linux-sunxi.lists.linux.dev archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Douglas Anderson <dianders@chromium.org>
To: Thierry Reding <thierry.reding@gmail.com>,
	Rob Herring <robh+dt@kernel.org>, Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org>
Cc: devicetree@vger.kernel.org, "Steev Klimaszewski" <steev@kali.org>,
	dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org, linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org,
	"David Airlie" <airlied@linux.ie>,
	"Maarten Lankhorst" <maarten.lankhorst@linux.intel.com>,
	"Thomas Zimmermann" <tzimmermann@suse.de>,
	"Linus W" <linus.walleij@linaro.org>,
	"Bjorn Andersson" <bjorn.andersson@linaro.org>,
	"Daniel Vetter" <daniel@ffwll.ch>,
	"Maxime Ripard" <mripard@kernel.org>,
	"Douglas Anderson" <dianders@chromium.org>,
	"Adam Ford" <aford173@gmail.com>,
	"Al Viro" <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>,
	"Alexandre Belloni" <alexandre.belloni@bootlin.com>,
	"Alexandre Torgue" <alexandre.torgue@foss.st.com>,
	"Andreas Kemnade" <andreas@kemnade.info>,
	"Andrey Zhizhikin" <andrey.zhizhikin@leica-geosystems.com>,
	"Anson Huang" <Anson.Huang@nxp.com>,
	"Arnd Bergmann" <arnd@arndb.de>,
	"Catalin Marinas" <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	"Chen-Yu Tsai" <wens@csie.org>,
	"Claudiu Beznea" <claudiu.beznea@microchip.com>,
	"Corentin Labbe" <clabbe@baylibre.com>,
	"Daniel Thompson" <daniel.thompson@linaro.org>,
	"Dmitry Baryshkov" <dmitry.baryshkov@linaro.org>,
	"Dmitry Osipenko" <digetx@gmail.com>,
	"Emil Velikov" <emil.velikov@collabora.com>,
	"Enric Balletbo i Serra" <enric.balletbo@collabora.com>,
	"Eugen Hristev" <eugen.hristev@microchip.com>,
	"Fabio Estevam" <festevam@gmail.com>,
	"Fabrice Gasnier" <fabrice.gasnier@st.com>,
	"Florian Fainelli" <f.fainelli@gmail.com>,
	"Geert Uytterhoeven" <geert+renesas@glider.be>,
	"Grygorii Strashko" <grygorii.strashko@ti.com>,
	"Guido Günther" <agx@sigxcpu.org>,
	"Jagan Teki" <jagan@amarulasolutions.com>,
	"Jernej Skrabec" <jernej.skrabec@gmail.com>,
	"Joel Stanley" <joel@jms.id.au>,
	"Jonathan Hunter" <jonathanh@nvidia.com>,
	"Kees Cook" <keescook@chromium.org>,
	"Krzysztof Kozlowski" <krzk@kernel.org>,
	"Krzysztof Kozlowski" <krzysztof.kozlowski@canonical.com>,
	"Lionel Debieve" <lionel.debieve@st.com>,
	"Liviu Dudau" <liviu.dudau@arm.com>,
	"Lorenzo Pieralisi" <lorenzo.pieralisi@arm.com>,
	"Ludovic Desroches" <ludovic.desroches@microchip.com>,
	"Magnus Damm" <magnus.damm@gmail.com>,
	"Manivannan Sadhasivam" <mani@kernel.org>,
	"Marek Szyprowski" <m.szyprowski@samsung.com>,
	"Martin Jücker" <martin.juecker@gmail.com>,
	"Matthias Brugger" <matthias.bgg@gmail.com>,
	"Michael Walle" <michael@walle.cc>,
	"NXP Linux Team" <linux-imx@nxp.com>,
	"Nicolas Ferre" <nicolas.ferre@microchip.com>,
	"Nishanth Menon" <nm@ti.com>,
	"Olivier Moysan" <olivier.moysan@st.com>,
	"Otavio Salvador" <otavio@ossystems.com.br>,
	"Pengutronix Kernel Team" <kernel@pengutronix.de>,
	"Razvan Stefanescu" <razvan.stefanescu@microchip.com>,
	"Robert Richter" <rric@kernel.org>,
	"Russell King" <linux@armlinux.org.uk>,
	"Sascha Hauer" <s.hauer@pengutronix.de>,
	"Shawn Guo" <shawnguo@kernel.org>,
	"Stefan Wahren" <stefan.wahren@i2se.com>,
	"Sudeep Holla" <sudeep.holla@arm.com>,
	"Tony Lindgren" <tony@atomide.com>,
	"Viresh Kumar" <viresh.kumar@linaro.org>,
	"Vladimir Zapolskiy" <vz@mleia.com>,
	"Will Deacon" <will@kernel.org>,
	"William Cohen" <wcohen@redhat.com>,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, linux-omap@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-renesas-soc@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-samsung-soc@vger.kernel.org, linux-sunxi@lists.linux.dev,
	linux-tegra@vger.kernel.org,
	"Łukasz Stelmach" <l.stelmach@samsung.com>
Subject: [PATCH v5 00/15] eDP: Support probing eDP panels dynamically instead of hardcoding
Date: Tue, 14 Sep 2021 13:21:47 -0700	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20210914202202.1702601-1-dianders@chromium.org> (raw)

