Linux-MIPS Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Christophe Leroy <christophe.leroy@c-s.fr>
To: Anshuman Khandual <anshuman.khandual@arm.com>, linux-mm@kvack.org
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.vnet.ibm.com>,
	Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@ziepe.ca>,
	Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	Michal Hocko <mhocko@kernel.org>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	Mark Brown <broonie@kernel.org>,
	Steven Price <Steven.Price@arm.com>,
	Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>,
	Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@socionext.com>,
	Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>,
	Tetsuo Handa <penguin-kernel@i-love.sakura.ne.jp>,
	Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org>,
	Sri Krishna chowdary <schowdary@nvidia.com>,
	Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com>,
	Russell King - ARM Linux <linux@armlinux.org.uk>,
	Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>,
	Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>,
	Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>,
	Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>,
	Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com>,
	James Hogan <jhogan@kernel.org>,
	Paul Burton <paul.burton@mips.com>,
	Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>,
	"Kirill A . Shutemov" <kirill@shutemov.name>,
	Gerald Schaefer <gerald.schaefer@de.ibm.com>,
	linux-snps-arc@lists.infradead.org, linux-mips@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org, linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org,
	linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org, linux-s390@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-sh@vger.kernel.org, sparclinux@vger.kernel.org,
	x86@kernel.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH V2 2/2] mm/pgtable/debug: Add test validating architecture page table helpers
Date: Fri, 13 Sep 2019 12:01:00 +0200
Message-ID: <95ed9d92-dd43-4c45-2e52-738aed7f2fb5@c-s.fr> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <502c497a-9bf1-7d2e-95f2-cfebcd9cf1d9@arm.com>



Le 13/09/2019 à 11:02, Anshuman Khandual a écrit :
> 
>>> +#if !defined(__PAGETABLE_PMD_FOLDED) && !defined(__ARCH_HAS_4LEVEL_HACK)
>>
>> #ifdefs have to be avoided as much as possible, see below
> 
> Yeah but it has been bit difficult to avoid all these $ifdef because of the
> availability (or lack of it) for all these pgtable helpers in various config
> combinations on all platforms.

As far as I can see these pgtable helpers should exist everywhere at 
least via asm-generic/ files.

Can you spot a particular config which fails ?

> 
>>

[...]

>>> +#if !defined(__PAGETABLE_PUD_FOLDED) && !defined(__ARCH_HAS_5LEVEL_HACK)
>>
>> The same can be done here.
> 
> IIRC not only the page table helpers but there are data types (pxx_t) which
> were not present on various configs and these wrappers help prevent build
> failures. Any ways will try and see if this can be improved further. But
> meanwhile if you have some suggestions, please do let me know.

pgt_t and pmd_t are everywhere I guess.
then pud_t and p4d_t have fallbacks in asm-generic files.

So it shouldn't be an issue. Maybe if a couple of arches miss them, the 
best would be to fix the arches, since that's the purpose of your 
testsuite isn't it ?


Christophe

  parent reply index

Thread overview: 29+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-09-12  6:02 [PATCH V2 0/2] mm/debug: Add tests for architecture exported " Anshuman Khandual
2019-09-12  6:02 ` [PATCH V2 2/2] mm/pgtable/debug: Add test validating architecture " Anshuman Khandual
2019-09-12 11:00   ` Kirill A. Shutemov
2019-09-12 12:09     ` Anshuman Khandual
2019-09-12 15:00   ` Christophe Leroy
2019-09-12 15:36     ` Christophe Leroy
2019-09-12 15:52       ` Christophe Leroy
2019-09-13  6:30         ` Christophe Leroy
2019-09-12 17:14   ` Christophe Leroy
2019-09-13  6:23     ` [PATCH] mm/pgtable/debug: Fix " Christophe Leroy
2019-09-13  6:58       ` Anshuman Khandual
2019-09-13  7:03         ` Christophe Leroy
2019-09-13  7:11           ` Christophe Leroy
2019-09-13  8:42             ` Anshuman Khandual
2019-09-13  8:51               ` Kirill A. Shutemov
2019-09-18  7:32       ` Anshuman Khandual
2019-09-19  5:44         ` Christophe Leroy
2019-09-13  9:02     ` [PATCH V2 2/2] mm/pgtable/debug: Add " Anshuman Khandual
2019-09-13  9:13       ` Kirill A. Shutemov
2019-09-13 10:01       ` Christophe Leroy [this message]
2019-09-18  5:04         ` Anshuman Khandual
2019-09-18 16:26           ` Christophe Leroy
2019-09-18 18:22             ` Gerald Schaefer
2019-09-20  4:06               ` Anshuman Khandual
2019-09-19  4:56             ` Anshuman Khandual
2019-09-19  5:41               ` Christophe Leroy
2019-09-12 14:42 ` [PATCH V2 0/2] mm/debug: Add tests for architecture exported " Christophe Leroy
2019-09-13  6:24   ` Anshuman Khandual
2019-09-13  6:32     ` Christophe Leroy

Reply instructions:

You may reply publically to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=95ed9d92-dd43-4c45-2e52-738aed7f2fb5@c-s.fr \
    --to=christophe.leroy@c-s.fr \
    --cc=Steven.Price@arm.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=anshuman.khandual@arm.com \
    --cc=ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org \
    --cc=broonie@kernel.org \
    --cc=dan.j.williams@intel.com \
    --cc=dave.hansen@intel.com \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=gerald.schaefer@de.ibm.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com \
    --cc=jgg@ziepe.ca \
    --cc=jhogan@kernel.org \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=kirill@shutemov.name \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mips@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mm@kvack.org \
    --cc=linux-s390@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-sh@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-snps-arc@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=mhocko@kernel.org \
    --cc=mpe@ellerman.id.au \
    --cc=paul.burton@mips.com \
    --cc=paulus@samba.org \
    --cc=penguin-kernel@i-love.sakura.ne.jp \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=ralf@linux-mips.org \
    --cc=rppt@linux.vnet.ibm.com \
    --cc=schowdary@nvidia.com \
    --cc=schwidefsky@de.ibm.com \
    --cc=sparclinux@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=vbabka@suse.cz \
    --cc=vgupta@synopsys.com \
    --cc=willy@infradead.org \
    --cc=x86@kernel.org \
    --cc=yamada.masahiro@socionext.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-MIPS Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-mips/0 linux-mips/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-mips linux-mips/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-mips \
		linux-mips@vger.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-mips

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-mips


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git