linux-kernel.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Sergey Senozhatsky <senozhatsky@chromium.org>
To: Sakari Ailus <sakari.ailus@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Greg KH <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	Sergey Senozhatsky <senozhatsky@chromium.org>,
	Laurent Pinchart <laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com>,
	Paul Menzel <pmenzel@molgen.mpg.de>,
	Wang Yating <yating.wang@intel.com>,
	Christoph Jechlitschek <christoph.jechlitschek@intel.com>,
	Hao Yao <hao.yao@intel.com>, Andy Yeh <andy.yeh@intel.com>,
	Bingbu Cao <bingbu.cao@intel.com>,
	Tianshu Qiu <tian.shu.qiu@intel.com>,
	linux-media@vger.kernel.org,
	Mark Pearson <markpearson@lenovo.com>,
	Dell.Client.Kernel@dell.com, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	Guenter Roeck <groeck@google.com>,
	Andy Whitcroft <apw@canonical.com>,
	Kai-Heng Feng <kai.heng.feng@canonical.com>,
	Christian Schaller <cschalle@redhat.com>,
	Wouter Bolsterlee <wouter@bolsterl.ee>,
	Miguel Palhas <mpalhas@gmail.com>,
	it+linux-media@molgen.mpg.de, "Hu,
	Jerry W" <jerry.w.hu@intel.com>
Subject: Re: Missing MIPI IPU6 camera driver for Intel Alder Lake laptops
Date: Wed, 17 Aug 2022 18:49:44 +0900	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <Yvy5uCh7kW+oNEcn@google.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <YvyiLHBgRQ9XsTrW@paasikivi.fi.intel.com>

On (22/08/17 08:09), Sakari Ailus wrote:
> 
> Do note that USB webcams in Alder Lake laptops still work as usual, with
> the uvcvideo driver.

A massive +1 to this.

> This of course does not help the owners of such hardware but perhaps
> explains the current state of affairs a little. Eventually we will need a
> new kernel interface for this but at this point I can't tell whether it
> will be based on KCAM Sergey mentioned, or not.

We don't consider KCAM ready and this is why we have not published it
to the mailing list. We haven't really started with KCAM yet, but we
are about to do so. And I'm sure that we will find out a thing or two
missing or not working properly while we convert a real H/W driver to
KCAM. We will sit down and write some code to address those problems.

  parent reply	other threads:[~2022-08-17  9:50 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 23+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2022-08-11  8:23 Missing MIPI IPU6 camera driver for Intel Alder Lake laptops Paul Menzel
2022-08-11 13:54 ` Laurent Pinchart
2022-08-11 15:02   ` Greg KH
2022-08-11 15:08     ` Laurent Pinchart
2022-08-11 15:30       ` Greg KH
2022-08-15  2:06         ` Sergey Senozhatsky
2022-08-15  5:22           ` Laurent Pinchart
2022-08-15  6:36           ` Greg KH
2022-08-15  6:43             ` Sergey Senozhatsky
2022-08-15  7:02               ` Greg KH
2022-08-15  7:07                 ` Sergey Senozhatsky
2022-08-15  7:14                   ` Greg KH
2022-08-15  7:24                     ` Sergey Senozhatsky
2022-08-15  7:40                       ` Laurent Pinchart
2022-08-15 15:14                         ` [External] " Mark Pearson
2022-08-17  9:35                           ` Laurent Pinchart
2022-08-15  7:59                       ` Greg KH
2022-08-17  8:09                     ` Sakari Ailus
2022-08-17  8:14                       ` Greg KH
2022-08-17  9:49                       ` Sergey Senozhatsky [this message]
2022-08-15  7:15                   ` Laurent Pinchart
2022-08-15  9:47               ` Sakari Ailus
2022-09-22 13:06     ` Sakari Ailus

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=Yvy5uCh7kW+oNEcn@google.com \
    --to=senozhatsky@chromium.org \
    --cc=Dell.Client.Kernel@dell.com \
    --cc=andy.yeh@intel.com \
    --cc=apw@canonical.com \
    --cc=bingbu.cao@intel.com \
    --cc=christoph.jechlitschek@intel.com \
    --cc=cschalle@redhat.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=groeck@google.com \
    --cc=hao.yao@intel.com \
    --cc=it+linux-media@molgen.mpg.de \
    --cc=jerry.w.hu@intel.com \
    --cc=kai.heng.feng@canonical.com \
    --cc=laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-media@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=markpearson@lenovo.com \
    --cc=mpalhas@gmail.com \
    --cc=pmenzel@molgen.mpg.de \
    --cc=sakari.ailus@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=tian.shu.qiu@intel.com \
    --cc=wouter@bolsterl.ee \
    --cc=yating.wang@intel.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link
Be sure your reply has a Subject: header at the top and a blank line before the message body.
This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).