linux-kernel.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Greg KH <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
To: Sakari Ailus <sakari.ailus@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Sergey Senozhatsky <senozhatsky@chromium.org>,
	Laurent Pinchart <laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com>,
	Paul Menzel <pmenzel@molgen.mpg.de>,
	Wang Yating <yating.wang@intel.com>,
	Christoph Jechlitschek <christoph.jechlitschek@intel.com>,
	Hao Yao <hao.yao@intel.com>, Andy Yeh <andy.yeh@intel.com>,
	Bingbu Cao <bingbu.cao@intel.com>,
	Tianshu Qiu <tian.shu.qiu@intel.com>,
	linux-media@vger.kernel.org,
	Mark Pearson <markpearson@lenovo.com>,
	Dell.Client.Kernel@dell.com, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	Guenter Roeck <groeck@google.com>,
	Andy Whitcroft <apw@canonical.com>,
	Kai-Heng Feng <kai.heng.feng@canonical.com>,
	Christian Schaller <cschalle@redhat.com>,
	Wouter Bolsterlee <wouter@bolsterl.ee>,
	Miguel Palhas <mpalhas@gmail.com>,
	it+linux-media@molgen.mpg.de, "Hu,
	Jerry W" <jerry.w.hu@intel.com>
Subject: Re: Missing MIPI IPU6 camera driver for Intel Alder Lake laptops
Date: Wed, 17 Aug 2022 10:14:45 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <YvyjdcV7BrRQuLRT@kroah.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <YvyiLHBgRQ9XsTrW@paasikivi.fi.intel.com>

On Wed, Aug 17, 2022 at 08:09:16AM +0000, Sakari Ailus wrote:
> V4L2 + MC are not great APIs for supporting hardware such as IPU6 and
> coming up with an alternative is a major and risky endeavour. I expect many
> developers of drivers for similar hardware are in the same situation.

What has been done to help maybe make those apis work properly for this
hardware?  The hardware design pipeline is very long, this isn't
anything new that people just suddenly realized was going to need to
have full support on Linux.

> The hardware is getting increasingly complex and while there is some
> standardisation in the industry, it's mainly focussed on interoperatibility
> on hardware level rather than control interfaces or defining how a given
> feature is to be implemented.

Hardware standardization isn't an issue here, it's having working Linux
code to support all the crazy devices.

> As the camera is no longer a single, integrated device in this context but
> multiple devices from different vendors, there still remains a larger
> requirement for interoperability between, at the very least, cameras and
> CSI-2 receivers --- that in turn increasingly often are integrated in Image
> Signal Processors such as IPU6. This further raises the bar for an
> interface that would better support these devices.

Ok, great, what type of api would work for this hardware?  You all have
access to the hardware, know how it works, and know how userspace needs
to consume it.  So why not work to create the needed kernel support for
this now?  What is the causing the delay?

thanks,

greg k-h

  reply	other threads:[~2022-08-17  8:16 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 23+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2022-08-11  8:23 Missing MIPI IPU6 camera driver for Intel Alder Lake laptops Paul Menzel
2022-08-11 13:54 ` Laurent Pinchart
2022-08-11 15:02   ` Greg KH
2022-08-11 15:08     ` Laurent Pinchart
2022-08-11 15:30       ` Greg KH
2022-08-15  2:06         ` Sergey Senozhatsky
2022-08-15  5:22           ` Laurent Pinchart
2022-08-15  6:36           ` Greg KH
2022-08-15  6:43             ` Sergey Senozhatsky
2022-08-15  7:02               ` Greg KH
2022-08-15  7:07                 ` Sergey Senozhatsky
2022-08-15  7:14                   ` Greg KH
2022-08-15  7:24                     ` Sergey Senozhatsky
2022-08-15  7:40                       ` Laurent Pinchart
2022-08-15 15:14                         ` [External] " Mark Pearson
2022-08-17  9:35                           ` Laurent Pinchart
2022-08-15  7:59                       ` Greg KH
2022-08-17  8:09                     ` Sakari Ailus
2022-08-17  8:14                       ` Greg KH [this message]
2022-08-17  9:49                       ` Sergey Senozhatsky
2022-08-15  7:15                   ` Laurent Pinchart
2022-08-15  9:47               ` Sakari Ailus
2022-09-22 13:06     ` Sakari Ailus

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=YvyjdcV7BrRQuLRT@kroah.com \
    --to=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=Dell.Client.Kernel@dell.com \
    --cc=andy.yeh@intel.com \
    --cc=apw@canonical.com \
    --cc=bingbu.cao@intel.com \
    --cc=christoph.jechlitschek@intel.com \
    --cc=cschalle@redhat.com \
    --cc=groeck@google.com \
    --cc=hao.yao@intel.com \
    --cc=it+linux-media@molgen.mpg.de \
    --cc=jerry.w.hu@intel.com \
    --cc=kai.heng.feng@canonical.com \
    --cc=laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-media@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=markpearson@lenovo.com \
    --cc=mpalhas@gmail.com \
    --cc=pmenzel@molgen.mpg.de \
    --cc=sakari.ailus@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=senozhatsky@chromium.org \
    --cc=tian.shu.qiu@intel.com \
    --cc=wouter@bolsterl.ee \
    --cc=yating.wang@intel.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link
Be sure your reply has a Subject: header at the top and a blank line before the message body.
This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).