linux-crypto.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
To: Hadar Gat <Hadar.Gat@arm.com>
Cc: Matt Mackall <mpm@selenic.com>,
	Herbert Xu <herbert@gondor.apana.org.au>,
	Rob Herring <robh+dt@kernel.org>,
	Mark Rutland <Mark.Rutland@arm.com>,
	Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzk@kernel.org>,
	Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@gmail.com>,
	Alexander Sverdlin <alexander.sverdlin@nokia.com>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Tomer Maimon <tmaimon77@gmail.com>,
	Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@infradead.org>,
	Zaibo Xu <xuzaibo@huawei.com>,
	Daniel Thompson <daniel.thompson@linaro.org>,
	Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab+samsung@kernel.org>,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>,
	Jonathan Cameron <Jonathan.Cameron@huawei.com>,
	Linux Crypto Mailing List <linux-crypto@vger.kernel.org>,
	"open list:OPEN FIRMWARE AND FLATTENED DEVICE TREE BINDINGS" 
	<devicetree@vger.kernel.org>,
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	Gilad Ben-Yossef <gilad@benyossef.com>,
	Ofir Drang <Ofir.Drang@arm.com>, nd <nd@arm.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v7 0/3] hw_random: introduce Arm CryptoCell TRNG driver
Date: Mon, 20 Apr 2020 15:45:28 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CAMuHMdV1Lp0uEOm_KtUA-nF7-6y1kfyvArcunrLipp6h5A_GMw@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <DB6PR0802MB25330E55914346B46288C712E9D40@DB6PR0802MB2533.eurprd08.prod.outlook.com>

Hi Hadar,

On Mon, Apr 20, 2020 at 2:27 PM Hadar Gat <Hadar.Gat@arm.com> wrote:
> > From: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
> > Sent: Monday, 20 April 2020 12:35
> >
> > On Fri, Mar 27, 2020 at 7:11 AM Hadar Gat <hadar.gat@arm.com> wrote:
> > > The Arm CryptoCell is a hardware security engine.
> > > This patch introduces driver for its TRNG (True Random Number
> > > Generator) engine.
> >
> > Thanks for your series!
> >
> > I am wondering what is the relation between this and
> > Documentation/devicetree/bindings/crypto/arm-cryptocell.txt?
>
> Arm TrustZone CryptoCell hardware contains both cryptographic engine (ccree) and true random number generator engine (cctrng).

OK.

> These are separate engines with some sharing in logic and interface.

Do they share the same register block?

> cctrng engine may not always be present.

I assume that applies to e.g. the older 630p?

> The devicetree documentation is in:
> For ccree - Documentation/devicetree/bindings/crypto/arm-cryptocell.txt
> For cctrng - Documentation/devicetree/bindings/rng/arm-cctrng.yaml

Thank you, I had already read both documents.


Gr{oetje,eeting}s,

                        Geert

--
Geert Uytterhoeven -- There's lots of Linux beyond ia32 -- geert@linux-m68k.org

In personal conversations with technical people, I call myself a hacker. But
when I'm talking to journalists I just say "programmer" or something like that.
                                -- Linus Torvalds

  reply	other threads:[~2020-04-20 13:45 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 17+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-03-27  6:10 Hadar Gat
2020-03-27  6:10 ` [PATCH v7 1/3] dt-bindings: add device tree binding for Arm CryptoCell trng engine Hadar Gat
2020-04-05  1:30   ` Rob Herring
2020-03-27  6:10 ` [PATCH v7 2/3] hw_random: cctrng: introduce Arm CryptoCell driver Hadar Gat
2020-04-20 13:44   ` Geert Uytterhoeven
2020-04-21 13:16     ` Hadar Gat
2020-04-21 13:34       ` Geert Uytterhoeven
2020-04-21 15:13         ` Hadar Gat
2020-04-21 16:26           ` Geert Uytterhoeven
2020-04-22 10:37             ` Hadar Gat
2020-03-27  6:10 ` [PATCH v7 3/3] MAINTAINERS: add HG as cctrng maintainer Hadar Gat
2020-04-16  6:51 ` [PATCH v7 0/3] hw_random: introduce Arm CryptoCell TRNG driver Herbert Xu
2020-04-20  9:34 ` Geert Uytterhoeven
2020-04-20 12:27   ` Hadar Gat
2020-04-20 13:45     ` Geert Uytterhoeven [this message]
2020-04-21 13:12       ` Hadar Gat
2020-04-21 13:39         ` Geert Uytterhoeven

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=CAMuHMdV1Lp0uEOm_KtUA-nF7-6y1kfyvArcunrLipp6h5A_GMw@mail.gmail.com \
    --to=geert@linux-m68k.org \
    --cc=Hadar.Gat@arm.com \
    --cc=Jonathan.Cameron@huawei.com \
    --cc=Mark.Rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=Ofir.Drang@arm.com \
    --cc=alexander.sverdlin@nokia.com \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=daniel.thompson@linaro.org \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=devicetree@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=f.fainelli@gmail.com \
    --cc=gilad@benyossef.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=herbert@gondor.apana.org.au \
    --cc=krzk@kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-crypto@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mchehab+samsung@kernel.org \
    --cc=mpm@selenic.com \
    --cc=nd@arm.com \
    --cc=rdunlap@infradead.org \
    --cc=robh+dt@kernel.org \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=tmaimon77@gmail.com \
    --cc=xuzaibo@huawei.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v7 0/3] hw_random: introduce Arm CryptoCell TRNG driver' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).