Linux-MIPS Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: "Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill@shutemov.name>
To: Anshuman Khandual <anshuman.khandual@arm.com>
Cc: Christophe Leroy <christophe.leroy@c-s.fr>,
	linux-mm@kvack.org, Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org, linux-sh@vger.kernel.org,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	James Hogan <jhogan@kernel.org>,
	Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>,
	Michal Hocko <mhocko@kernel.org>,
	Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com>,
	Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>,
	sparclinux@vger.kernel.org,
	Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>,
	linux-s390@vger.kernel.org, Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@ziepe.ca>,
	x86@kernel.org, Russell King - ARM Linux <linux@armlinux.org.uk>,
	Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org>,
	Steven Price <Steven.Price@arm.com>,
	Tetsuo Handa <penguin-kernel@i-love.sakura.ne.jp>,
	Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>,
	linux-snps-arc@lists.infradead.org,
	Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>,
	Mark Brown <broonie@kernel.org>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Gerald Schaefer <gerald.schaefer@de.ibm.com>,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org,
	Sri Krishna chowdary <schowdary@nvidia.com>,
	Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@socionext.com>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>,
	linux-mips@vger.kernel.org, Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, Paul Burton <paul.burton@mips.com>,
	Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.vnet.ibm.com>,
	Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com>,
	Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
Subject: Re: [PATCH] mm/pgtable/debug: Fix test validating architecture page table helpers
Date: Fri, 13 Sep 2019 11:51:35 +0300
Message-ID: <20190913085135.rfr3zrabghi2qo2t@box> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <bdf7f152-d093-1691-4e96-77da7eb9e20a@arm.com>

On Fri, Sep 13, 2019 at 02:12:45PM +0530, Anshuman Khandual wrote:
> 
> 
> On 09/13/2019 12:41 PM, Christophe Leroy wrote:
> > 
> > 
> > Le 13/09/2019 à 09:03, Christophe Leroy a écrit :
> >>
> >>
> >> Le 13/09/2019 à 08:58, Anshuman Khandual a écrit :
> >>> On 09/13/2019 11:53 AM, Christophe Leroy wrote:
> >>>> Fix build failure on powerpc.
> >>>>
> >>>> Fix preemption imbalance.
> >>>>
> >>>> Signed-off-by: Christophe Leroy <christophe.leroy@c-s.fr>
> >>>> ---
> >>>>   mm/arch_pgtable_test.c | 3 +++
> >>>>   1 file changed, 3 insertions(+)
> >>>>
> >>>> diff --git a/mm/arch_pgtable_test.c b/mm/arch_pgtable_test.c
> >>>> index 8b4a92756ad8..f2b3c9ec35fa 100644
> >>>> --- a/mm/arch_pgtable_test.c
> >>>> +++ b/mm/arch_pgtable_test.c
> >>>> @@ -24,6 +24,7 @@
> >>>>   #include <linux/swap.h>
> >>>>   #include <linux/swapops.h>
> >>>>   #include <linux/sched/mm.h>
> >>>> +#include <linux/highmem.h>
> >>>
> >>> This is okay.
> >>>
> >>>>   #include <asm/pgalloc.h>
> >>>>   #include <asm/pgtable.h>
> >>>> @@ -400,6 +401,8 @@ static int __init arch_pgtable_tests_init(void)
> >>>>       p4d_clear_tests(p4dp);
> >>>>       pgd_clear_tests(mm, pgdp);
> >>>> +    pte_unmap(ptep);
> >>>> +
> >>>
> >>> Now the preemption imbalance via pte_alloc_map() path i.e
> >>>
> >>> pte_alloc_map() -> pte_offset_map() -> kmap_atomic()
> >>>
> >>> Is not this very much powerpc 32 specific or this will be applicable
> >>> for all platform which uses kmap_XXX() to map high memory ?
> >>>
> >>
> >> See https://elixir.bootlin.com/linux/v5.3-rc8/source/include/linux/highmem.h#L91
> >>
> >> I think it applies at least to all arches using the generic implementation.
> >>
> >> Applies also to arm:
> >> https://elixir.bootlin.com/linux/v5.3-rc8/source/arch/arm/mm/highmem.c#L52
> >>
> >> Applies also to mips:
> >> https://elixir.bootlin.com/linux/v5.3-rc8/source/arch/mips/mm/highmem.c#L47
> >>
> >> Same on sparc:
> >> https://elixir.bootlin.com/linux/v5.3-rc8/source/arch/sparc/mm/highmem.c#L52
> >>
> >> Same on x86:
> >> https://elixir.bootlin.com/linux/v5.3-rc8/source/arch/x86/mm/highmem_32.c#L34
> >>
> >> I have not checked others, but I guess it is like that for all.
> >>
> > 
> > 
> > Seems like I answered too quickly. All kmap_atomic() do preempt_disable(), but not all pte_alloc_map() call kmap_atomic().
> > 
> > However, for instance ARM does:
> > 
> > https://elixir.bootlin.com/linux/v5.3-rc8/source/arch/arm/include/asm/pgtable.h#L200
> > 
> > And X86 as well:
> > 
> > https://elixir.bootlin.com/linux/v5.3-rc8/source/arch/x86/include/asm/pgtable_32.h#L51
> > 
> > Microblaze also:
> > 
> > https://elixir.bootlin.com/linux/v5.3-rc8/source/arch/microblaze/include/asm/pgtable.h#L495
> 
> All the above platforms checks out to be using k[un]map_atomic(). I am wondering whether
> any of the intermediate levels will have similar problems on any these 32 bit platforms
> or any other platforms which might be using generic k[un]map_atomic().

