linux-fbdev.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>
To: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Cc: Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	Linux-MM <linux-mm@kvack.org>, Joel Stanley <joel@jms.id.au>,
	David Airlie <airlied@linux.ie>, Daniel Vetter <daniel@ffwll.ch>,
	Andrew Jeffery <andrew@aj.id.au>,
	Lucas Stach <l.stach@pengutronix.de>,
	Russell King <linux+etnaviv@armlinux.org.uk>,
	Christian Gmeiner <christian.gmeiner@gmail.com>,
	Mike Rapoport <rppt@kernel.org>,
	Bartlomiej Zolnierkiewicz <b.zolnierkie@samsung.com>,
	Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>,
	Michal Simek <michal.simek@xilinx.com>,
	Masahiro Yamada <masahiroy@kernel.org>,
	Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@infradead.org>,
	Peter Collingbourne <pcc@google.com>,
	linux-aspeed <linux-aspeed@lists.ozlabs.org>,
	dri-devel <dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org>,
	Linux ARM <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>,
	The etnaviv authors <etnaviv@lists.freedesktop.org>,
	Linux Fbdev development list <linux-fbdev@vger.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v1 2/2] drivers/gpu/drm: don't select DMA_CMA or CMA from aspeed or etnaviv
Date: Thu, 8 Apr 2021 13:00:47 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <7496ac87-9676-1b4e-3444-c2a662ec376b@redhat.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CAK8P3a0Wg1mGZoBkD_RwMx-jzQNK2krrDxDQV5uhCHoyz-e=dw@mail.gmail.com>

>>> In particular, it does not prevent a configuration with 'DRM_CMA=m'
>>
>> I assume you meant "DRM_CMA=n" ? DRM_CMA cannot be built as a module.
> 
> Ok, at least that makes it easier.
> 
>>> and 'DRMA_ASPEED_GFX=y', or any build failures from such
>>> a configuration.
>>
>> I don't follow. "DRM_CMA=n" and 'DRMA_ASPEED_GFX=y' is supposed to work
>> just fine (e.g., without HAVE_DMA_CONTIGUOUS) or what am I missing?
> 
> I thought you were trying to solve the problem where DRMA_ASPEED_GFX
> can optionally link against CMA but would fail to build when the CMA code
> is in a loadable module.

Yes. I was trying to say: it works with this patch just fine. The issue 
you described does not seem to apply (DRM_CMA=m).

> 
>> Your example looks more like a NOP - no?
>> Or will it have the same effect?
> 
> The example I gave is only meaningful if both are tristate, which is
> not the case here as you explain.

Okay, thanks.

> 
> It is a somewhat awkward way to say "prevent this symbol from
> being =y if the dependency is =m".

What would be the right thing to do in the case here then to achieve the 
"if DRMA_ASPEED_GFX is enabled, also enable DMA_CMA id possible"?

One approach could be to have for DMA_CMA

default y if DRMA_ASPEED_GFX

but it feels like the wrong way to tackle this.

Thanks!

-- 
Thanks,

David / dhildenb


  reply	other threads:[~2021-04-08 11:01 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 23+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-04-08  9:20 [PATCH v1 0/2] drivers: don't select DMA_CMA or CMA David Hildenbrand
2021-04-08  9:20 ` [PATCH v1 1/2] drivers/video/fbdev: don't select DMA_CMA David Hildenbrand
2021-04-08  9:56   ` Mike Rapoport
2021-04-08  9:20 ` [PATCH v1 2/2] drivers/gpu/drm: don't select DMA_CMA or CMA from aspeed or etnaviv David Hildenbrand
2021-04-08  9:56   ` Mike Rapoport
2021-04-08  9:57     ` David Hildenbrand
2021-04-08 10:20   ` Arnd Bergmann
2021-04-08 10:27     ` David Hildenbrand
2021-04-08 10:36       ` David Hildenbrand
2021-04-08 10:44       ` Arnd Bergmann
2021-04-08 11:00         ` David Hildenbrand [this message]
2021-04-08 11:44           ` Arnd Bergmann
2021-04-08 12:00             ` David Hildenbrand
2021-04-08 12:12               ` Arnd Bergmann
2021-04-08 12:49               ` Linus Walleij
2021-04-08 13:19                 ` Arnd Bergmann
2021-04-09  8:07                   ` David Hildenbrand
2021-04-08 16:44                 ` David Hildenbrand
2021-04-08 20:29                   ` Arnd Bergmann
2021-04-09  8:09                     ` David Hildenbrand
2021-04-08 21:45                   ` Linus Walleij
2021-04-08 11:38     ` Daniel Vetter
2021-04-08 16:46       ` Jason Gunthorpe

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=7496ac87-9676-1b4e-3444-c2a662ec376b@redhat.com \
    --to=david@redhat.com \
    --cc=airlied@linux.ie \
    --cc=andrew@aj.id.au \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=b.zolnierkie@samsung.com \
    --cc=christian.gmeiner@gmail.com \
    --cc=daniel@ffwll.ch \
    --cc=dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=etnaviv@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=joel@jms.id.au \
    --cc=l.stach@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=linus.walleij@linaro.org \
    --cc=linux+etnaviv@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-aspeed@lists.ozlabs.org \
    --cc=linux-fbdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mm@kvack.org \
    --cc=masahiroy@kernel.org \
    --cc=michal.simek@xilinx.com \
    --cc=pcc@google.com \
    --cc=rdunlap@infradead.org \
    --cc=rppt@kernel.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v1 2/2] drivers/gpu/drm: don'\''t select DMA_CMA or CMA from aspeed or etnaviv' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).