linux-kernel.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Andy Shevchenko <andy.shevchenko@gmail.com>
To: Akhil R <akhilrajeev@nvidia.com>
Cc: Bartosz Golaszewski <bgolaszewski@baylibre.com>,
	Jon Hunter <jonathanh@nvidia.com>,
	Krishna Yarlagadda <kyarlagadda@nvidia.com>,
	Laxman Dewangan <ldewangan@nvidia.com>,
	Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>,
	"open list:GPIO SUBSYSTEM" <linux-gpio@vger.kernel.org>,
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-tegra@vger.kernel.org,
	Mikko Perttunen <mperttunen@nvidia.com>,
	Suresh Mangipudi <smangipudi@nvidia.com>,
	Thierry Reding <thierry.reding@gmail.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2] gpio: tegra186: Add ACPI support
Date: Fri, 18 Jun 2021 17:31:23 +0300	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CAHp75Vf+8t78NbYeCh+VLEAzcYJxDP9Pz7DPW_MC9D-K_Ff8uA@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <1624023587-7344-1-git-send-email-akhilrajeev@nvidia.com>

On Fri, Jun 18, 2021 at 4:39 PM Akhil R <akhilrajeev@nvidia.com> wrote:

Thanks for update, my comments below.

> From: Akhil Rajeev <akhilrajeev@nvidia.com>

You need to fix your Git configuration so you won't have this header
inside the commit message.

> Add ACPI module ID to probe the driver from the ACPI based bootloader
> firmware.

...

> +#include <linux/acpi.h>

property.h ? (see below)

...

> -       gpio->soc = of_device_get_match_data(&pdev->dev);
> +       gpio->soc = device_get_match_data(&pdev->dev);
>
>         gpio->secure = devm_platform_ioremap_resource_byname(pdev, "security");
> -       if (IS_ERR(gpio->secure))
> -               return PTR_ERR(gpio->secure);
> -
>         gpio->base = devm_platform_ioremap_resource_byname(pdev, "gpio");
> -       if (IS_ERR(gpio->base))
> -               return PTR_ERR(gpio->base);

> +       if (IS_ERR(gpio->secure) || IS_ERR(gpio->base)) {
> +               gpio->secure = devm_platform_ioremap_resource(pdev, 0);
> +               gpio->base = devm_platform_ioremap_resource(pdev, 1);
> +
> +               if (IS_ERR(gpio->secure))
> +                       return PTR_ERR(gpio->secure);
> +
> +               if (IS_ERR(gpio->base))
> +                       return PTR_ERR(gpio->base);
> +       }


What about doing like

      gpio->secure = devm_platform_ioremap_resource_byname(pdev, "security");
      if (IS_ERR(gpio->secure))
              gpio->secure = devm_platform_ioremap_resource(pdev, 0);
      if (IS_ERR(gpio->secure))
              return PTR_ERR(gpio->secure);

and similar for gpio->base?

...

> -       gpio->gpio.of_node = pdev->dev.of_node;
> -       gpio->gpio.of_gpio_n_cells = 2;
> -       gpio->gpio.of_xlate = tegra186_gpio_of_xlate;
>
> -       gpio->intc.name = pdev->dev.of_node->name;

> +       if (!has_acpi_companion(&pdev->dev)) {
> +               gpio->gpio.of_node = pdev->dev.of_node;
> +               gpio->gpio.of_gpio_n_cells = 2;
> +               gpio->gpio.of_xlate = tegra186_gpio_of_xlate;
> +               gpio->intc.name = pdev->dev.of_node->name;
> +       } else {
> +               gpio->intc.name = gpio->soc->name;
> +       }

Wouldn't the following be enough?

-       gpio->intc.name = pdev->dev.of_node->name;
+       gpio->intc.name = devm_kasprintf(&pdev->dev, "%pfw",
dev_fwnode(&pdev->dev));
+       if (!gpio->intc.name)
+               return -ENOMEM;

Note, all above are questions and you know better which direction to
take. In either way, please test and look at the result.

-- 
With Best Regards,
Andy Shevchenko

  reply	other threads:[~2021-06-18 14:32 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 19+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-06-17 10:05 [PATCH] " Akhil R
2021-06-17 14:54 ` Linus Walleij
2021-06-17 15:21 ` Andy Shevchenko
2021-06-18 13:39   ` [PATCH v2] " Akhil R
2021-06-18 14:31     ` Andy Shevchenko [this message]
2021-06-21 15:08       ` Akhil R
2021-06-29 15:17         ` Akhil R
2021-06-30 16:14         ` Andy Shevchenko
2021-06-30 17:47           ` Akhil R
2021-06-30 18:17             ` [PATCH v3] " Akhil R
2021-06-30 18:23               ` Andy Shevchenko
2021-07-01  5:01                 ` [PATCH v4] " Akhil R
2021-07-01  5:53                   ` Jon Hunter
2021-07-01  9:00                     ` [PATCH v5] " Akhil R
2021-07-08 13:08                       ` Jon Hunter
2021-07-16  8:31                       ` Bartosz Golaszewski
2021-07-19  4:46                         ` [PATCH v6] " Akhil R
2021-08-05 19:30                           ` Bartosz Golaszewski
2021-06-18 19:39 ` [PATCH] " kernel test robot

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=CAHp75Vf+8t78NbYeCh+VLEAzcYJxDP9Pz7DPW_MC9D-K_Ff8uA@mail.gmail.com \
    --to=andy.shevchenko@gmail.com \
    --cc=akhilrajeev@nvidia.com \
    --cc=bgolaszewski@baylibre.com \
    --cc=jonathanh@nvidia.com \
    --cc=kyarlagadda@nvidia.com \
    --cc=ldewangan@nvidia.com \
    --cc=linus.walleij@linaro.org \
    --cc=linux-gpio@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-tegra@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mperttunen@nvidia.com \
    --cc=smangipudi@nvidia.com \
    --cc=thierry.reding@gmail.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v2] gpio: tegra186: Add ACPI support' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).