The goal of this patch series is to move away from hardcoding exact
eDP panels in device tree files. As discussed in the various patches
in this series (I'm not repeating everything here), most eDP panels
are 99% probable and we can get that last 1% by allowing two "power
up" delays to be specified in the device tree file and then using the
panel ID (found in the EDID) to look up additional power sequencing
delays for the panel.

This patch series is the logical contiunation of a previous patch
series where I proposed solving this problem by adding a
board-specific compatible string [1]. In the discussion that followed
it sounded like people were open to something like the solution
proposed in this new series.

In version 2 I got rid of the idea that we could have a "fallback"
compatible string that we'd use if we didn't recognize the ID in the
EDID. This simplifies the bindings a lot and the implementation
somewhat. As a result of not having a "fallback", though, I'm not
confident in transitioning any existing boards over to this since
we'll have to fallback to very conservative timings if we don't
recognize the ID from the EDID and I can't guarantee that I've seen
every panel that might have shipped on an existing product. The plan
is to use "edp-panel" only on new boards or new revisions of old
boards where we can guarantee that every EDID that ships out of the
factory has an ID in the table.

Version 3 of this series now splits out all eDP panels to their own
driver and adds the generic eDP panel support to this new driver. I
believe this is what Sam was looking for [2].

Version 4 of this series is mostly small fixes / renames from review
feedback. It's largely the same as v3. Other than naming /
description / comment changes, the differences are:
- Dropped the MIPS config patch as per request.
- Reorder config patches first.
- Added a new patch to use the panel ID scheme for quirks.
- Landed the reorder of logicpd_type_28 / mitsubishi_aa070mc01

Version 5 of this series just fixes the panel ID encode macro to be
cleaner and adds Jani's review tags.

It could possibly be ready to land?

[1] https://lore.kernel.org/r/YFKQaXOmOwYyeqvM@google.com/
[2] https://lore.kernel.org/r/YRTsFNTn%2FT8fLxyB@ravnborg.org/

Changes in v5:
- Prettier encode panel ID function (thanks Andrzej!)
- Probable => Probeable

Changes in v4:
- "u8 *edid" => "void *edid" to avoid cast.
- ("Use new encoded panel id style for quirks matching") new for v4.
- Don't put kmalloc() in the "if" test even if the old code did.
- Don't refer to "panel-simple" in commit message.
- PANEL_SIMPLE_EDP => PANEL_EDP
- Remove "non-eDP" in panel-simple description.
- Reordered config patches to be before code patch
- decode_edid_id() => drm_edid_decode_panel_id()
- drm_do_get_edid_blk0() => drm_do_get_edid_base_block()
- drm_get_panel_id() => drm_edid_get_panel_id()
- encode_edid_id() => drm_edid_encode_panel_id()
- panel-simple-edp => panel-edp
- split panel id extraction out to its own function.

