Linux-Amlogic Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>
To: Rob Herring <robh@kernel.org>,
	Lorenzo Pieralisi <lorenzo.pieralisi@arm.com>
Cc: Kunihiko Hayashi <hayashi.kunihiko@socionext.com>,
	Neil Armstrong <narmstrong@baylibre.com>,
	linux-pci@vger.kernel.org,
	Binghui Wang <wangbinghui@hisilicon.com>,
	Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@linaro.org>,
	Minghuan Lian <minghuan.Lian@nxp.com>,
	Thierry Reding <thierry.reding@gmail.com>,
	Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzk@kernel.org>,
	Thomas Petazzoni <thomas.petazzoni@bootlin.com>,
	Jonathan Chocron <jonnyc@amazon.com>,
	Jonathan Hunter <jonathanh@nvidia.com>,
	Fabio Estevam <festevam@gmail.com>,
	Jerome Brunet <jbrunet@baylibre.com>,
	Jesper Nilsson <jesper.nilsson@axis.com>,
	linux-samsung-soc@vger.kernel.org,
	Kevin Hilman <khilman@baylibre.com>,
	Pratyush Anand <pratyush.anand@gmail.com>,
	linux-arm-kernel@axis.com, Kishon Vijay Abraham I <kishon@ti.com>,
	Kukjin Kim <kgene@kernel.org>, NXP Linux Team <linux-imx@nxp.com>,
	Xiaowei Song <songxiaowei@hisilicon.com>,
	Richard Zhu <hongxing.zhu@nxp.com>,
	Martin Blumenstingl <martin.blumenstingl@googlemail.com>,
	linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org,
	Sascha Hauer <s.hauer@pengutronix.de>,
	linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org, Yue Wang <yue.wang@Amlogic.com>,
	Murali Karicheri <m-karicheri2@ti.com>,
	linux-tegra@vger.kernel.org, linux-amlogic@lists.infradead.org,
	linux-omap@vger.kernel.org, Mingkai Hu <mingkai.hu@nxp.com>,
	Roy Zang <roy.zang@nxp.com>, Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>,
	Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@socionext.com>,
	Jingoo Han <jingoohan1@gmail.com>, Andy Gross <agross@kernel.org>,
	Stanimir Varbanov <svarbanov@mm-sol.com>,
	Pengutronix Kernel Team <kernel@pengutronix.de>,
	Gustavo Pimentel <gustavo.pimentel@synopsys.com>,
	Shawn Guo <shawnguo@kernel.org>,
	Lucas Stach <l.stach@pengutronix.de>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 01/13] PCI: dwc/imx6: Drop setting PCI_MSI_FLAGS_ENABLE
Date: Thu, 29 Oct 2020 11:21:16 +1100
Message-ID: <87h7qdx4oz.fsf@mpe.ellerman.id.au> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20201028204646.356535-2-robh@kernel.org>

Rob Herring <robh@kernel.org> writes:
> No other host driver sets the PCI_MSI_FLAGS_ENABLE bit, so it must not
> be necessary. If it is, a comment is needed.

Yeah, but git blame directly points to:

  75cb8d20c112 ("PCI: imx: Enable MSI from downstream components")

Which has a pretty long explanation. The relevant bit probably being:

  ... on i.MX6, the MSI Enable bit controls delivery of MSI interrupts
  from components below the Root Port.


So it seems a little rash to just remove the code.

cheers


> Cc: Richard Zhu <hongxing.zhu@nxp.com>
> Cc: Lucas Stach <l.stach@pengutronix.de>
> Cc: Lorenzo Pieralisi <lorenzo.pieralisi@arm.com>
> Cc: Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>
> Cc: Shawn Guo <shawnguo@kernel.org>
> Cc: Sascha Hauer <s.hauer@pengutronix.de>
> Cc: Pengutronix Kernel Team <kernel@pengutronix.de>
> Cc: Fabio Estevam <festevam@gmail.com>
> Cc: NXP Linux Team <linux-imx@nxp.com>
> Signed-off-by: Rob Herring <robh@kernel.org>
> ---
>  drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pci-imx6.c | 8 --------
>  1 file changed, 8 deletions(-)
>
> diff --git a/drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pci-imx6.c b/drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pci-imx6.c
> index 5cf1ef12fb9b..7dd137d62dca 100644
> --- a/drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pci-imx6.c
> +++ b/drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pci-imx6.c
> @@ -1002,7 +1002,6 @@ static int imx6_pcie_probe(struct platform_device *pdev)
>  	struct resource *dbi_base;
>  	struct device_node *node = dev->of_node;
>  	int ret;
> -	u16 val;
>  
>  	imx6_pcie = devm_kzalloc(dev, sizeof(*imx6_pcie), GFP_KERNEL);
>  	if (!imx6_pcie)
> @@ -1167,13 +1166,6 @@ static int imx6_pcie_probe(struct platform_device *pdev)
>  	if (ret < 0)
>  		return ret;
>  
> -	if (pci_msi_enabled()) {
> -		u8 offset = dw_pcie_find_capability(pci, PCI_CAP_ID_MSI);
> -		val = dw_pcie_readw_dbi(pci, offset + PCI_MSI_FLAGS);
> -		val |= PCI_MSI_FLAGS_ENABLE;
> -		dw_pcie_writew_dbi(pci, offset + PCI_MSI_FLAGS, val);
> -	}
> -
>  	return 0;
>  }
>  
> -- 
> 2.25.1