No. Kernel only allocates pte page table from highmem. All other page
tables are always visible in kernel address space.

-- 
 Kirill A. Shutemov

  reply index

Thread overview: 23+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-09-12  6:02 [PATCH V2 0/2] mm/debug: Add tests for architecture exported " Anshuman Khandual
2019-09-12  6:02 ` [PATCH V2 2/2] mm/pgtable/debug: Add test validating architecture " Anshuman Khandual
2019-09-12 11:00   ` Kirill A. Shutemov
2019-09-12 12:09     ` Anshuman Khandual
2019-09-12 15:00   ` Christophe Leroy
2019-09-12 15:36     ` Christophe Leroy
2019-09-12 15:52       ` Christophe Leroy
2019-09-13  6:30         ` Christophe Leroy
2019-09-12 17:14   ` Christophe Leroy
2019-09-13  6:23     ` [PATCH] mm/pgtable/debug: Fix " Christophe Leroy
2019-09-13  6:58       ` Anshuman Khandual
2019-09-13  7:03         ` Christophe Leroy
2019-09-13  7:11           ` Christophe Leroy
2019-09-13  8:42             ` Anshuman Khandual
2019-09-13  8:51               ` Kirill A. Shutemov [this message]
2019-09-18  7:32       ` Anshuman Khandual
2019-09-13  9:02     ` [PATCH V2 2/2] mm/pgtable/debug: Add " Anshuman Khandual
2019-09-13  9:13       ` Kirill A. Shutemov
2019-09-13 10:01       ` Christophe Leroy
2019-09-18  5:04         ` Anshuman Khandual
2019-09-12 14:42 ` [PATCH V2 0/2] mm/debug: Add tests for architecture exported " Christophe Leroy
2019-09-13  6:24   ` Anshuman Khandual
2019-09-13  6:32     ` Christophe Leroy

Reply instructions:

You may reply publically to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20190913085135.rfr3zrabghi2qo2t@box \
    --to=kirill@shutemov.name \
    --cc=Steven.Price@arm.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=anshuman.khandual@arm.com \
    --cc=ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org \
    --cc=broonie@kernel.org \
    --cc=christophe.leroy@c-s.fr \
    --cc=dan.j.williams@intel.com \
    --cc=dave.hansen@intel.com \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=gerald.schaefer@de.ibm.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com \
    --cc=jgg@ziepe.ca \
    --cc=jhogan@kernel.org \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mips@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mm@kvack.org \
    --cc=linux-s390@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-sh@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-snps-arc@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=mhocko@kernel.org \
    --cc=paul.burton@mips.com \
    --cc=paulus@samba.org \
    --cc=penguin-kernel@i-love.sakura.ne.jp \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=ralf@linux-mips.org \
    --cc=rppt@linux.vnet.ibm.com \
    --cc=schowdary@nvidia.com \
    --cc=schwidefsky@de.ibm.com \
    --cc=sparclinux@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=vbabka@suse.cz \
    --cc=vgupta@synopsys.com \
    --cc=willy@infradead.org \
    --cc=x86@kernel.org \
    --cc=yamada.masahiro@socionext.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-MIPS Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-mips/0 linux-mips/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-mips linux-mips/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-mips \
		linux-mips@vger.kernel.org linux-mips@archiver.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-mips


Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-mips


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/ public-inbox