Linux-PCI Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Rajat Jain <rajatja@google.com>
To: David Woodhouse <dwmw2@infradead.org>,
	Lu Baolu <baolu.lu@linux.intel.com>,
	Joerg Roedel <joro@8bytes.org>,
	Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>,
	"Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@rjwysocki.net>,
	Len Brown <lenb@kernel.org>,
	iommu@lists.linux-foundation.org,
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-pci <linux-pci@vger.kernel.org>,
	ACPI Devel Maling List <linux-acpi@vger.kernel.org>,
	Raj Ashok <ashok.raj@intel.com>,
	"Krishnakumar,
	Lalithambika" <lalithambika.krishnakumar@intel.com>,
	Mika Westerberg <mika.westerberg@linux.intel.com>,
	Jean-Philippe Brucker <jean-philippe@linaro.org>,
	Prashant Malani <pmalani@google.com>,
	Benson Leung <bleung@google.com>, Todd Broch <tbroch@google.com>,
	Alex Levin <levinale@google.com>,
	Mattias Nissler <mnissler@google.com>,
	Rajat Jain <rajatxjain@gmail.com>,
	Bernie Keany <bernie.keany@intel.com>,
	Aaron Durbin <adurbin@google.com>,
	Diego Rivas <diegorivas@google.com>,
	Duncan Laurie <dlaurie@google.com>,
	Furquan Shaikh <furquan@google.com>,
	Jesse Barnes <jsbarnes@google.com>,
	Christian Kellner <christian@kellner.me>,
	Alex Williamson <alex.williamson@redhat.com>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	"Oliver O'Halloran" <oohall@gmail.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 4/4] pci: export untrusted attribute in sysfs
Date: Thu, 18 Jun 2020 16:58:23 -0700
Message-ID: <CACK8Z6GqEaETgVkwd_tsbRmVGLb5kuMPP7eGi54uTCXFEOXiSw@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20200616011742.138975-4-rajatja@google.com>

Hi Bjorn, All,

Thank you so much for your helpful review and inputs.

On Mon, Jun 15, 2020 at 6:17 PM Rajat Jain <rajatja@google.com> wrote:
>
> This is needed to allow the userspace to determine when an untrusted
> device has been added, and thus allowing it to bind the driver manually
> to it, if it so wishes. This is being done as part of the approach
> discussed at https://lkml.org/lkml/2020/6/9/1331
>
> Signed-off-by: Rajat Jain <rajatja@google.com>

Considering the suggestions obtained on this patch to move this
attribute to device core, please consider this particular patch
rescinded. I'll submit this as a separate patch since I think that
will take more bake time and more discussion, than the other patches
in this patchset.

Please consider applying the other 3 patches in this patchset though,
and I'd appreciate your review and comments.

Thanks & Best Regards,

Rajat


> ---
>  drivers/pci/pci-sysfs.c | 2 ++
>  1 file changed, 2 insertions(+)
>
> diff --git a/drivers/pci/pci-sysfs.c b/drivers/pci/pci-sysfs.c
> index 6d78df981d41a..574e9c613ba26 100644
> --- a/drivers/pci/pci-sysfs.c
> +++ b/drivers/pci/pci-sysfs.c
> @@ -50,6 +50,7 @@ pci_config_attr(subsystem_device, "0x%04x\n");
>  pci_config_attr(revision, "0x%02x\n");
>  pci_config_attr(class, "0x%06x\n");
>  pci_config_attr(irq, "%u\n");
> +pci_config_attr(untrusted, "%u\n");
>
>  static ssize_t broken_parity_status_show(struct device *dev,
>                                          struct device_attribute *attr,
> @@ -608,6 +609,7 @@ static struct attribute *pci_dev_attrs[] = {
>  #endif
>         &dev_attr_driver_override.attr,
>         &dev_attr_ari_enabled.attr,
> +       &dev_attr_untrusted.attr,
>         NULL,
>  };
>
> --
> 2.27.0.290.gba653c62da-goog
>

      parent reply index

Thread overview: 24+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-06-16  1:17 [PATCH 1/4] pci: Keep the ACS capability offset in device Rajat Jain
2020-06-16  1:17 ` [PATCH 2/4] pci: set "untrusted" flag for truly external devices only Rajat Jain
2020-06-16  9:07   ` Mika Westerberg
2020-06-16  1:17 ` [PATCH 3/4] pci: acs: Enable PCI_ACS_TB for untrusted/external-facing devices Rajat Jain
2020-06-19 16:10   ` Raj, Ashok
2020-06-22 23:01     ` Rajat Jain
2020-06-16  1:17 ` [PATCH 4/4] pci: export untrusted attribute in sysfs Rajat Jain
2020-06-16  5:57   ` Greg Kroah-Hartman
2020-06-16  7:32   ` Christoph Hellwig
2020-06-16 19:27     ` Rajat Jain
2020-06-17  7:31       ` Christoph Hellwig
2020-06-17 19:53         ` Rajat Jain
2020-06-18  6:18           ` Greg Kroah-Hartman
2020-06-18  8:12           ` Andy Shevchenko
2020-06-18  8:36             ` Greg Kroah-Hartman
2020-06-18  9:14               ` Andy Shevchenko
2020-06-18 14:56                 ` Greg Kroah-Hartman
2020-06-18 15:03                 ` Rajat Jain
2020-06-18 15:39                   ` Andy Shevchenko
2020-06-18 16:02                   ` Greg Kroah-Hartman
2020-06-18 16:23                     ` Raj, Ashok
2020-06-18 17:23                       ` Rajat Jain
2020-06-18 18:46                         ` Greg Kroah-Hartman
2020-06-18 23:58   ` Rajat Jain [this message]

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=CACK8Z6GqEaETgVkwd_tsbRmVGLb5kuMPP7eGi54uTCXFEOXiSw@mail.gmail.com \
    --to=rajatja@google.com \
    --cc=adurbin@google.com \
    --cc=alex.williamson@redhat.com \
    --cc=ashok.raj@intel.com \
    --cc=baolu.lu@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=bernie.keany@intel.com \
    --cc=bhelgaas@google.com \
    --cc=bleung@google.com \
    --cc=christian@kellner.me \
    --cc=diegorivas@google.com \
    --cc=dlaurie@google.com \
    --cc=dwmw2@infradead.org \
    --cc=furquan@google.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=iommu@lists.linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=jean-philippe@linaro.org \
    --cc=joro@8bytes.org \
    --cc=jsbarnes@google.com \
    --cc=lalithambika.krishnakumar@intel.com \
    --cc=lenb@kernel.org \
    --cc=levinale@google.com \
    --cc=linux-acpi@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-pci@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mika.westerberg@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=mnissler@google.com \
    --cc=oohall@gmail.com \
    --cc=pmalani@google.com \
    --cc=rajatxjain@gmail.com \
    --cc=rjw@rjwysocki.net \
    --cc=tbroch@google.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-PCI Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-pci/0 linux-pci/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-pci linux-pci/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-pci \
		linux-pci@vger.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-pci

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-pci


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git