthew Wilcox
2020-07-16 19:15     ` Kees Cook
2020-07-16  3:08 ` [PATCH 3/3] tasklet: Introduce new initialization API Kees Cook
2020-07-16  7:30   ` Greg Kroah-Hartman
2020-07-16 15:37   ` Matthew Wilcox
2020-07-16 19:22     ` Kees Cook
2020-07-16  7:57 ` [PATCH 0/3] Modernize tasklet callback API Peter Zijlstra
2020-07-16  8:15   ` Sebastian Andrzej Siewior
2020-07-16 19:24     ` Kees Cook
2020-07-16 19:14   ` Kees Cook
2020-07-16 20:48     ` Dmitry Torokhov
2020-07-16 21:24       ` Kees Cook
2020-07-30  7:03 ` Thomas Gleixner [this message]
2020-07-30 18:14   ` Kees Cook
2020-08-03  8:46     ` Allen

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=87h7tpa3hg.fsf@nanos.tec.linutronix.de \
    --to=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=allen.lkml@gmail.com \
    --cc=alsa-devel@alsa-project.org \
    --cc=balbi@kernel.org \
    --cc=bigeasy@linutronix.de \
    --cc=borntraeger@de.ibm.com \
    --cc=chris.packham@alliedtelesis.co.nz \
    --cc=christian.gromm@microchip.com \
    --cc=corbet@lwn.net \
    --cc=daniel.thompson@linaro.org \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=devel@driverdev.osuosl.org \
    --cc=dianders@chromium.org \
    --cc=dmitry.torokhov@gmail.com \
    --cc=freude@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=gor@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=hca@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=jason.wessel@windriver.com \
    --cc=jslaby@suse.com \
    --cc=jwi@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=kernel-hardening@lists.openwall.com \
    --cc=kevin.curtis@farsite.co.uk \
    --cc=kgdb-bugreport@lists.sourceforge.net \
    --cc=kgraul@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=kt0755@gmail.com \
    --cc=kuba@kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-input@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-s390@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-usb@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux@roeck-us.net \
    --cc=masahiroy@kernel.org \
    --cc=mitch@sfgoth.com \
    --cc=netdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=nishkadg.linux@gmail.com \
    --cc=oscar.carter@gmx.com \
    --cc=perex@perex.cz \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com \
    --cc=romain.perier@gmail.com \
    --cc=sathyanarayanan.kuppuswamy@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=swboyd@chromium.org \
    --cc=tiwai@suse.com \
    --cc=ubraun@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=wambui.karugax@gmail.com \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    --cc=willy@infradead.org \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Kernel-hardening archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/kernel-hardening/0 kernel-hardening/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 kernel-hardening kernel-hardening/ https://lore.kernel.org/kernel-hardening \
		kernel-hardening@lists.openwall.com
	public-inbox-index kernel-hardening

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/com.openwall.lists.kernel-hardening


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git