Changes in v3:
- ("Better describe eDP panel delays") new for v3.
- ("Don't re-read the EDID every time") moved to eDP only patch.
- ("Non-eDP panels don't need "HPD" handling") new for v3.
- Add AUO B116XAN06.1 to table.
- Add Sharp LQ116M1JW10 to table.
- Adjust endianness of product ID.
- Change init order to we power at the end.
- Decode hex product ID w/ same endianness as everyone else.
- Fallback to conservative delays if panel not recognized.
- Fix "prepare_to_enable" patch new for v3.
- Generic "edp-panel" handled by the eDP panel driver now.
- Move wayward panels patch new for v3.
- Rename delays more generically so they can be reused.
- Split eDP panels patch new for v3.
- Split the delay structure out patch just on eDP now.

Changes in v2:
- Add "-ms" suffix to delays.
- Don't support a "fallback" panel. Probed panels must be probed.
- No longer allow fallback to panel-simple.
- Not based on patch to copy "desc"--just allocate for probed panels.

Douglas Anderson (15):
  dt-bindings: drm/panel-simple-edp: Introduce generic eDP panels
  drm/edid: Break out reading block 0 of the EDID
  drm/edid: Allow querying/working with the panel ID from the EDID
  drm/edid: Use new encoded panel id style for quirks matching
  ARM: configs: Everyone who had PANEL_SIMPLE now gets PANEL_EDP
  arm64: defconfig: Everyone who had PANEL_SIMPLE now gets PANEL_EDP
  drm/panel-edp: Split eDP panels out of panel-simple
  drm/panel-edp: Move some wayward panels to the eDP driver
  drm/panel-simple: Non-eDP panels don't need "HPD" handling
  drm/panel-edp: Split the delay structure out
  drm/panel-edp: Better describe eDP panel delays
  drm/panel-edp: hpd_reliable shouldn't be subtraced from hpd_absent
  drm/panel-edp: Fix "prepare_to_enable" if panel doesn't handle HPD
  drm/panel-edp: Don't re-read the EDID every time we power off the
    panel
  drm/panel-edp: Implement generic "edp-panel"s probed by EDID

 .../bindings/display/panel/panel-edp.yaml     |  188 ++
 arch/arm/configs/at91_dt_defconfig            |    1 +
 arch/arm/configs/exynos_defconfig             |    1 +
 arch/arm/configs/imx_v6_v7_defconfig          |    1 +
 arch/arm/configs/lpc32xx_defconfig            |    1 +
 arch/arm/configs/multi_v5_defconfig           |    1 +
 arch/arm/configs/multi_v7_defconfig           |    1 +
 arch/arm/configs/omap2plus_defconfig          |    1 +
 arch/arm/configs/qcom_defconfig               |    1 +
 arch/arm/configs/realview_defconfig           |    1 +
 arch/arm/configs/sama5_defconfig              |    1 +
 arch/arm/configs/shmobile_defconfig           |    1 +
 arch/arm/configs/sunxi_defconfig              |    1 +
 arch/arm/configs/tegra_defconfig              |    1 +
 arch/arm/configs/versatile_defconfig          |    1 +
 arch/arm/configs/vexpress_defconfig           |    1 +
 arch/arm64/configs/defconfig                  |    1 +
 drivers/gpu/drm/drm_edid.c                    |  280 ++-
 drivers/gpu/drm/panel/Kconfig                 |   16 +-
 drivers/gpu/drm/panel/Makefile                |    1 +
 drivers/gpu/drm/panel/panel-edp.c             | 1895 +++++++++++++++++
 drivers/gpu/drm/panel/panel-simple.c          | 1072 +---------
 include/drm/drm_edid.h                        |   45 +
 23 files changed, 2351 insertions(+), 1162 deletions(-)
 create mode 100644 Documentation/devicetree/bindings/display/panel/panel-edp.yaml
 create mode 100644 drivers/gpu/drm/panel/panel-edp.c

