Linux-PCI Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Christoph Hellwig <hch@infradead.org>
To: Rajat Jain <rajatja@google.com>
Cc: David Woodhouse <dwmw2@infradead.org>,
	Lu Baolu <baolu.lu@linux.intel.com>,
	Joerg Roedel <joro@8bytes.org>,
	Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>,
	"Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@rjwysocki.net>,
	Len Brown <lenb@kernel.org>,
	iommu@lists.linux-foundation.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-pci@vger.kernel.org, linux-acpi@vger.kernel.org,
	Raj Ashok <ashok.raj@intel.com>,
	lalithambika.krishnakumar@intel.com,
	Mika Westerberg <mika.westerberg@linux.intel.com>,
	Jean-Philippe Brucker <jean-philippe@linaro.org>,
	Prashant Malani <pmalani@google.com>,
	Benson Leung <bleung@google.com>, Todd Broch <tbroch@google.com>,
	Alex Levin <levinale@google.com>,
	Mattias Nissler <mnissler@google.com>,
	Rajat Jain <rajatxjain@gmail.com>,
	Bernie Keany <bernie.keany@intel.com>,
	Aaron Durbin <adurbin@google.com>,
	Diego Rivas <diegorivas@google.com>,
	Duncan Laurie <dlaurie@google.com>,
	Furquan Shaikh <furquan@google.com>,
	Jesse Barnes <jsbarnes@google.com>,
	Christian Kellner <christian@kellner.me>,
	Alex Williamson <alex.williamson@redhat.com>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	oohall@gmail.com
Subject: Re: [PATCH 4/4] pci: export untrusted attribute in sysfs
Date: Tue, 16 Jun 2020 00:32:49 -0700
Message-ID: <20200616073249.GB30385@infradead.org> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20200616011742.138975-4-rajatja@google.com>

On Mon, Jun 15, 2020 at 06:17:42PM -0700, Rajat Jain via iommu wrote:
> This is needed to allow the userspace to determine when an untrusted
> device has been added, and thus allowing it to bind the driver manually
> to it, if it so wishes. This is being done as part of the approach
> discussed at https://lkml.org/lkml/2020/6/9/1331

Please move the attribute to struct device instead of further
entrenching it in PCIe.  I'm starting to grow tired of saying this
every other week while you guys are all moving into the entirely
wrong direction.

  parent reply index

Thread overview: 24+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-06-16  1:17 [PATCH 1/4] pci: Keep the ACS capability offset in device Rajat Jain
2020-06-16  1:17 ` [PATCH 2/4] pci: set "untrusted" flag for truly external devices only Rajat Jain
2020-06-16  9:07   ` Mika Westerberg
2020-06-16  1:17 ` [PATCH 3/4] pci: acs: Enable PCI_ACS_TB for untrusted/external-facing devices Rajat Jain
2020-06-19 16:10   ` Raj, Ashok
2020-06-22 23:01     ` Rajat Jain
2020-06-16  1:17 ` [PATCH 4/4] pci: export untrusted attribute in sysfs Rajat Jain
2020-06-16  5:57   ` Greg Kroah-Hartman
2020-06-16  7:32   ` Christoph Hellwig [this message]
2020-06-16 19:27     ` Rajat Jain
2020-06-17  7:31       ` Christoph Hellwig
2020-06-17 19:53         ` Rajat Jain
2020-06-18  6:18           ` Greg Kroah-Hartman
2020-06-18  8:12           ` Andy Shevchenko
2020-06-18  8:36             ` Greg Kroah-Hartman
2020-06-18  9:14               ` Andy Shevchenko
2020-06-18 14:56                 ` Greg Kroah-Hartman
2020-06-18 15:03                 ` Rajat Jain
2020-06-18 15:39                   ` Andy Shevchenko
2020-06-18 16:02                   ` Greg Kroah-Hartman
2020-06-18 16:23                     ` Raj, Ashok
2020-06-18 17:23                       ` Rajat Jain
2020-06-18 18:46                         ` Greg Kroah-Hartman
2020-06-18 23:58   ` Rajat Jain

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20200616073249.GB30385@infradead.org \
    --to=hch@infradead.org \
    --cc=adurbin@google.com \
    --cc=alex.williamson@redhat.com \
    --cc=ashok.raj@intel.com \
    --cc=baolu.lu@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=bernie.keany@intel.com \
    --cc=bhelgaas@google.com \
    --cc=bleung@google.com \
    --cc=christian@kellner.me \
    --cc=diegorivas@google.com \
    --cc=dlaurie@google.com \
    --cc=dwmw2@infradead.org \
    --cc=furquan@google.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=iommu@lists.linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=jean-philippe@linaro.org \
    --cc=joro@8bytes.org \
    --cc=jsbarnes@google.com \
    --cc=lalithambika.krishnakumar@intel.com \
    --cc=lenb@kernel.org \
    --cc=levinale@google.com \
    --cc=linux-acpi@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-pci@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mika.westerberg@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=mnissler@google.com \
    --cc=oohall@gmail.com \
    --cc=pmalani@google.com \
    --cc=rajatja@google.com \
    --cc=rajatxjain@gmail.com \
    --cc=rjw@rjwysocki.net \
    --cc=tbroch@google.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-PCI Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-pci/0 linux-pci/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-pci linux-pci/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-pci \
		linux-pci@vger.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-pci

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-pci


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git