_______________________________________________
linux-amlogic mailing list
linux-amlogic@lists.infradead.org
http://lists.infradead.org/mailman/listinfo/linux-amlogic

  reply index

Thread overview: 24+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-10-28 20:46 [PATCH 00/13] PCI: dwc: Another round of clean-ups Rob Herring
2020-10-28 20:46 ` [PATCH 01/13] PCI: dwc/imx6: Drop setting PCI_MSI_FLAGS_ENABLE Rob Herring
2020-10-29  0:21   ` Michael Ellerman [this message]
2020-10-29 13:01     ` Rob Herring
2020-10-28 20:46 ` [PATCH 02/13] PCI: dwc/intel-gw: Move ATU offset out of driver match data Rob Herring
2020-10-28 20:46 ` [PATCH 03/13] PCI: dwc: Move "dbi", "dbi2", and "addr_space" resource setup into common code Rob Herring
2020-10-29 22:09   ` Jingoo Han
2020-10-28 20:46 ` [PATCH 04/13] PCI: dwc/intel-gw: Remove some unneeded function wrappers Rob Herring
2020-10-28 20:46 ` [PATCH 05/13] PCI: dwc: Ensure all outbound ATU windows are reset Rob Herring
2020-10-29 22:12   ` Jingoo Han
2020-10-28 20:46 ` [PATCH 06/13] PCI: dwc/dra7xx: Use the common MSI irq_chip Rob Herring
2020-10-28 20:46 ` [PATCH 07/13] PCI: dwc: Drop the .set_num_vectors() host op Rob Herring
2020-10-29 22:15   ` Jingoo Han
2020-10-28 20:46 ` [PATCH 08/13] PCI: dwc: Move MSI interrupt setup into DWC common code Rob Herring
2020-10-29 22:18   ` Jingoo Han
2020-10-28 20:46 ` [PATCH 09/13] PCI: dwc: Rework MSI initialization Rob Herring
2020-10-29 22:20   ` Jingoo Han
2020-10-28 20:46 ` [PATCH 10/13] PCI: dwc: Move link handling into common code Rob Herring
2020-10-29 22:24   ` Jingoo Han
2020-10-28 20:46 ` [PATCH 11/13] PCI: dwc: Move dw_pcie_msi_init() into core Rob Herring
2020-10-29 22:26   ` Jingoo Han
2020-10-28 20:46 ` [PATCH 12/13] PCI: dwc: Move dw_pcie_setup_rc() to DWC common code Rob Herring
2020-10-29 22:29   ` Jingoo Han
2020-10-28 20:46 ` [PATCH 13/13] PCI: dwc: Remove unnecessary wrappers around dw_pcie_host_init() Rob Herring

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=87h7qdx4oz.fsf@mpe.ellerman.id.au \
    --to=mpe@ellerman.id.au \
    --cc=agross@kernel.org \
    --cc=bhelgaas@google.com \
    --cc=bjorn.andersson@linaro.org \
    --cc=festevam@gmail.com \
    --cc=gustavo.pimentel@synopsys.com \
    --cc=hayashi.kunihiko@socionext.com \
    --cc=hongxing.zhu@nxp.com \
    --cc=jbrunet@baylibre.com \
    --cc=jesper.nilsson@axis.com \
    --cc=jingoohan1@gmail.com \
    --cc=jonathanh@nvidia.com \
    --cc=jonnyc@amazon.com \
    --cc=kernel@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=kgene@kernel.org \
    --cc=khilman@baylibre.com \
    --cc=kishon@ti.com \
    --cc=krzk@kernel.org \
    --cc=l.stach@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=linux-amlogic@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@axis.com \
    --cc=linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-imx@nxp.com \
    --cc=linux-omap@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-pci@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-samsung-soc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-tegra@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org \
    --cc=lorenzo.pieralisi@arm.com \
    --cc=m-karicheri2@ti.com \
    --cc=martin.blumenstingl@googlemail.com \
    --cc=minghuan.Lian@nxp.com \
    --cc=mingkai.hu@nxp.com \
    --cc=narmstrong@baylibre.com \
    --cc=pratyush.anand@gmail.com \
    --cc=robh@kernel.org \
    --cc=roy.zang@nxp.com \
    --cc=s.hauer@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=shawnguo@kernel.org \
    --cc=songxiaowei@hisilicon.com \
    --cc=svarbanov@mm-sol.com \
    --cc=thierry.reding@gmail.com \
    --cc=thomas.petazzoni@bootlin.com \
    --cc=wangbinghui@hisilicon.com \
    --cc=yamada.masahiro@socionext.com \
    --cc=yue.wang@Amlogic.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-Amlogic Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-amlogic/0 linux-amlogic/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-amlogic linux-amlogic/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-amlogic \
		linux-amlogic@lists.infradead.org
	public-inbox-index linux-amlogic

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.infradead.lists.linux-amlogic


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git