-- 
2.33.0.309.g3052b89438-goog


             reply	other threads:[~2021-09-14 20:22 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 8+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-09-14 20:21 Douglas Anderson [this message]
2021-09-14 20:21 ` [PATCH v5 05/15] ARM: configs: Everyone who had PANEL_SIMPLE now gets PANEL_EDP Douglas Anderson
2021-09-14 22:12 ` [PATCH v5 00/15] eDP: Support probing eDP panels dynamically instead of hardcoding Linus Walleij
2021-09-20 16:42   ` Doug Anderson
2021-09-24  8:03     ` Jani Nikula
2021-09-24  9:10       ` Andrzej Hajda
2021-09-24 13:59         ` Doug Anderson
2021-09-24 14:55           ` Doug Anderson

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20210914202202.1702601-1-dianders@chromium.org \
    --to=dianders@chromium.org \
    --cc=Anson.Huang@nxp.com \
    --cc=aford173@gmail.com \
    --cc=agx@sigxcpu.org \
    --cc=airlied@linux.ie \
    --cc=alexandre.belloni@bootlin.com \
    --cc=alexandre.torgue@foss.st.com \
    --cc=andreas@kemnade.info \
    --cc=andrey.zhizhikin@leica-geosystems.com \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=bjorn.andersson@linaro.org \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=clabbe@baylibre.com \
    --cc=claudiu.beznea@microchip.com \
    --cc=daniel.thompson@linaro.org \
    --cc=daniel@ffwll.ch \
    --cc=devicetree@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=digetx@gmail.com \
    --cc=dmitry.baryshkov@linaro.org \
    --cc=dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=emil.velikov@collabora.com \
    --cc=enric.balletbo@collabora.com \
    --cc=eugen.hristev@microchip.com \
    --cc=f.fainelli@gmail.com \
    --cc=fabrice.gasnier@st.com \
    --cc=festevam@gmail.com \
    --cc=geert+renesas@glider.be \
    --cc=grygorii.strashko@ti.com \
    --cc=jagan@amarulasolutions.com \
    --cc=jernej.skrabec@gmail.com \
    --cc=joel@jms.id.au \
    --cc=jonathanh@nvidia.com \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=kernel@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=krzk@kernel.org \
    --cc=krzysztof.kozlowski@canonical.com \
    --cc=l.stelmach@samsung.com \
    --cc=linus.walleij@linaro.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-imx@nxp.com \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-omap@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-renesas-soc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-samsung-soc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-sunxi@lists.linux.dev \
    --cc=linux-tegra@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=lionel.debieve@st.com \
    --cc=liviu.dudau@arm.com \
    --cc=lorenzo.pieralisi@arm.com \
    --cc=ludovic.desroches@microchip.com \
    --cc=m.szyprowski@samsung.com \
    --cc=maarten.lankhorst@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=magnus.damm@gmail.com \
    --cc=mani@kernel.org \
    --cc=martin.juecker@gmail.com \
    --cc=matthias.bgg@gmail.com \
    --cc=michael@walle.cc \
    --cc=mripard@kernel.org \
    --cc=nicolas.ferre@microchip.com \
    --cc=nm@ti.com \
    --cc=olivier.moysan@st.com \
    --cc=otavio@ossystems.com.br \
    --cc=razvan.stefanescu@microchip.com \
    --cc=robh+dt@kernel.org \
    --cc=rric@kernel.org \
    --cc=s.hauer@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=sam@ravnborg.org \
    --cc=shawnguo@kernel.org \
    --cc=steev@kali.org \
    --cc=stefan.wahren@i2se.com \
    --cc=sudeep.holla@arm.com \
    --cc=thierry.reding@gmail.com \
    --cc=tony@atomide.com \
    --cc=tzimmermann@suse.de \
    --cc=viresh.kumar@linaro.org \
    --cc=viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk \
    --cc=vz@mleia.com \
    --cc=wcohen@redhat.com \
    --cc=wens@csie.org \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v5 00/15] eDP: Support probing eDP panels dynamically instead of hardcoding' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).