linux-kernel.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
To: James Morris <jmorris@namei.org>
Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>, Jessica Yu <jeyu@kernel.org>,
	Luis Chamberlain <mcgrof@kernel.org>,
	Mimi Zohar <zohar@linux.ibm.com>,
	Scott Branden <scott.branden@broadcom.com>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	"Rafael J. Wysocki" <rafael@kernel.org>,
	Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>,
	Dmitry Kasatkin <dmitry.kasatkin@gmail.com>,
	"Serge E. Hallyn" <serge@hallyn.com>,
	Casey Schaufler <casey@schaufler-ca.com>,
	"Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@xmission.com>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	Matthew Garrett <matthewgarrett@google.com>,
	David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>,
	Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab+huawei@kernel.org>,
	Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@infradead.org>,
	"Joel Fernandes (Google)" <joel@joelfernandes.org>,
	KP Singh <kpsingh@google.com>, Dave Olsthoorn <dave@bewaar.me>,
	Hans de Goede <hdegoede@redhat.com>,
	Peter Jones <pjones@redhat.com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	Stephen Boyd <stephen.boyd@linaro.org>,
	Paul Moore <paul@paul-moore.com>,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-integrity@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-security-module@vger.kernel.org
Subject: [PATCH 4/4] module: Add hook for security_kernel_post_read_file()
Date: Tue,  7 Jul 2020 01:19:26 -0700	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20200707081926.3688096-5-keescook@chromium.org> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20200707081926.3688096-1-keescook@chromium.org>

Calls to security_kernel_load_data() should be paired with a call to
security_kernel_post_read_file() with a NULL file argument. Add the
missing call so the module contents are visible to the LSMs interested
in measuring the module content. (This also paves the way for moving
module signature checking out of the module core and into an LSM.)

Cc: Jessica Yu <jeyu@kernel.org>
Fixes: c77b8cdf745d ("module: replace the existing LSM hook in init_module")
Signed-off-by: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
---
 kernel/module.c | 7 ++++++-
 1 file changed, 6 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/kernel/module.c b/kernel/module.c
index 0c6573b98c36..af9679f8e5c6 100644
--- a/kernel/module.c
+++ b/kernel/module.c
@@ -2980,7 +2980,12 @@ static int copy_module_from_user(const void __user *umod, unsigned long len,
 		return -EFAULT;
 	}
 
-	return 0;
+	err = security_kernel_post_read_file(NULL, (char *)info->hdr,
+					     info->len, READING_MODULE);
+	if (err)
+		vfree(info->hdr);
+
+	return err;
 }
 
 static void free_copy(struct load_info *info)
-- 
2.25.1


  parent reply	other threads:[~2020-07-07  8:19 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 29+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-07-07  8:19 [PATCH 0/4] Fix misused kernel_read_file() enums Kees Cook
2020-07-07  8:19 ` [PATCH 1/4] firmware_loader: EFI firmware loader must handle pre-allocated buffer Kees Cook
2020-07-07  8:19 ` [PATCH 2/4] fs: Remove FIRMWARE_PREALLOC_BUFFER from kernel_read_file() enums Kees Cook
2020-07-07 16:42   ` Scott Branden
2020-07-07 21:55     ` Kees Cook
2020-07-08  3:06       ` Scott Branden
2020-07-08  3:14         ` Kees Cook
2020-07-08  1:37   ` [fs] 676800b78f: BUG:unable_to_handle_page_fault_for_address kernel test robot
2020-07-10 21:00   ` [PATCH 2/4] fs: Remove FIRMWARE_PREALLOC_BUFFER from kernel_read_file() enums Scott Branden
2020-07-10 22:04     ` Matthew Wilcox
2020-07-10 22:10       ` Scott Branden
2020-07-10 22:44         ` Kees Cook
2020-07-10 22:58           ` Scott Branden
2020-07-16 20:35           ` Scott Branden
2020-07-16 21:16             ` Kees Cook
2020-07-07  8:19 ` [PATCH 3/4] fs: Remove FIRMWARE_EFI_EMBEDDED " Kees Cook
2020-07-07  8:19 ` Kees Cook [this message]
2020-07-08  0:47   ` [PATCH 4/4] module: Add hook for security_kernel_post_read_file() Mimi Zohar
2020-07-08  3:10     ` Kees Cook
2020-07-08 13:47       ` Mimi Zohar
2020-07-07  9:31 ` [PATCH 0/4] Fix misused kernel_read_file() enums Greg Kroah-Hartman
2020-07-07 15:36 ` Mimi Zohar
2020-07-07 21:45   ` Kees Cook
2020-07-08 11:01 ` Hans de Goede
2020-07-08 11:37   ` Hans de Goede
2020-07-08 11:55     ` Luis Chamberlain
2020-07-08 11:58       ` Hans de Goede
2020-07-08 13:30         ` Luis Chamberlain
2020-07-09  2:00           ` Kees Cook

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20200707081926.3688096-5-keescook@chromium.org \
    --to=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=casey@schaufler-ca.com \
    --cc=dave@bewaar.me \
    --cc=dhowells@redhat.com \
    --cc=dmitry.kasatkin@gmail.com \
    --cc=ebiederm@xmission.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=hdegoede@redhat.com \
    --cc=jeyu@kernel.org \
    --cc=jmorris@namei.org \
    --cc=joel@joelfernandes.org \
    --cc=kpsingh@google.com \
    --cc=linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-integrity@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-security-module@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=matthewgarrett@google.com \
    --cc=mcgrof@kernel.org \
    --cc=mchehab+huawei@kernel.org \
    --cc=paul@paul-moore.com \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=pjones@redhat.com \
    --cc=rafael@kernel.org \
    --cc=rdunlap@infradead.org \
    --cc=scott.branden@broadcom.com \
    --cc=serge@hallyn.com \
    --cc=stephen.boyd@linaro.org \
    --cc=viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk \
    --cc=zohar@linux.ibm.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH 4/4] module: Add hook for security_kernel_post_read_file()' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).