linux-kernel.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Andy Shevchenko <andy.shevchenko@gmail.com>
To: Akhil R <akhilrajeev@nvidia.com>
Cc: Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>,
	Bartosz Golaszewski <bgolaszewski@baylibre.com>,
	Thierry Reding <thierry.reding@gmail.com>,
	Jonathan Hunter <jonathanh@nvidia.com>,
	"open list:GPIO SUBSYSTEM" <linux-gpio@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-tegra@vger.kernel.org,
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	Mikko Perttunen <mperttunen@nvidia.com>,
	Laxman Dewangan <ldewangan@nvidia.com>,
	Suresh Mangipudi <smangipudi@nvidia.com>,
	Krishna Yarlagadda <kyarlagadda@nvidia.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH] gpio: tegra186: Add ACPI support
Date: Thu, 17 Jun 2021 18:21:38 +0300	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CAHp75VdBQUv+yri453KGGBz5ynd0pETxdOngCgPe3mbG22sLXQ@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <1623924351-22489-1-git-send-email-akhilrajeev@nvidia.com>

On Thu, Jun 17, 2021 at 1:18 PM Akhil R <akhilrajeev@nvidia.com> wrote:
>
> From: Akhil Rajeev <akhilrajeev@nvidia.com>
>
> Add ACPI module ID to probe the driver from the ACPI based bootloader
> firmware.

...

> +#include <linux/acpi.h>

It probably should be property.h, see below.

...

> +       if (has_acpi_companion(&pdev->dev)) {
> +               gpio->secure = devm_platform_ioremap_resource(pdev, 0);
> +               gpio->base = devm_platform_ioremap_resource(pdev, 1);
> +       } else {
> +               gpio->secure = devm_platform_ioremap_resource_byname(pdev, "security");
> +               gpio->base = devm_platform_ioremap_resource_byname(pdev, "gpio");
> +       }

General comment here.
Can't we rather try named resources first and fallback to indexed
ones? (Or other way around)

In this case you don't need to check for ACPI at all.

...

> +               .acpi_match_table = ACPI_PTR(tegra186_gpio_acpi_match),

You can drop ACPI_PTR() along with ugly ifdeffery.

-- 
With Best Regards,
Andy Shevchenko

  parent reply	other threads:[~2021-06-17 15:21 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 19+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-06-17 10:05 Akhil R
2021-06-17 14:54 ` Linus Walleij
2021-06-17 15:21 ` Andy Shevchenko [this message]
2021-06-18 13:39   ` [PATCH v2] " Akhil R
2021-06-18 14:31     ` Andy Shevchenko
2021-06-21 15:08       ` Akhil R
2021-06-29 15:17         ` Akhil R
2021-06-30 16:14         ` Andy Shevchenko
2021-06-30 17:47           ` Akhil R
2021-06-30 18:17             ` [PATCH v3] " Akhil R
2021-06-30 18:23               ` Andy Shevchenko
2021-07-01  5:01                 ` [PATCH v4] " Akhil R
2021-07-01  5:53                   ` Jon Hunter
2021-07-01  9:00                     ` [PATCH v5] " Akhil R
2021-07-08 13:08                       ` Jon Hunter
2021-07-16  8:31                       ` Bartosz Golaszewski
2021-07-19  4:46                         ` [PATCH v6] " Akhil R
2021-08-05 19:30                           ` Bartosz Golaszewski
2021-06-18 19:39 ` [PATCH] " kernel test robot

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=CAHp75VdBQUv+yri453KGGBz5ynd0pETxdOngCgPe3mbG22sLXQ@mail.gmail.com \
    --to=andy.shevchenko@gmail.com \
    --cc=akhilrajeev@nvidia.com \
    --cc=bgolaszewski@baylibre.com \
    --cc=jonathanh@nvidia.com \
    --cc=kyarlagadda@nvidia.com \
    --cc=ldewangan@nvidia.com \
    --cc=linus.walleij@linaro.org \
    --cc=linux-gpio@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-tegra@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mperttunen@nvidia.com \
    --cc=smangipudi@nvidia.com \
    --cc=thierry.reding@gmail.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH] gpio: tegra186: Add ACPI support' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).