Linux-OMAP Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Andrew Lunn <andrew@lunn.ch>
To: Vladimir Oltean <olteanv@gmail.com>
Cc: Jakub Kicinski <kuba@kernel.org>,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>,
	netdev@vger.kernel.org, Ioana Ciornei <ioana.ciornei@nxp.com>,
	Vadym Kochan <vkochan@marvell.com>,
	Taras Chornyi <tchornyi@marvell.com>,
	Jiri Pirko <jiri@nvidia.com>, Ido Schimmel <idosch@nvidia.com>,
	Grygorii Strashko <grygorii.strashko@ti.com>,
	Ivan Vecera <ivecera@redhat.com>, Roopa Prabhu <roopa@nvidia.com>,
	Nikolay Aleksandrov <nikolay@nvidia.com>,
	Vivien Didelot <vivien.didelot@gmail.com>,
	Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@gmail.com>,
	Vignesh Raghavendra <vigneshr@ti.com>,
	Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>,
	linux-omap@vger.kernel.org,
	Vladimir Oltean <vladimir.oltean@nxp.com>,
	Tobias Waldekranz <tobias@waldekranz.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH net-next 2/2] net: bridge: switchdev: include local flag in FDB notifications
Date: Wed, 14 Apr 2021 17:58:44 +0200
Message-ID: <YHcRNIgI9lVs6MDj@lunn.ch> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20210414151540.1808871-2-olteanv@gmail.com>

> Let us now add the 'is_local' bit to bridge FDB entries, and make all
> drivers ignore these entries by their own choice.

Hi Vladimir

This goes to the question about the missing cover letter. Why should
drivers get to ignore them, rather than the core? It feels like there
should be another patch in the series, where a driver does not
actually ignore them, but does something?

	 Andrew

  reply index

Thread overview: 7+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-04-14 15:15 [PATCH net-next 1/2] net: bridge: switchdev: refactor br_switchdev_fdb_notify Vladimir Oltean
2021-04-14 15:15 ` [PATCH net-next 2/2] net: bridge: switchdev: include local flag in FDB notifications Vladimir Oltean
2021-04-14 15:58   ` Andrew Lunn [this message]
2021-04-14 16:05     ` Vladimir Oltean
2021-04-14 16:38       ` Andrew Lunn
2021-04-14 15:25 ` [PATCH net-next 1/2] net: bridge: switchdev: refactor br_switchdev_fdb_notify Nikolay Aleksandrov
2021-04-14 15:26   ` Vladimir Oltean

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=YHcRNIgI9lVs6MDj@lunn.ch \
    --to=andrew@lunn.ch \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=f.fainelli@gmail.com \
    --cc=grygorii.strashko@ti.com \
    --cc=idosch@nvidia.com \
    --cc=ioana.ciornei@nxp.com \
    --cc=ivecera@redhat.com \
    --cc=jiri@nvidia.com \
    --cc=kuba@kernel.org \
    --cc=linus.walleij@linaro.org \
    --cc=linux-omap@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=netdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=nikolay@nvidia.com \
    --cc=olteanv@gmail.com \
    --cc=roopa@nvidia.com \
    --cc=tchornyi@marvell.com \
    --cc=tobias@waldekranz.com \
    --cc=vigneshr@ti.com \
    --cc=vivien.didelot@gmail.com \
    --cc=vkochan@marvell.com \
    --cc=vladimir.oltean@nxp.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-OMAP Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-omap/0 linux-omap/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-omap linux-omap/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-omap \
		linux-omap@vger.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-omap

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-omap


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git